We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad!”
Review of Surf'n Turf

Grueneburgweg 95, 60323 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)
69 722122
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #48 of 1,680 restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $36 - $146
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    85
    48
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Surf'n Turf
See the most recent reviews
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I know its the #1 rated restaurant in FRA, but Im pretty sure that the service could have been a bit better. Food was excellent, but pricey....Morton's type of pricey. Had to ask the waiter to show us the meats, I was told that in the past they used to do that without asking. Wanted to share a 14 oz steak with my gf but they told me that an extra charge would be applied...so we both ordered 8oz....My friend ordered the Large porterhouse for 2,..,honestly....it should read for 2 men....one man and one woman will not finish that steak unless if they are from the Klump family. Otherwise very tasty steaks, I enjoyed the grass fed filet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you are a (wealthy) carnevore, look no further.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My "toyboy" is a confirmed carnivore, so as a treat I took him to Surf'n'Turf on the recommendation of a friend.
The restaurant is located in Frankfurt's Westend, in the building that used to house Humperdinck - a 2 Michelin starred establishment. I used to live nearby, so knew my way around, but if you do not have local knowledge (as "toyboy" didn't) you will find the one-way streets and parking rather a challenge.
We had a quiet table in a fairly dark corner, but the whole restaurant is quite dark due to the wood panelling. The menu is obviously geared towards meat eaters of all persuasions, but there are some fish and seafood dishes as well as salads and vegetable side-dishes.
If you are unsure which cut of meat to select, the waiting staff will bring you a platter of the raw goods and advise on the most suitable cut for your tastes. The quality of the raw materials was excellent, as was the advice to have nothing more "cooked" than medium-rare.
I had the steak tartare with sides of salad and truffled mashed potato. The dish came well-presented with all the components available to mix yourself. The salad was crisp and fresh and the potatoes were delicious. "Toyboy" tried some (he had never had steak tartare before) and liked it very much. His choice was fillet steak with salad and chips, all of which were deemed to be delicious.
The bill was €100 for 2, which also included a large bottle of mineral water and 2 espressi. Pretty steep for one course each, no wine, but definitely worth it from a quality point of view.
This is not somewhere I would recommend for "regular" meals out, it is just too expensive, but for a special occasion it does hit the spot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, scandalous pricing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food-wise I had nothing to complain about. The steak served at Surf'n'Turf is second to none, perfectly cooked and seasoned.

Prices charged are ridiculous though. 13€ for a gin and tonic and 9€ per glass of wine? Apart from the kind blonde lady at the reception desk, staff wasn't too friendly either.

A disappointment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with fine steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Took business customers here for a meal. Was a very pleasant evening. Busy restaurant but staff made time to deal with all questions and provide high level of service. Food was good. Extensive wine list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Steak house in a comfortable setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is part of the same restaurant group that owns the Ivory club. Located in a quiet neighborhood about 1km away fro the opera house, We went there as a large group of 18 people and thus had a set menu. The service was excellent, but only because our waiter went over and beyond the call of duty and they could do with a few more staff. The place has a nice intimate feel to it with wood accents giving it a sort of den/library feel. the steak and the lamb chops were excellent as well as the side dishes. If you're feeling especially carnivorous in frankfurt, i believe this is the place to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf'n Turf also viewed

 

Been to Surf'n Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf'n Turf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.