We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise After a Long Flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside

Save Saved
You added Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Strasse 5-9, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise After a Long Flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is my first visit to Frankfurt and selected at random the hotel which I thought would be a reasonable place at which to stay. This time my choice was excellent. I selected Flemings Deluxe Hotel in the Main-Riverside area. I chose this location because of it's proximity to the river, the museums, and other historic facilities.

When I read the information about the hotel I was concerned because most of the hotel guidelines indicate that guests are able to check in at the designated check in time. In this case, the Flemings check in time is 2 PM, which is an hour earlier than at most hotels. This was important to us because our plane got in at 5:30 AM and we would have been traveling for over 14 hours. The idea of an earlier check-in was so strong interest because the thought of a bed for a couple of hours rest was most appealing. Fortunately, when we arrived at the hotel desk clerk indicated that our room was available at that moment. The "travel gods" we're good to me!

Our room was clean and comfortable. As with many European hotels the size of the room pales in comparison to those we are used to in the US. However, for this trip it was quite sufficient for us. The bathroom design leaves a little bit to be desired because, although new can design, the shower is actually exposed to the entire room. This would be difficult for some people to handle especially if roommates were staying at the hotel rather than a married couple or single person.

The hotel is located a few blocks from the trolley system which takes you to the main train station. We found this very helpful traveling back and forth. Frankfurt, as well as many other European cities, is no place to drive an automobile. Parking is very limited and driving is like being at an amusement park.

The hotel dining room is wonderful. We had a breakfast included for both of the days we were at the hotel. The entire staff was most accommodating and the trip breakfast was a complete breakfast with just about anything one could desire. Since the hotel is located on the river, it is in an excellent location for those who would wish to go for a walk or run in the morning. This is much better than trying to do so on the downtown city street.

The areas which I believe need improvement include the Internet service, which I found to be deplorable. But the staff is most accommodating and they will do anything to make your stay most pleasurable. I truly get the staff at this location and A+, something I rarely give at many hotels.

The bottom line is answered by the question would I stay here again. The answer is a definite yes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear TravelinMan760,

wow, what a great feedback! Thank you very much!
We´re more than happy, that you liked our Fleming´s style and that you enyojed your stay with us!

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel in Francfort soon.

All the best,
Sylvain Le Quernec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    81
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
13
33
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is not near the Messe-Frankfurt, requiring connecting tram rides to get there. It might be a nice location in the warm months because of its proximity to the river, but I wished I had made another choice for my February stay. The room was clean and modern, but small. The bed was very comfortable. The shower is a glass enclosed box across from the bed rather than in a separate bathroom, which was weird, but there was lots of hot water.

I won't return to this hotel because I need to use the Internet for work and the WiFi worked poorly. It required use of hotel assigned names and pass codes which had to be re-entered every time the WiFi quit which happened very frequently

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear K56,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.

I was very sorry to read about the Wifi. The Wifi network is completly free of charge and has an 10 hour usage time. Most of the time this is enough for 3-4 days. Just make sure to log yourself out.

We are always trying to do our best to make all our guests satisfied and we really hope to welcome you back soon!

Yours sincerely
Sylvain Le Quernec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The reception of this hotel is very small, but the staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are also small with a glass shower cabin inside the room, which does not matter if you travel alone. Breakfast room is understaffed during full occupancy, and since the hotel is rather far away from the Messe (means taxis!), I would not recommend it for any travel relating to attending fairs there. Other than that the service was good and the room clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Michel and Sebnem,

thank you very much for your feedback here on tripadvisor .

We´re more than happy, that you liked our Fleming´s Hotel and our staff. We will pass this laud to our staff members... this is always the best motivation!

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our Fleming´s hotel soon.

Yours sincerely
Sylvain Le Quernec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We got stuck in this newly refurbished hotel, as yet another Frankfurt fair had made availabilities in Frankfurt difficult. We wanted to check in early and a "computer-says-no" receptionist didnt want to let us go upstairs in our rooms - although they were ready. Instead, they "offered" us to pay an "early-arrival price" on top of our already paid rooms...

