We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adler to your Saves list
Hotel Adler
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Niddastr. 65, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Frankfurt B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The location is very good for easy access from the railway station (trains from the airport). It is also walking distance to all shopping and sight-seeing. The location is very quiet because the street is a dead-end (no through traffic). A negative thing concerning the location is a disgusting red-lamp street close by.

Service is very friendly. Good buffet breakfast.
Rooms are nice and clean and rather small with a modern and clean small bathroom (if there is a bathroom in the room) but the carpets in all areas need cleaning or replacing. If it wasn't for the carpets, everything would look really nice and rather new.

One has to be careful when booking a room: some rooms are without private toilets. I had booked two rooms for us and one of them involuntarily without a private bathroom. This was not clearly marked on the website I had used (of course I was also not expecting a 3-star hotel to run rooms without toilets). So I ended paying a bit extra for a room with conveniences.

Considering the price I found it a good choice (after the trouble with the bathroom was solved) and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
18
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Convenient, affordable hotel located close to the station and the centre of the city. Too bad you have to pass through the sleazy red light district if you want to get out. Very friendly staff that spoke good english. Free wireless internet in every room. Spacious rooms, no noise at night to keep you awake, but the bed and pillows weren't all that comfortable. Car parking available but reserve in advance. Great breakfast but the breakfast staff wasn't always quick to refill.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Stayed a night during a stop over in Frankfurt. Location was great, but finding the hotel took me a little longer as it was (like other mentioned) tucked away in the alley way, where the entrance to the alley way is found between the stores fronts. So it is less than 10 minute walk from the train station.

Likes:
Location from the train station
Affordable
Wifi

Dislikes:
A little sketchy in the red light district
Shared washroom for my accommadation, so one toilet for the floor and thus everyone had a key, which can be used to unlock the door while inside doing your business.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Location: Hotel Adler is conveniently located next to Frankfurt Main Station - although it was hard to find because it's tucked away in an alley. (it's actually right across from Levis Hotel)
Restaurants: There aren't too many around the area, probably have to search around the Main Station to find them.
Breakfast: included but not all that tasty
Service: Front desk is helpful and sincere. They let us store our bags in the lobby on the day we checked out. (The lobby is located on second floor, which is quite strange)
Given the price of the hotel, I would recommend it to people who are traveling on a budget and don't mind the small rooms and small beds. It's close to the red light district, but no harms there as long as you don't walk through the area too late at night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Myself and a friend shared a twin room for 2 nights. As two men on a city break with wives at home we only wanted something simple and the Hotel Adler met our requirements. It is immaculately clean and the staff, like all the Frankfurters we met were very helpful and friendly. Check-in was efficient but relaxed yet professional. The room itself consisted of two single rooms and an ensuite bathroom and television. Whilst not big it was adequate for our needs. A complimentary bottle of water each day was also refreshing. Tea/Coffee making facilities are downstairs as is breakfast and free internet access. Again straight forward continental breakfast consisting of bread, cereal, cheese and fruit again in a relaxed and pleasant environment. Location wise, nothing particular to say other than it is about a comfortable ten minute walk from the Opera house and twenty minutes walk from the livelier Sachensheusen area. Very close to the train station which was convenient. Others have mentioned proximity to the red light district. This area could be completely avoided en route to the hotel and i felt perfectly safe at all times in Frankfurt and at this hotel. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a great value little hotel with no nonsense. Well done Hotel Adler.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

This hotel is ideally located close to the railway station and public transport. Rooms and clean and the breakfast is good. Service was also friendly. There is a free internet (free wireless in rooms and PC in the lobby). If you just want to stay a night, this hotel is practical and recommendable.

However, it is not luxury hotel and the hotel is in fact in a normal apartment building, which has been transformed into a hotel. The halls are not nice.
Travelers should also note that the hotel is very close (200 m) from the Red Light District and Brothels. Depending on you interests, this is either a good or a bad thing, but one should be aware of this fact before reserving.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Pros: Very convenient to the Hauptbahnhof, clean, tidy, quiet, helpful staff, economical, plenty of restaurants nearby.
Cons: The double bed felt more like a three-quarter. Hence we were cramped and had a poor night's sleep as a result.
Other notes: We didn't find the presence of the nearby red light district a problem, it seemed quiet and safe enough.
We had needed somewhere convenient to stay overnight between flights and Adler would have met the bill admirably (in fact, I would have given it 5 stars) if it hadn't been for the small double bed. Instead of heading off for our flight refreshed, we departed tired. If you can afford to stay elsewhere nearby, I'd suggest you do so if you intend to share a bed.
We crossed the road from the Bahnhof to get to the hotel only to discover later that there is a huge underground concourse beneath the tram lines which links the Bahnhof and emerges quite close to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Address: Niddastr. 65, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Adler is a family-run hotel situated right in the heart of Frankfurt am Main. Only 100 metres away from the main train station and 800 metres from the exhibition centre, it is the ideal place for business people and trade fair visitors but also very suitable for tourists.The hotel offers the following complimentary services free of charge:- WiFi internet access in the entire hotel- Internet terminal in the hotel lobby- Free coffee & tea in the lobby- One bottle of mineral water per person per night in the roomDue to its convenient location the important attractions are easily reached. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.