We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice last summer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gutleutstrasse 296, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #102 of 263 hotels in Frankfurt
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Stayed twice last summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed here twice last summer, and both times we were extremely satisfied.

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful, even when dealing with frustrated travellers taking their feelings out on the staff. The room was clean and comfortable.

It isn't exactly within walking distance of anything exciting, but there is a bus stop right outside the front door, making it easy to get to the Hauptbahnhof and, from there, to the rest of the city.

A definite bonus was the free wi-fi in the comfortable lobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Caroline,

Many thanks for sharing your review with TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to hear that you liked staying with usm and are also proud to have made your stay comfortable and your appreciation of our staff efforts. It's not always easy to stay calm and polite all the time, however, every guest has his or her point and that's what we'd like to find out and comfort afterwards :-)

Hope to be able to welcome you again to Frankfurt!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    111
    83
    18
    3
See reviews for
50
61
53
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

we stayed here during the Frankfurt book fair, so price was certainly $$$$. I can understand that hotels make use of the opportunity to make more money.
While at the bar and wiling to eat we wanted to see the menu: the options were pizza and/or pizza. All other dishes were mentioned on the menu as "sold out". Breakfast was crowded, an the room at the end very noisy.
i will try to book timely next year...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback and thanks for taking your time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you have not liked staying with us during Buchmesse.

The issue you have pointed out with the limited dinner has been commented earlier on already. Holiday Inn Express hotels usually do not offer any food except our breakfast, however, we were able to offer a limited snack menu. However, our food provider stopped the production of the articles we used to sell very short term and could not offer any alternatives.
For the moment, we are looking for alternatives to offer you.

Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you to Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Best regards,
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights. Too long! Hotel does what it should, but no creature comforts - no comfy arm chairs or sofas to relax in either in room or lobby/lounge. Continental breakfast only, no food worth writing about in evening. Very basic, on the fringes of Frankfurt in a semi-industrial area. minimum of 10euros for cab to city centre. I'd stay for a night, possibly 2, but never more in one stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tom E,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments have all been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Due to the name Messe, I initially thought that this hotel was very close to the exhibition center, however I was wrong, as this is quiet far away, I mean it would be close if you draw a direct line, but unfortunately there was no easy way to get there, either you have to wait for the bus to arrive(every 10-15mins) which goes all around and gets to the main train station, from there you can take the tram, this process take around 30-45mins. Or can walk 1km to the nearest tram and then take the tram, or the one we took most often during our 5 day stay was the taxi, as we were too tired of walking around each day at the exhibition.

As for the positives, it's very clean and modern, the receptionist was helpful, but most of the time she was along in a fully booked hotel which meant that you need to stay in line for some time to talk to her.

Other downsides are that it's located in a industrial area that seems to have some places already run down, so there is noting to do right outside of the hotel, and there are no convenient stores that are close by either.

Breakfast was alright in European standards, but it was the same thing all 5 days we stayed there, so on the last day we actually didn't bother even eating anything as we were for fed up of it. And coming from Asia with a non-red meat diet meant that it was bread and butter meal for us.

All in all I wouldn't stay here again.



Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Hiran K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found our hotel to be clean and modern as well as our staff to be helpful. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I understand that accessibility to certain places is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for one night September 2012. As I don't really like "Commercial" hotels, I only booked this place due to the availabilty of a room and the fact that compared with other hotel's in the area this was reasonably priced. Reception was good and efficient. Our room was a reasonable size but a bit tired. There was an unpleasant stain on the carpet, the old style TV remote was broken, as was the bin in the bathroom. Bar was OK but lacking any sort of style. Breakfast was quite good and plentiful. All the staff seemed friendly enough.Kind of place you forget once you have checked out, and walked out of the door. Does the job nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Anita37,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased that you have mentioned our good and efficient staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service. It is the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you,that would enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Took quite a while for the shuttle to pick me up from Airport. Over an hour's wait. The shuttle bus is quite small (8 seater) and picks up from both T1 and T2.
Going back in the morning I booked, as advised by the Staff. It only runs from 6am to 23:00 so it does not cover all flights. Cost 5 euros. I think a taxi costs about 20 euros each way for the trip. The trip between Airport and Hotel is about 20 mins so the Hotel is not that close to airport

Got to hotel at 09:30 and there was no food available, but staff did point me in the direction of some food places which were only a 10 min walk away.

Room was OK, but it was clean. Free Wifi was available, but desk in room was very small and cramped.

Breakfast was ok, but limited in real choice.

Lifts were very slow to respond.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review.
You might have stayed at a different hotel, as the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Messe does not operate a shuttle bus to and from the airport. Most probably the Holiday Inn Express Franklfurt Airport?

Good times from Frankfurt
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is not exactly in the middle of nowhere but if you're hungry, eat before you get to the hotel as there are no restaurants within close proximity. The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable although there's a sticker on the window that recommends that the windows not be opened to keep insects out of the room. I saw wasps hovering outside so I guess there might be problem in the summer. The shower is a bit of a problem if you leave the water on. Our 8 year old nearly flooded the bathroom during his shower- the design of the shower makes it easy to do. The bathroom door doubles as a door to the commode which was an interesting design. As for eating, the breakfast is a nice, typically German buffet. The food was freshly prepared and was delicious. The breakfast is included which was a nice change on this trip! Dinner is another story. If you don't have a car your options are to walk back to the train station area (about a mile or so) or order in. We ordered in some sushi and ate it in the lobby and watched the Olympics. The bar is standard, they have a couple of taps of beer and a selection of wine. The staff are very nice. The man at the desk ordered our sushi for us which was very helpful. all in all, a decent place to stay but not for people on foot. (or more correctly, people who have been walking all over the city and then get to the hotel!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your nice review, which we very much appreciated to read.

The river Main is close to the hotel - and flies, bees and mosquitos love water, so in particular in Summer they might be around. However, you still may open the windows, just make sure your room is not brightly illuminated.

With regards to transportation, there is bus line 37 passing the hotel frequently. This bus gets you to Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof, the central train station in about 7 minutes. Walking into the city might indeed be a bit to long.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Frankfurt again!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Address: Gutleutstrasse 296, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 263 hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Messe! The hotel offers 175 comfortable and well-equipped rooms on 5 floors, including 2 rooms suitable for disabled guests and also smoking and non-smoking rooms. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, free WIFI connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Start your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet! The hotel also offers 2 modern conference rooms with natural light, air conditioning and internet access and offers numerous conference materials for successful meetings for up to 60 people. The hotel is near the central railway station, the Festival Hall and the 'Messe Frankfurt' exhibition grounds (Euromold, Heimtextil, Paperworld, Ambiente, Buchmesse, ISH, ACHEMA, IAA, etc.) Frankfurt s Westhafen and Gallusviertel/Galluspark business quarters are in the direct vicinity of the hotel and the Hoechst Industrial Park and Eschborn can be easily reached by car. With easy connections to the A5 motorway and the city centre, the hotel is an ideal location for your overnight stays, conferences and meetings. You can enjoy live football matches of Eintracht Frankfurt and also concerts at the Commerzbank Arena. You can book tickets for the Rhein-Main transport authority and also tours directly at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.