The rooms were ok, but definitely NOT five star. Neither was the service, breakfast, lobby, etc. Although people were generally friendly, it felt like the interior of a newly built McDonalds.

The location of the Hotel is awful: right on one of Frankfurt's busiest streets, with city brothels near-by and a constant need to use Taxis. Not recommended.

Room Tip: none at all. if you need to stay, choose backwards-looking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

bedauerlicherweise hat Ihnen die Lage unseres Hotels nicht zugesagt.
Viele unserer Gäste schätzen die direkte Lage am Main und die unmittelbare Verkehrsanbindung an S- und Straßenbahn.

Wir bedauern sehr, dass unser Hotel vom Design her nicht Ihrer Erwartung entsprochen hat.

Bitte verzeihen Sie die Nachlässigkeit unserer Mitarbeiter beim Einchecken. Wir werden die Kollegen bitten verstärkter auf persönlichen Service und einheitliches Pricing zu achten.

Viele Grüße aus Frankfurt
Ihr Fleming's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was great, although it was a bit of a surprise to see the glass shower in the middle of the room - no privacy there! Great location to the main shopping district and tourist attractions. The rooftop restaurant had a great view of the city and the cocktails and dinner were both very good. Would definitely stay again given the convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Krystin,

We appreciate your wonderful assessment and yours thereby mentioned positive feedback on our staff.

Thank you very much for your emphasis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Flemings on Main for a week recently and had a great experience. I find Frankfurt hotels to be extremely expensive due to business travellers and conventions but if you're lucky enough to find this Fleming's off peak at a reasonable price (175-200E) then its definitely worth the stay. Don't judge the hotel by the lobby which is extremely small, basically a check in counter and small computer desk/terminal for guests. The reception clerks were all smiles, full of information and extremely helpful. There is a small lounge adjacent to the reception area which is inviting...2 small sitting arrangements facing each other and an in-wall fireplace that was always blazing during our stay.
Our room was considered a comfort room, so on the lower end of the price range. The rooms have recently been refurbished and extremely comfortable. The room was cleaned thoroughly each day and on several occasions a housekeeping manager knocked to ask if we were satisfied. The clear glass shower in the center of the room is quite unusual...it didn't bother us at all; more a talking piece than anything else!
Breakfast was included in our stay and we were completely satisfied with the variety of cold and cooked to order choices. We had our small dog with us so sat in the bar area each morning rather than the dining room, and the staff were extremely accommodating. In the evenings the dining room is lit with candles, white table cloths and low lighting...very inviting but our small dog wasn't allowed so we weren't able to enjoy a meal there.
The hotel is a bit off the beaten path....the financial district is an easy 20 minute walk, if the weather is good, and if not, cabs are always available. The hotel is a half block away from the river Main so is perfectly situated for a stroll.
I very stupidly left my phone charger in the wall socket when we left and called the next day to see if it had been turned in. The front desk was busy at the time but actually called me back to say they had found the charger, labelled it and a family friend was able to pick it up a week later without a problem. Kudos to the staff!! We have stayed at several different Frankfurt hotels within the past year and at this point the Fleming's Main is my first choice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to read, how satisfied you have been with our staff and our hotel in total.

We are forwarding that you enjoyed your accommodation and stay in our hotel in Frankfurt.

Thank you very much for your delightful und thorough evaluation!

Sincerely yours – Fleming’s Deluxe Main Riverside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business for 2 nights. I had stayed previously at this hotel 2 years ago and since that stay the hotel has been refurbed. The rooms have a luxury feel with a glass shower enclures in the main bedroom, 42 inch tv and nice fittings. The breakfast selection is excellent. The staff are very helpful always friendly they organised taxis for me and the rest if my party. The bar staff and staff on at breakfast kept your drinks topped up. You get a voucher for a free glass of prosecco from the bar aswell. Location was good 15 mins in a taxi from the centre and a 10 min walk to the train. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Lauren,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to communicate your impressions in our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear, that you have been so satisfied with the staff, room equipment and breakfast selection.

Our whole team is looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside

Address: Lange Strasse 5-9, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt-City)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#29 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#34 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Frankfurt Main-Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.