We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sachsenhausen

Sachsenhausen
60596 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Sachsenhausen-Süd)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sachsenhausen like an insider
Private Tour
$49*
and up
Private Tour: Frankfurt City Highlights
Ranked #35 of 295 things to do in Frankfurt
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A historic cobble-stoned neighborhood in Frankfurt located along the south bank of the Main River.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Always fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Simply my favourite neighbourhood in Frankfurt. Great collection of bars, restaurants and shops, and famous for its Apfelwein (apple wine). Absolutely worth a visit, especially at night when the bars are open and the streets packed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    91
    34
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The prettiest neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

As an American expat, this is home and no doubt the best place to live in Frankfurt. Lined at its edges by world-class museums, Sachsenhausen is an ecclectic neighborhood largely populated by young German professionals and a sprinkle of expats. It also has great restaurants, including famous apple wine houses, shops and historical buildings that survived much of the bombing during WWII.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“flea market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

On every other Saturday a flea market sets up in the space between Schaumainkai and the river. I do not recall the exact stretch, but it will be easy to see when it is there. As I recall, it begins to break up by early afternoon. I rate it highly for interesting items to browse and buy, observed over three years time I lived near Frankfurt. But of course its interest can vary greatly from one weekend to the next. One of my prized possessions is a stained glass window I bought there, that had been salvaged from an old building in another part of Germany.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“bad day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Took a walk there in a very cold and snowy day so we werent very impressed we weren't sure of which tram line to use

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It is very nice to stroll through the streets of Sachsenhausen which is very close to Musemsufer - museums district of Frankfurt.
Many nice little shops and cafes where they served coffe and cakes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sachsenhausen also viewed

 

Been to Sachsenhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sachsenhausen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.