We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Frankfurt Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Frankfurt Centrum to your Saves list
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Speicherstrasse 4, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Frankfurt Friedensbruecke) (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #57 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Room was simple as expected from Ibis,nice,clean and location is quite central.Receptionist look very tired and unhappy most of the times.Wi-fi does not work in rooms only in lobby he said on arrival.When we came down to lobby.....ohh it's broken today.Not very helpful as we need internet while we travel for days.Good to keep your head down for a night.
It not too bad to stay as it's value for money for location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    549
    257
    37
    20
See reviews for
150
361
202
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We got the hotel on a very good price from their own website so it offered definately good price quality ratio. However one big minus is that our room was not cleaned once during 3night stay and no soap in the room on arrival. Also only smoking twin was available.

I enjoyed the hotel even more then the previous ibis I've stayed in and I would recommend it if you want a hotel near main station. I was visiting Frankfurt just to party and I have say I think better location for that purpose could be more east. It was 25min walk or 15e taxi to pubarea sachenhausen (not sure if I write it right) - if I would come again to party in Frankfurt, I would propably stay closer to that and the main shopping street/cathedral. But there was a nice nightclub called "living xxl" in the eurotower not too far from the hotel.

We also visited the natural history museum, which was really enjoyable. Im sure you will find lots to do in Frankfurt if you like museums :) And yeah the nightlife was not too bad either, not once did they run out of alcohol :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. The value is really good, you get what you pay for.
The room has the necessary space, and everything is clean.

Breakfast is not included, but you have a lot of places where to take a coffee in the hotel area.
The hotel is in front of the river, around 20 blocks from the Frankfurt Romer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I) HONEST Cancellation policy

While more and more hotels are adopting an advance cancellation policy of one or even more days before the arrival date, Ibis hotels still maintain an HONEST cancellation policy of 6 or even 7 pm of the arrival date when you guarantee your room with a credit card.

Better yet, they are among the very few hotels left which accept the old "6 pm courtesy hold" policy without even asking for your credit card!

This summer 2013, I had about twenty reservations between Madrid, Paris, Vienna, Buenos Aires and now Frankfurt, all of them on a "6 pm courtesy hold" without giving my credit card, not even once, between May and August 2013. And I still have two more for Germany and one for Buenos Aires; all of them, on a "6 pm (or 7 pm for most of them) courtesy hold" without giving my credit card number.

Naturally, I had the courtesy of canceling some reservations in Madrid a few days before the scheduled arrival date, because I preferred to stay at the four star Florida Norte, which was a far better value.

But now, more and more hotels are not only asking for your credit card information; worse yet, they are also adopting an advance cancellation policy of one or even several days prior to the arrival date or you lose your money!

They get away with it because people accept it. Until the day their flight is cancelled at the very last minute, they lose their money and learn the hard way that they should never accept this lion to monkey deal!

A few years ago, while I was checking in at a hotel in San Luis Obispo (California), I witnessed a phone conversation between the hotel manager and an unfortunate passenger to whom this had just happened, and I heard the manager say that it was not the hotel's fault and that he couldn't do anything about it!

This explains my preference for IBIS hotels and their outstanding policy of "6 pm courtesy hold". Again, most Ibis locations will hold your room without a credit card, not until 6 pm but until 7 pm in many locations. As we say in France: "Qui dit mieux"?

II) QUEEN BED, AC and RIVER FRONT, RIGHT DOWNTOWN for only 59 €

In fact, 59 € was the counter rate when I arrived, but I only paid 49 € because, as usual, I made my reservations longtime ahead via the Internet. This is easy for me because I have the misfortune of being a professor, working almost for free, but knowing longtime in advance the dates of my four months vacations without pay...

However, even at 59 Euros, this is an OUTSTANDING VALUE, considering that, since I discovered this city in 1990 thanks to my beloved Pan Am, I have seen many hotels in the area charging more than that for an army bed in a closet without AC!!! And I'm not talking of 1990; I still saw this kind of room in several hotels in August 2013!

The "superior" room that I had last year at the Best Western Scala (which now sells for 30% more than the price of this Ibis one) was smaller than this one, didn't have such a wide open view over the river, and was noisier than the room I currently have here. You may want to read my review about it, posted in June 2012. This year, they are charging almost $100 for an even smaller room without AC!

