We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“break in frankfurt” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gutleutstrasse 296, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #106 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“break in frankfurt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived at the station to the told the hotel was down the road and on the right with 3 bags we walked and it took nearly 50 mins and it was a long way through back streets like shanty town. The area is horrible with graffiti everywhere and would not like to be around on my own. Eventually we arrived at the hotel which is very clean and room was nice and clean and comfy. Breakfast was ok but just toast, cold meat, cheese, nothing hot like porridge, cold cereals were wheat and sugary. Nothing for anyone on a dairy free or wheat free diet. I ordered some soya milk and next morning was given normal lactose free milk. In the end had to go and buy some in town myself as after 3 days still no soya milk was given despite asking. Frankfurt is a long way from hotel and the bus goes every hour into the station but then u need the tram to get into city. Hotel is a good base but too far away for sightseeing. Was not impressed with Frankfurt at all and hotel was just OK. Service could be better and better food needed. Nothing available to eat in the evenings so had to go without on arrival day. No restaurants or shops around without needing to get a taxi. Not sure what the area around is but it looks very uninviting. Wonder if it is a poor area of the city. We were woken up at 6am by the cleaners hovering outside the bedroom door two mornings and had to go and tell them to move as were sleeping so loud. also noisy children running about in the early mornings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for taking your time to submit a review.
We are happy to see that you basically enjoyed staying with us.

Let's comment on your review for other travellers:

- Holiday Inn Express hotels are bed&breakfast hotels, which meand no restaurant is available in the hotel. However, the hotel may offer some snacks at the hotel bar
- Holiday Inn Express hotels offer a good breakfast, covering a good choice for all of us. However, we cannot comply with strict dietary requirements. Why not try a Holiday Inn hotel, which offers a wider choice. Soya milk is hardly used in Germany, rather lactose free milk.
- our maids do not start cleaning before 8 am and hovering is not done before 9am. However, the may knock on guest room doors to see if the guests need cleaning or have already vacated their room. Hint: use the "do not disturb" cards to hang outside your door and the maids will not disturb.
- from Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof our guests can use bus line 37, which stops in front of the hotel. It's running from early morning to late night. Alternatively a taxi from the station will cost about 7 EUR per ride. The area around the hotel is basically safe, being mixed residential and industrial.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express hotels!

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    123
    87
    21
    4
See reviews for
49
58
53
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Kao-hsiung, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is not very far from the main train station and there is bus 37 goes to its door. We can't find any restaurant around there so we had to finish our dinner before going back.

The 2 single bed room is tiny and it doesn't have much space for you to open up your luggage. The bed is small but soft and comfortable and the quality of sleep is quite good.

The second morning we were in a rush so we forgot to put some tips on the desk. When we came back at night we found the small towels were missing and the plastic cups were not replaced. And it all comes back again the next time after we put some tips on the desk.

The breakfast was delicious with many kind of choices, and the staffs there were helpful and friendly.

Overall it's a nice stay and I'll stay again if I have a chance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your good review!
We are happy to see that you liked staying with us.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, however, there are some restaurants in 10 minutes walking distance. Around the central station, you will furthermore find plenty of Asian restaurants, additional to the more German/International choice around the hotel.

Thanks for your advice on the missing supplies. In case our guests miss anything, please address to the front desk, they will be happy to assist. It is not in connection to tip of the maids - they are all paid with a fixed salary and not based on tip, as usual in Germany. However, it looks like the maid did not hae a good day and forgot to supply everything you needed. We'll speak to them to make sure this will not happen to other guests.

Hope to welcome you back some time!

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn Express has two claims to fame, first it was the most expensive HIE that I have ever stayed in and secondly it was by far the most terrible HIE that I have ever stayed in. Please let me explain. When I arrived I was told by a somewhat nervous check in lady that there was no room for me and they were upgrading me to a better hotel in Wiesbaden some 49 minutes away. I refused and eventually they found me a room. When I got to the room there was no WiFi which was surprising. The towels were poor and thin and the downie quilt had a huge brown stain and the cover had holes in it. This hotel is in an industrial location close the station and there are no restaurants nearby. In short a dreadful badly managed hotel I would recommend need that it should be avoided at all costs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor to share your experience with other travellers.

I deeply regret to hear that your stay has been unsatisfactory. However, I am also concerned about your comments and would like to detail on this.

Your reservation was made for a high demand period in Frankfurt, which is reflected in the hotel room prices. Nevertheless, all room rates are confirmed to guests at the time of booking and should not be a surprise.

In this period, we could not rent out all rooms and therefore had to ask guests to change hotel, which was the case with your arrival. Our front desk lady was indeed nervous, as this is a question not easy to ask.

