We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selera Malaysian Restaurant

Selera Malaysian Restaurant
Muenchener Strasse 52, Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
69 24009601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,711 restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wuxi, China
1 review
“Excellent Food and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Never expect there is a Malaysian food in Frankfurt.
This restaurant is near by main railway station.
Tasty food - chicken rice, sambal kangkung, curry laksa, char kuey teow...
Whoever miss Malaysian food, suggest you come over to this restaurant, good food, service and good atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    19
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Malaysian Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch. Had the best chicken rice ever in Europe. Just like back in malaysia. Char kuey teow too was very authentic. I'm not a teh Tarik fan but they make good ones here. Got free dessert (Pulut hitam) and fruits. Very friendly staff. Will definitely come back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service from English-speaking Malaysians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A delicious Malaysian meal for 2 of us-spring rolls for entrée and 2 mixed noodle dishes (plus a beer each) for under 35 euros. Plenty of food and complimentary fresh fruit to finish. Great friendly service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice Malaysian food... Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a one night stop over in Frankfurt and looked up on Trip Adviser for some suggestions for a good restaurant close by to where we were staying. We decided on Selera Malaysian and Wow we weren't disappointed. The meals we chose were awesome, they were very quick with service and the waitresses were very nice, polite and helpful. A very nice clean restaurant with happy friendly staff made it an enjoyable evening. We highly recommend any traveller to stop in for a good, well priced meal in a convenient location.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not that great, relatively expensive for the neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I had high hopes but was a bit disappointed. I had the Singapore rice noodles. While the shrimps had a good size, the dish still lacked some punch, and was not as good as similar dishes I had elsewhere.
The interior of the place has a bit of an South-East Asian feel, meaning, that the light has the cold color of neon-lights.
I found the prices to be surprisingly high, especially taking the neighborhood into account. This applies to beverages, too which were also a bit too expensive.

Overall, I will not make the journey again, there are better options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selera Malaysian Restaurant also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Selera Malaysian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selera Malaysian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.