As always with IBIS, there is NO SURPRISE, good or bad.

Same queen bed (in many French locations they only have a double bed), same small 20 inch LCD TV, same two towels (never one, never three...), same green wood chair without padding, same large wood shelf serving as a desk. The only difference is that, in here, it is by the wall (as it was at the Paris Brancion location) instead of being under the window as in most locations where I have been.

Between the bed and the desk, there are two AC outlets, very handy to recharge your laptops, tablets, etc. BUT REMEMBER that in Europe, like in South America, they have 220 VOLTS instead of 110 back home!

It would be a euphemism to say that the bathroom is small... In fact it is as tiny as the BW Scala one, which room currently sells for 30% more as I said! However, it has its own small window, which is always convenient in order to ventilate the bathroom.

The AC is over the door, as in many locations like Lima (Peru), for which I posted a review in May 2012, and has a wall selector with three fan speeds and a manual temperature selector which is very efficient.

There is also a telephone and a hair dryer, two features that you won't find at the cheaper Ibis Budget where I spent a short week in May 2012 and again in June-July 2013 at the Vienna (Austria) location.

But that's about all for the comfort.

NO club chair (but I saw a "superior" room yesterday at the Clarion Hotel and it didn't have a club chair either at twice this rate!) NO "mini bar" like in the more expensive Best Western or Clarion hotels and, naturally, NO microwave, NO iron and NO ironing board, which you will find in most BW and Choice hotels in the US at half this rate. But this is Europe, where rooms are smaller, less comfortable and more expensive...

Last but not least, my room (532 on the fifth floor out of seven) where I spent a short week in July-August 2013 has a wide open view over the river, but there are also rooms on the back.

III) EXCELLENT LOCATION

Although this Ibis is NOT as close from the main train station as the Ibis Styles (which is only two blocks instead of four, but which also costs twice as much...) it is still very close and you can easily walk the 400 meters more or less from the Hauptbahnhof. Unless you travel with 200 pounds of luggage, in which case you would probably be using a limousine and going to a Sofitel, like the other guy...

As you exit the main train station coming from the airport, turn right and walk about four blocks towards the river. Then, turn right before the bridge and you will see this Ibis about fifty yards on your right hand side.

If you bought a day pass at the airport (8.30 € for one day or 23.80 € for seven days, including the airport surplus a/o July 29, 2013) you may take trams 16 or 21 right in front of the main station for one stop and get off at the BASELER PLATZ stop (the very first one), then walk a couple of blocks to the river and turn right.

At the same Baseler Platz stop, you may also take tram number 12 in the opposite direction, which will take you to the zoo and also to the old town, a few blocks from the main pedestrian street running from the Hauptwache to the Konstablerwache subway stations.

IN SHORT, this IBIS FRANKFURT CENTRUM is currently, in my opinion, an EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY in this rather expensive city, mainly for eating.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a wide open view over the river, although there is a round building in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

With hotels in major cities often being a lottery in terms of cleanliness, value for money and location, the Ibis Centrum proved to be a very welcome find. Firstly, it was very clean and the rooms were modern, if a bit on the small side. The value was excellent overall when compared to other options I had looked at, and the reception staff helpful, and friendly, without ever being unprofessional. The breakfast was also good value at €10 for a large selection of buffet items, with unlimited drinks, etc.

Finally the location, a few minutes walk from the main station meant it was easy to get around town and to find the hotel on the way back. The nearby River Main, marina area (only one restaurant/bar), shops and riverside walk to the Old Town all made it a pleasant stay and the whole area despite being near to a main station felt very safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Frankfurt Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Frankfurt Centrum

Address: Speicherstrasse 4, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Frankfurt Friedensbruecke)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Frankfurt Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything: The ibis Frankfurt Centrum is within walking distance of Frankfurt main train station and a few steps from the Main promenade. The financial district, old town with the Römer town hall and the museums along the river Main are all just a short walk away. After a busy day, relax in a brand new high-tech bed and enjoy a unique level of sleeping comfort. The ibis Frankfurt Centrum has 233 air-conditioned rooms, and was completely renovated in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Frankfurt Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum Hotel Frankfurt
Accor Frankfurt Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Frankfurt Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.