We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Except the cakes, local for turists!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Liebfrauenberg

Cafe Liebfrauenberg
24 Liebfrauenberg | Altstadt n i c h t Bahnhofsviertel, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Altstadt)
+49 (0) 69 / 287380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #913 of 1,770 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Milano
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Except the cakes, local for turists!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

6 pm, looking for a place to have dinner. I found this cafeteria and asked for dinner.
They said it was ok but just then, asked me to order quickly and pay in advance..... ?????

Having a look at the menu, I'm sure German breakfast and cakes or cafeteria should be good but - plase - avoid to have lunch or dinner here (except if you like standard internatioal food).

The staff was quite nice but the owner a little bit booring, not understanding if clients wants to speak or not and trying to sell me his book!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north east scotland
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
“Popular spot with the locals for coffee and cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had just completed the 4 hour walking tour around Frankfurt on a cold December Saturday. Hungry and in need of some comfort food we followed a stream of folk through the front door of the Cafe Liebfrauenberg. It was buzzing and we were lucky to find a table.

we enjoyed soup and a massive wedge of apple cake with cream - it was all good at about 15 euroes each -

there are lots of cafes in central Frankfurt , this one wont disappoint

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Quiet Sunday breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

German Sunday brunches don't start until 12:00 - that was too late for us so our concierge recommended this place - just a short walk from our hotel through quiet streets as the stores are all closed on Sundays. The breakfast menu was traditional, but there were several egg dish choices and my 3 eggs with mushrooms etc was very good, and the coffe and ambiance made this a very pleasant place for breakfast.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went into downtown Frankfurt on a stopover and had lunch here!
120 year old cafe was wonderful! Great food and excellent desserts!
Owner that served us was so so nice!
He really enjoys serving his guests and offers quality food and desserts at reasonable prices.
Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Looking for lunch...not attitude!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were enjoying a beautiful Sunday in Frankfurt and had just taken in the Museum Embankment Festival on the banks of the Main River. In an attempt to get away from the crowds of people and long food lines at vendors with the Festival, we ventured away from the river and came upon the inviting outdoor seating area for Cafe Liebfrauenberg. Relatively void of customers (two other tables occupied) in their sizable space, it was quiet and seemed perfect for a light lunch after we looked at their posted menu. So we sat ourselves with a nod from the waiter/owner who brought menus. Then we waited...and waited...and waited...and waited! When we finally asked if he could take our order, he displayed an attitude which at best could be described as arrogant. We asked for two glasses of a French wine which he promptly convinced us was not as good as his German wine. It was terribly sweet and not at all to our liking. When our sandwiches finally arrived at what seemed like an extraordinary length of time, they were actually quite tasty. But then it also took forever to receive our bill once requested. Needless-to-say, we did not feel compelled to leave a tip...and will never return when next in Frankfurt.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Liebfrauenberg also viewed

 
 

Been to Cafe Liebfrauenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Liebfrauenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.