We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful plants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmengarten

Palmengarten
Siesmayerstr. 61, 60323 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
069 2123 3939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 117 Attractions in Frankfurt
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Frankfurt's beloved botanical gardens are home to 50 acres of tropical trees, orchids and ferns.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“beautiful plants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm not sure how to rate Palmengarten. I went on a rainy day in December; it must be much more beautiful in the summer. I felt a little disappointed with the entrance building exhibits and the Christmas decorations seemed slightly cheap. But the other exhibits were nice and met my expectations. The entrance fee is 5 euros for adults, 2 for students, and I believe 1 euro for children. I would come again if in Frankfurt.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    166
    39
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
JAPAN
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“An oasis in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

As a child I used to spend tons of time in this place. Now I return as a tourist and it still is a wonderful place within walking distance to the city center. The entrance fee is reasonable, there are plenty of different themed pavilions on the property. The main building is a trip back into history

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“looking for relax time.. go to palmengarten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice place where you can relax for a while. They have a lot of different kind of plants, and a special area of tropical plants. Really nice to go there with family or alone.

It is recommendable to visit in summer.

It would be nice to have more options to eat

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great walk in the park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Palm trees and other desert plants abound and there are some multi-lingual docents in some of the areas to help. A very large group of micro-climes under glass domes and a very nice outdoor area to explore. One of the micro-climes is devoted to carnivorous plants and has a larger grouping of varieties than I have seen anywhere else. Multiple visits and I've always found something new to delight.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was A LOT bigger than I had thought it would be. They actually let you picnic there as well. Prices were ok.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmengarten also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Palmengarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmengarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.