We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Das Spenerhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Das Spenerhaus to your Saves list
Das Spenerhaus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dominikanergasse 5, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked this on the internet for a three night stay. The Das Spenerhaus is a spotlessly clean wonderful hotel. The staff are professional and excel at customer service. The location is great close to the metro and the cathedral is a lovely next door view. Comfortable room, found the mini packs of gummi bears a nice extra. Frankfurt is an interesting city and the few days we spent here seemed way too short. Would return as it was a great find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Das Spenerhaus was a great hotel stay. Rooms are not big and luxurious, but very adequate and comfortable. The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous. I highly recommend you consider this hotel when staying in this area of Frankfurt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had a small but adequate room. Squeaky clean. Across from a church but they’d considerately provided ear plugs. Free Gummi bears on the pillow. Free peanuts on my desk in the afternoon. Fine free breakfast. Free newspaper. Free apples on the counter.

When I checked in, I asked about Wi-Fi. Free. “You are our guest,” said the night manager. This guy was the most friendly, polite hotelier I've ever met. Recommendations for dinner? A great tapas bar two blocks away the first night. The Italian restaurant recommended for the following evening was fantastico. Two blocks from the cathedral. Three blocks from the Christmas market. Surrounded by art galleries and antique stores. Wunderbar.

Room Tip: Away from the front -- there's a church next door with plenty of bell ringing. (The hotel provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had a really great stay here. The location is fantastic being a few yards away from the cathedral and metro system, yet very, very quiet. I had friends staying near the railway station and they said that I was very lucky to be away from some dodgy areas over there. The room was not large, but adequate and the bathroom was modern and clean (in fact the whole hotel is spotlessly clean). They provide a free bottle of water and a mini packet of sweets in the room. The breakfast was good and definitely better than average for Germany. The staff were friendly and efficient. Don't come here if you want a buzzing hotel bar and to live the high life, but do come if you are on a budget, want somewhere clean and efficient and most of all quiet and CALM........

I will definitely stay here next time I visit Frankfurt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I booked our one night stay over the internet. This was an easy exercise with no problems.

On arrival we were impressed by the tidy exterior appearance of the establishment. The reception area was most welcoming and tidy. The young lady receptionist spoke english and was most helpful.

Our accommodation was tastefully decorated and the amenities were spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and welcome after our long trip from New Zealand.

The breakfast room was well set out clean and tastefully decorated. The food was ample and very good. It was a continental Breakfast.

The information given to us by the staff to make our short visit to the Xmas market was really helpful.

The male receptionist who arranged a taxi back to the airport was also very helpful.

Our stay at this hotel was a very pleasant experience.

We would have no hesitation in staying again or recommending it for a place to stay to other people,.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I've stayed here several times. It's got a handy underground garage, decent breakfast, very good location in a quiet area, but just a few hundred metres from the centre. They've fairly recently revamped the lobby area. The rooms are a little dated but perfectly functional and very clean. The kettle, tea and coffee is very useful. The drinks in the fridge (juice, water and beer) are included in the room price. There's no wireless internet, so bring your own cable so you can plug in. The cables they have are not up to much.

The hotel is affiliated to a Christian hotel marketing organisation called VCH. It leads to some interesting statements (if I remember correctly) in the hotel information pamphlet like looking after the environment will help preserve God's creation. They also provide conspicuous Gideon bibles. Well, as an atheist, I don't mind about all that as it's not intrusive and besides, I think the staff should be honest, open and friendly if it's Christian oriented. And indeed, they were just like that.

I will stay there again before the year 2011 expires. in 2012 the hotel will be located inside the Frankfurt green zone, and as I always travel by car past Frankfurt, I cannot stay there (my car is too old to qualify for the "green" sticker). Shame, I shall miss it.

Room Tip: As for one overlooking the garden (it will cost more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Modern and in typical constructivism style (nothing non-essential!). VERY good in location – 2-3 minutes from the Dom, 7-8 min to the Zail, 6-7 min by foot to the nearest stop of S-Bahn to go to the airport. My windows were just a front to the Dominican church which was nice. In this church (in case you are lucky!) you can attend wonderful concerts.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Spenerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Spenerhaus

Address: Dominikanergasse 5, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Spenerhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Das Spenerhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Spenerhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.