We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schaefergasse 31, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #93 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed in this Best Western Hotel Scala for one night with my friends. It is a nice hotel with very cosy and comfortable rooms. The location is simply great. In a quite area but very close to the main shopping street - Zeil.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    93
    46
    7
    12
See reviews for
20
60
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Simply put the best thing about Scala is its Location by transportation and walking distance from the Ziel Shopping Center. It lacks amenities such as a gym or room service. The WiFi was not steady and we kept having to get new passwords for it from the front desk. We weren't told there was a charge for breakfast so some days we only took an apple from the breakfast bar and got charged 20 euro. This was my first time in Frankfurt so I had to adjust to everything being smaller (the bathroom was kid sized, the tub especially was very tight) and in addition you get charged for things that are usually free such as shopping bags, the bathroom in the train station or extra ketchup at McDonalds. Scala is clean and its staff polite but at the end of the day you are getting what you pay for. Watch out for charges that aren't readily disclosed and ask before presuming things are free. I got an unexpected giant bill at checkout.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLOT, Catalonia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a basic hotel, very close to Zeil shopping area and to plenty of restaurants. Prices are very reasonable even in Fair days, which is not usual in Frankfurt. Underground station of konstablerwache is at walking distance with direct connections to Frankfurt Messe, which you can reach in 10 minutes. Rooms are small but reasonably clean. Breakfast is very standard. The main problem, specially for business travelers is that WIFI is not working properly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For the price, I was expecting a bit more comfort. The beds were singles, the tub a half-size tub, there is no mirror over the vanity, and limited other conveniences. More importantly, there is a bar outside or across the street, but it actually sounds as if they are right outside - as there is nothing in the windows to muffle the noise. The hotel should double pane these windows, or at least add a sound barrier behind the curtain to cushion the noise from the night life that goes on until 4 in the morning. I pre-paid $14 Euros for breakfast which was a crappy buffet, and as I was in a rush, couldn't even get a decent cappucino to go as there is no one working from the hotel to order anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not over the street, or is quiet. Don't prepay the breakfast. Bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would normally take it for granted when my hotel stay is good. Especially for most time, the hotel is just booked for me to crash in after a long day out sightseeing and stuff so not much to comment most of the time.

So this is a very special review that I actually bother to write on my Hotel stay experience. Actually, the greatest fear that I am having now is that I may be letting a best-kept secret out that might just jeopardized my future great experience with this hotel should it's popularity surges further.

Nice comfy Bed - checked
Clean and New Facility - checked
Friendly Reception and Speedy Check-in - checked
Excellent Location to Shopping/Grocery/Convenient Store - checked
Proximity to Train Station - checked (4 S-Bahn Stops away, S-Bahn Station - nice 5mins walk)
Free wifi in Room - checked

Breakfast may be a little on the high side but good alternative on Sunday or Public Holidays when most of the shops around are closed. Unless you consider MacDonald's as your reasonable morning pick-me-up! (Mac's coffee is getting pretty bad in Frankfurt!)

However, I do have a little gripe about their small shower enclosure that is a little tight even for a small asian built like mine. Not forgetting to mention the inconspicuously fixed metallic door-stopper that was badly positioned right in front of the wardrobe, which I had inadvertently snubbed my big toe on it a few times!

Otherwise, a splendid stay overall for couple or single only!

Price wise, do check their website for the best deal especially for the weekends that is without any trade fairs or conferences.

Yes, this shall be my crashing pad in my next trip to Frankfurt, again!

Thanks Scala for the 1st Best Western Experience!

Room Tip: Do ensure your windows are closed properly as the hotel housekeeper has the habit of leaving it ajar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good place to stay during messe, comfort floors are well decorated, clean, good breakfast, central to everything, will choose again when going to messe, the tube is just few steps away, kebap is just across the street, they serve fab food there, very good when hungry after some fun 4am in the morning. Well done good place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to the Frankfurt Christmas market and stayed at this hotel for the first time. The room was ok for the weekend. It was clean and warm. I did not like that the room had two beds, one big enough for one person but too small for two people and another single small bed. However, it was clean and quiet (third floor at the back) so we could sleep well. The room had a minibar but did not have a tea/coffee maker. The bathroom was very small but acceptable. A big plus was the free wifi. We did not have breakfast as there is enough places to have breakfast outside. The location was perfect. It is very easy to get there from the airport. We took a taxi (€30) but the train is also very handy and much cheaper (getting the S8 or S9 and exit at Konstablerwache, then 50 mts walk). The hotel is located just beside the shopping area and 20 minutes walk from the Sachsenhausen (pubs area), 10 minutes walk to the Fressgasse. The hotel has no bar or restaurant but there were plenty of places around to eat or drink. Staff (day and night) were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala

Address: Schaefergasse 31, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unser 3 *** Best Western Hotel Scala liegt im Zentrum von Frankfurt am Main, wenige Schritte von der berühmten Einkaufsmeile "Zeil" und allen Geschäftsadressen sowie Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt entfernt. Hierzu zählen der Römer, der Dom, die Paulskirche, die Alte Oper, die Museumsufermeile oder das Geburtshaus von Johann- Wolfgang von Goethe. Das Best Western Hotel Scala bietet 40 moderne Zimmer der Standard- und Komfortkategorie. Alle verfügen über Verdunklungsmöglichkeiten, gratis W-Lan Internetzugang, Telefon, Schreibtisch, Sitzgelegenheit, Kabel-TV, Radio sowie Kosmetikspiegel und Haartrockner im Bad. Die Badezimmer sind mit Dusche oder Badewanne ausgestattet.Auf unseren Komfortetagen erwartet Sie ein Allergiker- freundliches Nichtraucherzimmer mit Flachbild- TV, Safe und eine kleine Wohlfühlüberraschung. Erhöhte Bettauflagen bieten angenehmen Schlafkomfort. Hier können Sie sich traumhaft fallen lassen.Mit unserem frischen, gesunden und vielfältigen Frühstücksbuffet mit kalten und warmen Speisen sorgen wir für ihren perfekten Start in den Tag!Nur wenige Meter vom Hotel entfernt, befindet sich die Konstablerwache. Von hier aus hat man Anschluss an alle S- Bahnen, U-Bahnen und Busse. Schräg gegenüber liegt auch ein öffentliches Parkhaus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Scala
Best Western Frankfurt
Frankfurt Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.