We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Frankfurt City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Frankfurt City Center to your Saves list
NH Frankfurt City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vilbeler Str. 2, D-60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly NH Frankfurt City) (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #70 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Modern and efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely,clean,comfortable rooms with contemporary decor.Every facility you could possibly need and the welcoming staff are very helpful.Wi if is only available in the lobby so you will need a laptop if you are on business.Good location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    288
    111
    46
    23
See reviews for
70
135
62
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good central hotel. Spanish chain. Modern lobby with free wifi. Rooms need updating. On first day (I stayed 3 nights) room was superbly cleaned. Thereafter not really. Sauna area excellent. Gym equipment fit for a museum. Very helpful reception staff. Food overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This review is based in twelve, one week visits over fourteen months from late 2011 to January 2013.
Firstly, the only reason this establishment gets as far as three stars is due to the exceptional staff. Without exception, the welcome is warm and friendly, professional and courteous. Of special note are the bar / restaurant staff who will make you very welcome, though please note that the drinks are ludicrously expensive and the menu somewhat limited in scope. The quality of the food is OK, but that's about as far as it goes.
Over the 14 months or so I stayed on just about every floor in the hotel using standard and "superior" rooms, though I would point out here that the word superior seems to have a different meaning in German, at least as far as the NH goes. The rooms are quite basic. TVs are all CRT type and the remote controls often don't work. Tea / coffee can be a bit hit and miss so make sure reception know what you want in your room.
As you exit the lift and travel to your room you'll notice that where the carpet still has thread on it the stains stand out. I have named many of them after the countries they resemble; floor 5 has Australia not far from the lift exit and a bright green "India" just outside one of the rooms. And the room decor is fading as fast as the carpets. Many of the bathrooms have black mould stains in the tile grout and on more than one occasion the shower head has flopped about so helplessly that flooding is inevitable.
As far as value is concerned, as long as your stay doesn't coincide with one of the many fairs the city hosts, you'll get four nights for about €600 which isn't bad for a city centre. The hotel is within easy walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants and bars. Frankfurt is quite a nice place really. But if your visit coincides with the annual book fair, for example, the room rates spiral to over €300 per night. You might consider spending less on a hotel further out from the city centre and using the excellent train service to commute in. You'll get more for your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Only stayed here one night with my parents. I found it comfortable, with a decent location - near shops and restaurants. There was also free wifi, albeit only in the lobby, which I was grateful for. There was free Internet connection via LAN cable in our rooms but as I had an iPad and no laptop, a LAN connection was rather useless. That needs to be improved, but otherwise I had no particular complaints about the place. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and check-in and check-out all went by smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 3 times, and I'm afraid this time we were disappointed. On arrival, they did not have the double room we had booked. We had to accept a room that had been made up for one person and they said they would bring extra bedding, etc. We went out for a meal and on our return, an extra pillow and duvet had been brought but nothing else. I had to phone for towels and toiletries for 2 people. I then wanted to make a cup of coffee as there was a kettle and a couple of sachets, and discovered there were no cups at all, not even for one person! When the guy arrived with the towels, I told him and he fetched us some mugs.
The next day we were out most of the day, and on returning to our room, there were only toiletries for one person and one cup/mug. The person cleaning the room obviously hadn't been informed there were 2 people in the room. I didn't bother phoning housekeeping as felt I had better things to do than keep phoning to complain.
On checking out, I told the girl at reception we had been disappointed, and she said it would be noted. I was actually pretty annoyed, as if you book a double room and pay for it in advance, you expect to get one. If they had overbooked, then they should have offered us an upgrade.
Also, on check -in the guy said he was giving us a room with a nice view- well, it was not nice- window looked onto the main street and there appeared to be roadworks/work on the pavements opposite-not what I would term a nice view!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you booked! Get a room with a view onto the side street as they are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent two nights. For the cost of most HGI, you get more service, and easily as clean and appointed hotel in a great location. Public parking garage across the street. Only 40 euro ride to airport. Staff all speak English and are very helpful. Good exercise room and spa. Breakfast is expensive but there is whatever you want available from all over the world. They should Install curved bars on shower curtain, and wireless in room(they use wired Internet in rooms, but its fast)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My partner and I spent here 2 nights in March 2012 but would have had the chance to stay more...our double room was lovely, big and fully equipped with everything from tea kettle to hairdryer. Comfortable bed, nice view from the window wall and bathroom was a room itself..
Breakfast was not included and too expensive for our budget, 24 Euro each at the time so we didn't try it, but I'm sure we could have found anything we could think about.
The centre of the city is very close, and it's 5 min. walking distance from the railway station where you have all connection for underground and to the airport.
The only con was Wifi, quite strange for such hotel: it wasn't available in our room (6th floor) we could surf only from the groundfloor near the reception. There were also 2 computers available free for guests for half an hour.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Frankfurt City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Frankfurt City Center

Address: Vilbeler Str. 2, D-60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly NH Frankfurt City)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#36 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Frankfurt City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Frankfurt City Center is ideally located in the center of Frankfurt/Main, the perfect starting point for shopping on the "Zeil", which is just two minutes away by foot, and to visit Frankfurt's historical sites, such as themedieval "Romer" landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Frankfurt City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Frankfurt City Hotel Frankfurt
Nh Hotel Frankfurt
Nh Hotels Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Frankfurt City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.