That Holiday Inn Express hotels do not have restaurants is a brand standard and no in-house restaurants are being communicated on website etc. Currently, the hotel has no in-room WiFi (planned for 2014), but ethernet access with cables in the room. The lobby is supplied with WiFi access, free of charge.

I feel sorry that you found the room not to be clean. This must not be and will be addressed with our housekeeping staff.

Neverthless, we hope that you will visit IHG hotels in the future, why not try other brands, such as Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza (the one in Wiesbaden) or InterContinental.

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I would like to congratulate this hotel for having wonderful staffs. I believe they have wonderful staff or otherwise I am pure lucky during my stay. Arriving late at the hotel I am already tired and hit into issues coming into the car park without ticket. I parked my car and informed the front desk. To top it up, on that day they had problem with the kitchen therefore I was not able to have any food available in the hotel. Lucky the service staff was so kind and good that they settled my parking problem and also offered to order deliveries to the hotel. The menu was already available at the front desk and they made the order for me in German. I was only required to collect and pay the food when it arrives. The front desk was really effective and efficient during my stay. I could not complain more. At this place therefore I believe the human touch made the major difference. As for the rooms it is the standard expectation of a holiday inn express hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Danny,

Many thanks for your nice review! We are all very happy that you enjoyed staying with us.
In particular as there were some hick-ups which our team could rectify for you.

It's a great reward for us to see that we could make your stay perfect with our personal touch.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

From a business perspective I'm travelling to Frankfurt frequently. That's why I do know the Holiday Inn Express in Frankfurt well. At the reception there's a warm welcome from Arghavan or Ildico. They're aware of your wishes and interest which is enjoyable as a frequent guest.
In the morning the breakfast is properly and more than you can may expect. Mim is serving very good and realizes a good feeling with a smile on her face!

Keep on going!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your very nice review! We are very happy to see that you enjoy staying with us.

Great to have you as a regular guest! Thanks for your accolades to the staff, they are proud to receive these compliments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards
Martin Nock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We took a taxi from the airport which was 27 euros. The reception staff were friendly and spoke excellent english. Free coffee in the bar area. Rooms spacious, clean and comfy bed. Shower excellent. Free Wifi in reception and free ethernet access in the rooms.

Did explore the area as this was on overnight stay between long distance flights.

Room Tip: i was on the road side but it was quiet on a sat night. Not sure if on a weekday the morning traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us.

Good advice on the traffic situation on weekdays: It usually starts when most of our guests are up. And the windows are double insulated. If you would like to have an extended sleep, why not ask for a quiet room to the back of the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am a Priority Club member and stay in Holiday Inns because I am used to the service they provide. We stayed in this hotel upon our arrival in Germany and two nights before we left. The hotel is clean, the rooms are small and supply just the bare essentials. A bed, tv, towels and dual purpose soap. The breakfast was good, and the coffee machine was great! The only complaint I would have is that the woman who was front desk clerk when we checked in with on October 2nd was not very friendly at all. A first impression is a lasting impression. Luckily the rest of the staff was helpful and friendly - especially Ana who runs the bar in the evening. You can walk most places from the hotel without any problem -- restaurants, train station, downtown. There is a really nice area to walk along the river front. Just beware, there is a club close by and it is noisy at night if you do not have the window shut all the way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your nice review. We are happy to see that you liked staying with us.

Thank you for the comments on the staff, especially Anna was happy to hear that you enjoyed her service.

Holiday Inn Express is the midscale-focused service brand of IHG. If you like some more amenities etc why not try a Holiday Inn or one of the other brands such Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo or InterContinental.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express in future.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Address: Gutleutstrasse 296, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Messe! The hotel offers 175 comfortable and well-equipped rooms on 5 floors, including 2 rooms suitable for disabled guests and also smoking and non-smoking rooms. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, high-speed Internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Start your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet! The hotel also offers 3 modern conference rooms with natural light, air conditioning and internet access and offers numerous conference materials for successful meetings for up to 60 people. The hotel is near the central railway station, the Festival Hall and the 'Messe Frankfurt' exhibition grounds (Euromold, Heimtextil, Paperworld, Ambiente, Buchmesse, ISH, ACHEMA, IAA, etc.) Frankfurt s Westhafen and Gallusviertel/Galluspark business quarters are in the direct vicinity of the hotel and the Hoechst Industrial Park and Eschborn can be easily reached by car. With easy connections to the A5 motorway and the city centre, the hotel is an ideal location for your overnight stays, conferences and meetings. You can enjoy live football matches of Eintracht Frankfurt and also concerts at the Commerzbank Arena. You can book tickets for the Rhein-Main transport authority and also tours directly at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.