We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QGREEN HOTEL TO BE AVOIDED” 2 of 5 stars
Review of QGREENHOTEL by Melia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added QGREENHOTEL by Melia to your Saves list
QGREENHOTEL by Melia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katharinenkreisel (Opelrondell), 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly The QUBE Frankfurt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
New York NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“QGREEN HOTEL TO BE AVOIDED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times because it is convenient walking distance to the Frankfurt Messe and the rooms are clean and comfortable. But this year the staff was almost uniformly surly. I'll never stay there again but they will not care. Most decent hotels want to show that they value your business. This one doesn't. They tried to charge me and my colleague another 20 euros on top of the large prepaid bill for an early (11am) check in, even though the rooms were ready. Used face cloths (scratchy, like all towels) were left wet in the tub, not removed and not replaced. I was regularly logged off wifi 2-3 hours after signing on. One morning at breakfast I asked for a coffee pot and instead of bringing me one, the attendant jerked his thumb to the table next to me, indicating that I should get it myself. The hotel's location to the trade center no doubt assures them of continuing business, but a discerning traveler who values being treated with some respect would do well to explore alternative accommodations.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter. Otherwise, aside from suites, the rooms are identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anja_ratz, Quality Manager at QGREENHOTEL by Melia, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Debbie,

We would like to thank you for your stay during Frankfurt Book Fair and also want to point out that we are very grateful for the many, many times you visited our hotel in the past.. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you obviously had to go through this time, this is not the kind of stay our guests should have. Especially disconcerting are the comments about staff´s behavior: Being a regular guest, you should not pay for an early check in. This must have been a mistake and there is no excuse for it.
Breakfast service during Book Fair seemed to be very quiet and organized. It is obvious that it was not and we regret that we fell short in this matter.
The position to the fair is very important for the hotel and the business that goes along with it, too. But even if Frankfurt´s Fair area is big and important, there isn´t a sole hotel which can survive only with that business. You can be sure that we care about our guests and we would be very glad to be able to welcome you again with us.

Kind regards from your team at QGREENHOTEL by Meliá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
5
14
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Excellent service, perfect location with good transport opt. & incredibly friendly & helpful staff on reception & rest., made me feel at home, rarely does one find people with care and service....Good Internet Service and WiFi Access

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anja_ratz, HR & Quality Manager at QGREENHOTEL by Melia, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Krkapadia,

first of all we would like to thank you for your stay at our hotel and that you have taken your time to state some comments about it.
We are very satisfied about your kind and very positive comments about location, accessibility and service. Most pleasant are the remarks about the friendliness of our staff which is the most important evaluation for us.
We would be pleased to welcome you again at our hotel!

Kind regards from your staff at QGREENHOTEL by Meliá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

There was a theft in 8 most premium rooms of the hotel. This hotel does not have any surveillance camera on the floors. Any random person can enter to the hotel and can visit any floor of the hotel. The most pathetic hotel I have ever come across all my international trip across the globe in terms of safety. Think at least twice before selecting this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the premium floor are decent. None of the Air conditioners in the hotel works. Has a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne F, Manager at QGREENHOTEL by Melia, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Nirav0786!

First of all we want to thank you for chosen our hotel for your stay at Frankfurt and we want apologize for any inconvenience you had experience with us.

We want to inform you that a video surveillance for the floors and/or public area of a hotel does not belong to the standard for European hotels. Additional to that we are not required to install a video surveillance on the contrary we are required to make it visibly displayed for all guests in order to protect the privacy.

Especially our premium rooms offer our guests free use of a private in-room safes that can be easily used by the guest. For the standard rooms we offer our guests the opportunity to use the safe at the front desk. With this service we offer our guests a good security for the valuables.

Kind regards from your team at QGREENHOTEL by Meliá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights middle of July. When we arrived the receptionist couldn't find my reservation. I use booking.com for hotel reservations for around 5 years now this was the first time that I had to show my reservation at the reception. After showing to the receptionist my reservation she still couldn't find it. 10 minutes passed with the receptionist searching and then I didn't understand what happened exactly but finally she gave us a card to our room.
The room was decent not anything special but ok. The internet connection is a joke. At the reservation it was stated that wireless internet is available at all areas and is free of charge. The signal was bad and when I could get a signal I had to buy a voucher which offered me 50 free MB with the downloading speed of 256 MBps. Which business hotel offers at 2014 downloading speed 256 MBps? I didn't know this speed still exists. so even if you can connect you just can read e-mails and that was it. Streaming websites, music , video, just forget it. But even basic things like trying to make web check in from my room I couldn't do it. It was trying to connect for 15 minutes then I gave up.
Although at the reservation it was stated that the room was air conditioned both nights the air conditioning was not working. I was sweating from the heat and couldn't sleep. The only option I had was to open the window and then all the noise from the busy street outside came inside so I couldn't sleep well both nights. This was a major problem for me and ruined my mood.
At the tiny minibar of the hotel room a bottle of water of 250 ml cost me 3.5 euro. With very much difficulty I could fit a bottle of water 1.5 liters inside the mini bar. Nothing else can fit in although the mini bar was very poorly equipped very few things inside.
So the 55 euro we gave per night for this room and with all these problems are way too much. I just give 2 points and not 1 because of the very friendly and helpful receptionists. The area is nice near the exhibition center and near a park. Very near the hotel at walking distance there is tram stop for tram 17 which takes you to Hauptbahnhof and city center.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front get a lot of noise inside because they face a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anja_ratz, HR & Quality Manager at QGREENHOTEL by Melia, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for your stay at our hotel and for the time you have taken to state your opinion about it. We regret a lot that you had so many problems during your stay and would like to apologize. Your comments are very important for us and show us that we still have a lot of work to do. Of course we want our guests having a pleasant time and finding their room in perfect conditions.
Thank you a lot for the good evaluation of our Front Desk staff that was very polite and helpful in all belongings.
We would be pleased to welcome you again in the future and are convinced that you will find many things changed.

