We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb French Haute Cuisine but VERY expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Francais

Restaurant Francais
Am Kaiserplatz 1 | Hotel Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)
+49 69215118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,739 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Price range: $63 - $178
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Description: Patrick Bittner proved himself as a profiled gourmet chef and a true master in his field. Besides the fine French cuisine and newly interpreted local delicacies, fish and crustacean dishes are offered, which are especially appreciated by our international guests.Connoisseurs and gourmets will be delighted by our wide-ranging wine card with approx. 400 different sorts of wine, which offers besides many eminent wines also insider tips for extraordinary experiences. Our Sommelier Franck Mouzon, who is a true expert in both fields, is pleased to give competent recommendations in accord with our outstanding service team, which is under the guidance of the charming Maître d’hotel Nils Blümke.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Superb French Haute Cuisine but VERY expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I came to this restaurant because of its Tripadvisor reports. It absolutely lives up to its claims for being an exceptional restaurant. I was lucky to get a table and its very lucky I called to reserve one! The Tripadvisor price guide is totally wrong. I did not realise it would be so expensive but it is an exceptional restaurant so you can expect to have to pay! Two of us ate for Euro 350.00 including €20 tip and we had two modest half bottles of wine. A super restaurant that I highly recommend for special occasions

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    44
    10
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Le Francais Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wow! What an amazing experience in high quality dining! Exceptional cuisine; all staff expertly trained and skilled professionals of the highest order; unquestionably my most memorable experience of Frankfurt - will definitely head right back there for another meal on my next visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, Manager at Restaurant Francais, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Gavin S, thank you for your positive words about “Le Francais Restaurant”. We are happy to hear that you had such a great experience. The staff will be glad to hear your kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of my favourites in Frankfurt. Never disapoints, service is exceptional and the food is creative and executed so very well. Wine list is very good

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Francais Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had an amazing meal in the Restaurant Francais. The Food was very creative and tasty and the service impeccable. The sommelier was outstanding and recommended the appropriate wines for every course. It was one of the best dining experience I have ever had. I will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerlan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Memorable, fantastic dining experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Amazing dining experience that was one of the highlights of our frankfurt visit. Fantastic and friendly service, with the most charming dining room i have had the pleasure of visiting. Flavours of the seven course degustation menu were at times things i had never tasted before, combinations were so unique. If you are after a menorable experience (and not just a meal, do not hestitate to book).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Francais also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Restaurant Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.