We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iwase

Iwase
Vilbeler Strasse 31, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)
069 / 28 39 92
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,785 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Incredible food! Do not let the modest interior get in the way of enjoying wonderful food! We go there every year, our order is getting bigger and bigger because it is just so good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    35
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Plenty of money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A really expensive Japanese restaurant. The food is ok but the price is very high for what you get. There are better valued Asian restaurants if you shop around.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“REALLY REALLY EXPENSIVE! TOO MUCH!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Be aware!! If you want to spend REALLY REALLY a lot to have god japanese food (however not the best jap in frankfurt) then go!!! When i say EXPENSIVE i'm speaking about 50 euro or more per person to eat a few sashimi and sushi pieces and one soba soup shared in 2 person.UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!
Then they also don't have the macchine to pay with debit card,
only cash Or credit cars.also this UNBELIEVABLE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Classic small Japanese restaurant, very close to the centre of town.
No english menu, but then we are in Germany! Two chaps behind the counter spoke perfect English, so I just ordered what I fancied. Crisp and fresh tempura, Cold edamame beans???
Fresh, if a little unadventurous sashimi. Not too expensive, but very cosy.
Will visit again next time I'm in Frankfurt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

When we entered to the restaurant I was very surprised by the atmosphere, people was sitting beside each other, having a chat alongside a glass of sake and the most important thing... The chef and crew were japanese! We had two platters with different kinds of sushi and all of them were awesome. The ingredients were fresh and the fish was very tasty. I would recommend not to go in with a large group since they have a lack of space.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iwase also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Iwase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iwase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.