We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real German food and fresh apple wine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apfelwein Solzer

Apfelwein Solzer
Berger Strasse 260, 60385 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
069/452171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,785 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Real German food and fresh apple wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a great meal here and I loved the apple wine so much I bought a liter to go which they fill for you fresh on the spot. I had pork medallions in mustard sauce with buttered noodles and it included a green salad. Everything was just right! Generous helping of noodles and a big mixed salad. The meat was tender and juicy. There is a nice seating area with tables in the sun or under shade, your choice. Real German food and a real German experience. I loved this place. You have to try the apple wine. It is what this place is a ll about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bernhards Bay, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you're in the Bornheim section of Frankfurt be sure to have a bite at Apfelwein Solzer. There is a party atmosphere all the time, but not too rowdy if you're looking for a family meal. The food is excellent. We were particularly impressed with the wait staff who were friendly, attentive and quick despite being very busy. This restaurant earned two visits during our recent stay because everyone loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“German food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Im here right now and just had a few of there famous apple wine.. that was delicious! Had the snizel that was recommended to me by my german friend who lives here and I was very happy with that choice as well as from the overall atmosphere of the place.. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is in Frankfort

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Maultaschen in Frankfurt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice to sit, have Appelwein or Mispelschnaps and enjoy the local cuisine. For vegetarians like myself they serve nice maultaschen. Big plus is that smoking is partially allowed in their wintergarden!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best home cooked German fare !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were recommended this place by a very friendly chap who lived in Frankfurt & worked at the Bank of New York and we were not disappointed. I had the schnitzel with saute potatoes and Frankfurt green sauce and a side of sauerkraut, which turned out to be two huge schnitzels, and my partner had the Solzer platter - both were amazing & plentiful !! My partner then had the chocolate & vanilla sauce desert. This plus 2 beers, a glass of apfelwine, a glass of red wine & the special calvados with the apricot, came to less than 50 euros - very good value compared to other city prices.
The place was full of locals, which is always a good sign !
If you take the U4 underground train to Bornheim Mitte and then go north (away from the city) up Berger Strasse it will be on the right hand side in a traditional looking building.
The staff were very friendly and quite happily gave us a menu in English.
We went about 9pm on Easter Sunday, it was the busiest place on the street and although we didn't have any issues finding a table I would imagine that earlier or non public holidays a reservation would be a reccomendation.
This place is a must for anyone wanting good food when visiting the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apfelwein Solzer also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Apfelwein Solzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apfelwein Solzer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.