We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muenchener Strasse 42, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Townhouse hotel several times, mostly before early flights from Frankfurt. My latest stay for a night this summer was no dissapointment. It is located not far away from the railway station in a rather quiet street with only trams and pedestrians. It is modern, not too big and has a homely touch to it - a true townhouse! Great breakfast - all in all good value for money in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
20
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I´ve booked the Townhouse on short notice due to a change in my meetings location.
In fact two meetings with the Townhouse perfectly located in walking distance to both places.
The main train station where I´ve arrived on the ICE is also in walking distance. Not more than five minutes to go. A Rossmann store is just on the other side of the street, if you need anything to shop.
A nice welcome from the young male agent at Wednesday evening.
The room on the top floor was prepared as requested.
Everything clean, the bathroom not that long ago refurbished, so it looks like.
The room itself a bit from the small side, but finally ok for me with the short stay only.
No noise from the outside also with the german football guys on the game this evening.
Therefore a real good sleep for me.
Breakfast was buffet style. The usual phrase, everything there what I need in the morning and that´s perfectly ok for me. No time to wait also during check-out. Stored my bag till in the evening which was no problem at all and the agent there was once more really friendly.
Well, as usual the question for the downsides?. No free Wifi here, what should be the standard these days and what is the standard in most of the latest visited hotels.
Anyway, with Frankfurt as a pricey city and lot´s of meetings around an acceptable fare for me, 95.00 Euro´s B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I come to Frankfurt every 2 years and have usually stayed at the Hotel Manahattan, but their prices were high and they had few rooms left. So I choose the Townhouse after reading reviews on line. Good location, very up to date hotel although like most Frankfurt hotels no AC. Good breakfast. Single room on back of hotel was quiet and bigger than at Manhattan. Bathroom was good size with excellent shower. Service was outstanding and everyone was very helpful. My only complaint was no free wifi, but there is a Starbucks in the train station where you can get 2 free hours, and another around the corner but that one is only open until 8pm. My recommendations for solo inexpensive meals include My Sushi in bottom of Corner Hotel on street going up to Messe, plus tried one of the 2 popular Chinese restaurants around corner from Townhouse and was not disappointed. Great tofu and veggies in red curry for only 5 euros!

Room Tip: Ask for room on back when you book.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I managed to get a good deal at this hotel by booking quite near my arrival date. I got a double room for single occupancy for €70/night including breakfast, which is very competitive in Frankfurt.

The location is very good for the railway station - make sure you use the Einkauf (shopping) passage to save waiting for two sets of traffic lights - just a five minute walk away, with the city centre another 10-15 minutes further on. Don't be put off by the fact that there are lots of Turkish mini-marts at the end of Münchenerstraße. They are very useful, and the area feels perfectly safe, even at night.

Check-in was handled extremely politely and efficiently, and the hotel has obviously been refurbished, tastefully, to a high standard fairly recently. If you look at the hotel's website, the pictures are actually how it is in real life. The Lobby/Lounge is in the style of a reading room. Whilst the lift is small, it is pretty quick to arrive. You won't find large hotel rooms in Frankfurt unless you pay 5* prices, and my room would have been crowded with two, but if you only want to sleep in it, it's not a problem. All the fittings are of high quality. The mattress was particularly comfortable, and I even found the "sleeping cushion" that all German hotels seem to use for pillows didn't keep me awake like they usually do. The blackout curtains are very good, and there are blinds on the outside that come down at 8am to keep the sun off. These can also be controlled from inside the room.

The bathroom was small but well organised, with the unusual feature of a drying lamp (a high-power red lamp in the ceiling) which is on a timer switch! I didn't need it as it the weather was very hot when I was there - for those who are used to air-con, there isn't any. You can open the windows in several configuations, but if you face the street, the noise of the trams will force you to close them at night. However, the double-glazing is extremely efficient and I didn't need earplugs. Another odd thing was the lack of a plug for the washbasin. Instead, there is a fixed plate with holes - rather like an upturned colander. I mentioned it at Reception, but it is standard throughout the hotel. Finally, between the bedroom and shower there is a clouded perspex wall covered with wooden slats......

Breakfast is a simple affair (nothing hot apart from boiled eggs), but nothing wrong with that, and the staff are very friendly. Frankfurt is a business city rather than a tourist destination (although still lots to see), so I suspect a lot of business men don't want a huge breakfast if they're being wined and dined. On every website I searched, the hotel was shown as having a Restaurant. It doesn't, but I think you could hire the Breakfast Room for a meeting and have food provided, thus leading to the confusion.

I really enjoyed my stay here, and would happily go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Located within a stone's throw distance from the Hauptbahnof (Central Train Station) of Frankfurt, the hotel has easy access to almost all the important destinations across Frankfurt. The tram station is just across the street and IMO tram is the best way for a tourist to experience Frankfurt. Of course, the Hbf has the S-bahn and U-bahn as well, apart from the bus service. Well, there are of course a lot of hotels in this area to cash in on the centrality of the location and Townhouse is one of them.
The hotel had a good, helpful reception service (English-speaking), good breakfast spread and cosy, new-looking rooms
The negatives included
a) small rooms - very little space to swing and sway
b) lack of air-conditioning or even fans in the room, especially intolerable if on the top floor (on which i was) and during the summer months.
c) paid wifi internet - quite exorbitant really
On asking around, we were informed that these problems are more of a norm in this area - would be a bonus if you found a hotel offering better services. Might be a little on the expensive side, considering its no-frills stance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

it's a nice quite and clean hotel closed to Hauptbahnhot frankfurt ,Good location to reach the downtown and Frankfurt Messe 15 mins walking distance both. It has medium size well equipped bedrooms with big bathroom and shower. Excellent continental breakfast and service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk to the train station. The price was higher than other hotels nearby, so we thought we would get a good hotel room and booked this one. However, it turned out very disappointing.
We went to the room after checked in, nd found the trash can was not cleaned. The room is so tiny, and the bathroom is impossible to sit comfortably. There are not enough basic amenities in the bathroom. At night, we found also that the bed linen smelled not fresh.

  • Liked — close to station
  • Disliked — so tiny space, unclean and higher price than same type hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: Muenchener Strasse 42, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Hotel, in the style of an urban villa, offers 33 rooms and a small bar, which is open around the clock for you. The lobby with its own Library invites you to enjoy the evening comfortably. In summer the small garden in the rear of the hotel the opportunity to enjoy the last rays of sun with a glass of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.