Kind regards from your team of QGREENHOTEL by Meliá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel staff was good, we stayed on the 10th of july for 2 nights checkin was good and staff courteous. The bar didn't have milk for cappuccino. There is no room service at night which makes it difficult for late arrival customers, the internet was free but its only by vouchers of 50mb which u have to keep on asking every time.

The tram is very close to the hotel its number 17 u can take it from the main train station hopbanhoff.

When u book make sur u ask for a suite cause the standard room doesnt have a double bed which can be a frustrating surprise on arrival we had to pay extra 20€ to change from twin to double.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anja_ratz, HR & Quality Manager at QGREENHOTEL by Melia, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Younes E.,


First of all we want to thank you for your stay at our hotel and for the time you have taken to write some comments about it.
From your comments we deduce that, in spite of all the mentioned problems, you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and were satisfied with our staff and our service, both very important for us.
As a four star hotel we do not offer room service all night, but Front Office staff is able to prepare some drinks for the guests when bar is closed.
In large part, our rooms are equipped with twin beds. There are rooms with double beds, but usually they are not fittable for couples as they are better used as single beds. The supplement you paid is not for a double room but for a superior room situated at our premium floor and more extras for the guests.
Dear Younes E., thank you once again for your stay and for your comments. We would be pleased to welcome you again at our hotel soon.

Kind regards from your team at QGREENHOTEL by Meliá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Qgreeen Hotel is somewhere cheap and clean, where you can rest your head before a flight or after visiting Frankfurt. Its a good 15 minute tram ride into the centre but the tram stop is very near the hotel. At check in there was a long wait and no keys to the room, so a member of staff had to escort every guest to there room. There was also a very noisy party going on well into the early morning in one of their event rooms, that sounded like what I can only describe as a 'tribe of Apache Indians'! (I have no clue)
Good budget option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anja_ratz, HR & Quality Manager at QGREENHOTEL by Melia, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and for the time you have taken to write some comments about it. We honestly regret that you had so many problems during your stay with us and want to apologize for it. Room keys sometimes run short and lead to embarrassing situations because staff has to accompany the guests to the room. Concerning the noise, our conference rooms were not occupied for an evening or party event. Noise must have been produced in one of the guest rooms, which is still a problem as other guests feel disturbed by the situation.

We hope that, in spite of everything, you had a nice stay with us and would be pleased to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards from your team at QGREENHOTEL by Meliá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked last minute for 1 night to explore Frankfurt, got a really good cheap last minute deal for around 45euro for 2 adults and 1 child, got there, parked up and had to pay 20euro parking for the short period I was there which shocked me as usually being a hotel resident it's free parking. Husband ordered a beer and service was slow with 2 workmates chatting so we ended up walking away, coming back later and the receptionist ended up having to serve us at the bar as the barmaid seemed to have something more important to be doing, very disappointed with customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anja_ratz, HR & Quality Manager at QGREENHOTEL by Melia, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guests,

we want to thank you for your stay at our hotel and for the comments you made about it.
We understand that you are unhappy with the parking fees, but free resident parking is surely not possible in a business hotel and in a city like Frankfurt our parking fee still belongs to the lower rates.
Much more worrying are your comments about bar service. The lack of attendance is not acceptable and we would like to apologize for it. On the other hand, we are glad to count on multitasking staff which is able to help out whereever it is necessary.
Dear guests, we would be pleased to welcome you again to our hotel in the future and we are sure that we will be able to convince you with a better service.
Kind regards from your team of QGREENHOTEL by Meliá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QGREENHOTEL by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QGREENHOTEL by Melia

Address: Katharinenkreisel (Opelrondell), 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly The QUBE Frankfurt)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — QGREENHOTEL by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF ALL. From glittering skyscrapers to neo-Gothic architecture, chic and cosmopolitan Frankfurt has a magic all its own. Set in the heart of the West district, our Qube Frankfurt hotel puts you within minutes of a bustling metropolis and the largest financial center in Europe. Frankfurt Airport is a 10 mile drive, and the Leonardo-da-Vinci-Allee tram stop is steps from our Frankfurt, Germany, hotel near Messe Frankfurt - International Exhibition Centre.Whether traveling for business or leisure, you will enjoy the comfort of our sleek, modern rooms. Kick off your morning with a premium breakfast buffet. Break a sweat in our fitness center, then relax in our sauna. Plan your itinerary, or let our staff fill you in on the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your QGREENHOTEL by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Frankfurt
Sol Melia Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QGREENHOTEL by Melia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.