We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a DUMP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Hotel Frankfurt

Save Saved
You added Fair Hotel Frankfurt to your Saves list
Fair Hotel Frankfurt
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fair Hotel Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Speyererstrasse 11, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
Seymour, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This place is a DUMP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I will avoid it in future, and i'd suggest to anyone to do so too, at all cost. Yes, it is cheap, but for just 10 bucks more you can get a decent hotel, and even for the same price, there are better options.

This hotel is terribly run down and in need of renovation. It starts in the hallway and elevator, the paint is scratched, the floor chipped and dirty, and the rooms are even worse.

Mine had old, mismatched black furniture, that looked like they had ripped it out of another room and re-assembled for this room. You could, for example, see where there used to be a minibar, but now there only was a big hole with ragged screw holes. The bed also looked like it had once been a twin bed that they had sawn in half and somehow propped up against the wall to make a single bed. It also had a totally worn out mattress, was very narrow and totally uncomfortable.

Completing the experience were a broken radio, dirty black carpet and the tiniest TV i have ever seen that was place in a way so you had to sit on the bed in order to watch it.

The worst part is the bathroom though, mold in every corner, rusty pipes visible everywhere and a washbasin so tiny you can hardly wash your hands in it. The showercurtain fights valiantly tries to keep some of the water inside the shower, but fails, so expect the entire bathroom to be flooded when you are done with your shower. And don't expect a shower mat to dry your feet on, thats what the black carpet in the room can be used for.

Add to that the somewhat shady looking staff of apparently russian origin and you know you won't be up for a great stay.

The only positive aspect was the breakfast, which had a nice selection considering it only cost €5.

Still, for the same or a little bit more money, you can find a much better place. I also wonder how they got their three star rating, i don't think it deserves even one star.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    21
    12
    14
See reviews for
1
11
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Paper thin walls , hard bed , someone arguing in the next room - pay a little more ...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We are very disappointed with the hotel. We esp. requested for a room in the main block, but were still assigned to a room in the annex (where the breakfast room is). The first room they gave us didn't even have the twin bed together. We did not accept it so were given another room. This room was not much better. It was on the first floor of the annex and was very noisy - during the three nights of our stay, we didn't have a good night sleep at all! The door of our room was like a fire escape door - from time to time there were people thinking it was a fire exit and trying to open the door! Nightmare! My advice is: pay a little bit more and stay in a better hotel. It was a nightmare stay at the Fair Hotel

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this place on our way back from a conference in Athens. We were able to check in early and that was a huge convenience because we were accompanied by an elderly couple. The rooms in terms of airiness and comfort, and the bathrooms, were very clean and excellent. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was great!!! The hotel is easily accessible, being so near the Main Station. I would recommend it highly to any family looking for low cost accommodation in such a central area of Frankfurt. The only con is the absence of a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I called in advance to confirm that they had in fact hair dryers and irons for the room. I also asked to check in early. I was they would get me in by noon. When we arrived, we could not check in early which was a huge inconvenience since we had to be somewhere and could not freshen up after being on a 8 hour flight. We also were hoping for a nap. There were no hair dryers, irons or adapters for our chargers in the room. They did give us a dryer but no iron or adapter. Second day we got adapter. Our TV wouldn't turn on so the guy at the hotel got it to work. No english channels. No Ac in the room, but a big window that we had to keep open adn as a result it was SOOOOOOO noisy. There was no elevator in our building so pulling luggage upstairs was a pain and no one offered to help or warn us. We had a double bed and one side kept collapsing. Really a piece of crap. The room was tiny and with two people we really started to lose our mind. There were only two hangers in the closet so we kept everything in our suitcase. When we checked out they also said we watched pay tv, which we did notice was on when he turned the TV on so maybe he hit something when he turned it on? We did not pay for it, but still an annoyance. If you really cn not afford a nicer hotel, then this will do, but I will never stay here again. It was a fairly short walk to messe, but we wound up taking cabs and cab drivers also had touble finding the place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Amazing value! Only two downfalls: Small room and some rooms allow smoking (you can smell the smoke throughout the hotel). Our room was non-smoking but the two rooms sharing our wing of the hallway were smoking.

Room had average quality beds, great water pressure and temperature in the shower and a nice big window to keep open for fresh air. Our room was newly renovated - nicely done but definitely done on a budget. Breakfast buffet is awesome!

We walked everywhere in Frankfurt on our 3 day stay. The Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof is only a short 15 minute walk.

It doesn't seem there's a lot to do in Frankfurt for holiday-goers. The Christmas market kept us busy most of the time, but we also took the time to see an Opera at the Frankfurt Oper.

The Christmas market was amazing! Such a beautiful sight and a wonderful cultural experience. A walk on the Rhine River was a nice touch.

  • Liked — Value for the money
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoke from smoking rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fair Hotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Hotel Frankfurt

Address: Speyererstrasse 11, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
Hotel Class:3 star — Fair Hotel Frankfurt 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Fair Hotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frankfurt Fair Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Hotel Frankfurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.