We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, lots of extras, awesome service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Spenerhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Das Spenerhaus to your Saves list
Das Spenerhaus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dominikanergasse 5, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Clean, lots of extras, awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spotlessly clean, centrally located, wonderful staff and little extras that weren't expected - this hotel was simple excellence. The room was basic but immaculate and with everything I needed for a night, plus free (yes, free!) drinks and snacks in the mini-fridge and on the pillow. Even the beer was free. It's a walk to the main shopping and historic areas of the city, but best of all was the service - my tour bus on check-out morning didn't turn up, and staff went well out of their way to make calls and find out what was happening. Without their assistance I would have been stuffed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
18
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel was clean and in good condition. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to the river and the main tourist areas. We found this to be a big plus as the area around the main train station where a lot of the other hotels are situated, leans a bit to the dodgy side.

The street outside our room was quite noisy, with a lot of church recitals going on as well as people coming back from pubs. However, the hotel provided earplugs as standard in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were one week in Franfurt, hotel Das Spenerhaus. Our room was god, it was handicapped accessible, plenty of room.
Breakfast buffee was very good, vegetables + fruits. Just enought. Clean, nice, eating room.
We came by flight to Hahn airport, taken a bus to Frankfurt (14,-e and 2 hours) and a taxi from Railway station to hotel (8,-e, 5 min).
Centrum is very near, 5 min to walk. QB shops are nice prises but there are the expencive shops too, of course.
Citytour by buss costs 19,- e and takes 1 hour. Nice to see city around.
We liked very much this hotel, just enought to us. We like silent hotels, we don´t need disco etc around us, we like to sleep good.

Room Tip: silent, good to sleep, near centrum, good breakfast buffee, no musik and noise, easy to find, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked this on the internet for a three night stay. The Das Spenerhaus is a spotlessly clean wonderful hotel. The staff are professional and excel at customer service. The location is great close to the metro and the cathedral is a lovely next door view. Comfortable room, found the mini packs of gummi bears a nice extra. Frankfurt is an interesting city and the few days we spent here seemed way too short. Would return as it was a great find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Das Spenerhaus was a great hotel stay. Rooms are not big and luxurious, but very adequate and comfortable. The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous. I highly recommend you consider this hotel when staying in this area of Frankfurt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had a small but adequate room. Squeaky clean. Across from a church but they’d considerately provided ear plugs. Free Gummi bears on the pillow. Free peanuts on my desk in the afternoon. Fine free breakfast. Free newspaper. Free apples on the counter.

When I checked in, I asked about Wi-Fi. Free. “You are our guest,” said the night manager. This guy was the most friendly, polite hotelier I've ever met. Recommendations for dinner? A great tapas bar two blocks away the first night. The Italian restaurant recommended for the following evening was fantastico. Two blocks from the cathedral. Three blocks from the Christmas market. Surrounded by art galleries and antique stores. Wunderbar.

Room Tip: Away from the front -- there's a church next door with plenty of bell ringing. (The hotel provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had a really great stay here. The location is fantastic being a few yards away from the cathedral and metro system, yet very, very quiet. I had friends staying near the railway station and they said that I was very lucky to be away from some dodgy areas over there. The room was not large, but adequate and the bathroom was modern and clean (in fact the whole hotel is spotlessly clean). They provide a free bottle of water and a mini packet of sweets in the room. The breakfast was good and definitely better than average for Germany. The staff were friendly and efficient. Don't come here if you want a buzzing hotel bar and to live the high life, but do come if you are on a budget, want somewhere clean and efficient and most of all quiet and CALM........

I will definitely stay here next time I visit Frankfurt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Spenerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Spenerhaus

Address: Dominikanergasse 5, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Spenerhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Das Spenerhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Spenerhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.