We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Im Herzen Afrikas

Im Herzen Afrikas
Gutleutstrasse 13, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Bahnhofsviertel)
069 / 24 24 60 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,824 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Japanese, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bahnhofsviertel
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Delicious healthy food at a great price and EXTREMELY sweet staff (a rarity in Germany). Tasted just like something a grandma would cook up in eastern Africa.... yummy!!! Love the decor and atmosphere! Reserve early.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    90
    24
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love trying new food and I was excited at trying this restaurant based on the reviews.
I didn't book and tried at 610pm and was lucky there was a seat available but to accommodate my late booking I would have to leave at 7pm( I am a fast eater so I wasn't worried)
Within the next 10 minutes the restaurant was then fully booked. So its better to book beforehand.

Its quite dark inside with a hut like setting nestled on sand.
I went for Tzhada Kulwa - Lamb meat stew with onions, mildly seasoned. I wanted to go for the hot dish but my friendly server said I should have the lightly seasoned one and I would get hot pepper on the side.
The food was served promptly and was served with a thin flat traditional bread(injera).
The meat was tender and it was mildly seasoned. I tried the hot pepper but didn't like the taste.
The bread was also very nice. I initially thought that the meal will not be filling but I couldn't eat another drop after I finished.

I enjoyed the authentic African food but next time I would like to try the spicy dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solingen, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I very much liked the place because it has sand on the floor and the interior is just nice. Try the self-brewed beer! Delicious!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A taste of the extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

First time with African food and I found the dishes and techniques to be wonderful. The atmosphere is very unique and be prepared for something different. The staff were all friendly and attentive. I would come back often!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Something different - 5*****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went there the first time for dinner and it was just great. The staff is very friendly, the food tastes good and this is something special, not the usual steak and burger you get everywhere. Really good and thumbs up!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Im Herzen Afrikas also viewed

 

Been to Im Herzen Afrikas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Im Herzen Afrikas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.