We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Greek Welcome in the Heart of Frankfurt!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ariston

Ariston
Heiligkreuzgasse 29, Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
069/92 03 99 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,780 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Warm Greek Welcome in the Heart of Frankfurt!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A work opportunity brought us to Frankfurt and our accommodation is nearby, so we were drawn to this place for no other reason; a few vague mentions from other people back home who had also visited this city too. Initially, we simply craved a late-night beer after work, which came accompanied by small nibbles and then on asking, a platter of cold meats etc to go with our beers and white wines. They knew what they were doing; now we're hooked! We have all tried the lunch special which is 11.50 for three courses. Great value and freshly cooked. Portions not too big but all reported feeling full! The weakest point if at all is the dessert menu. I have had two different desserts and neither are on a par with anything I've had in Greece. I think their best is profiteroles and they had run out by the time we arrived for a late lunch. The evening menu is splendid and got the thumbs up from a visitor with a passion for fine dining who is normally hard to please! The staff are all really friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Lovely decor inside; very high standard that makes you feel special even before you've ordered! They never rush you even if it's late. Dedicated service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    37
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and high standard of service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We are staying in apartments above this restaurant and work late into the evening. They are really happy to have us come to drink after work and have also put together a lovely meze of cold snacks when we've arrived hungry. Other diners look very content and the food served looks fresh and appetising.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I discovered this hidden gem by chance and I am so glad I did! The atmosphere is really nice. Our waiter was very attentive, he made sure that nothing was missing: he brought us nice bread and dips while we waited for our food and always kept our glasses at the right level.
The starters were fantastic and the main dish (grilled mixed fish) was just excellent: fresh fish and crunchy grilled vegetables. We ordered a bottle of white wine and it was exactly how it should be: ice cold, which is something that unfortunately you do not find in Frankfurt too often. I definitely recommend the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the restaurant a number of times. I typically do not go to Greek restaurants outside Greece, but this one, i would comfortably suggest. It offers a modernised version of the traditional Greek food, with an international twist.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fantastic restaurant serving modern Greek food. Centrally located but quiet. Service excellent, prices fair, ambience great and the food was fabulous! Could not decide what to order as we wanted everything.. We have already made a date to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariston also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.