We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Kitchen

Spice Kitchen
Zeil Pavilion | Zeil 92, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)
069 21 65 56 65
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #687 of 1,785 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“try it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I thought it was decent food for a reasonable price. Food is basically Thai/oriental. I guess I might just have tried another decent Thai rest. that is close by - but you won't go wrong with this one - nice atmosphere

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Food ok, drinks a little more expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This restaurant is located on the "Zeil", the main shopping street in Frankfurt. The building itself is made out of glass window parts which in the summer can be opened. It in addition has many seats outside. However in winter/autumn it can be cold inside if you are sitting directly at the windows as the air is circulating from there.

When ordering food be ready to receive it right away. This leads to the only conclusion that they just heat up big pots of spiced rice with vegetables. They will then just add the meat/shrimps you have selected. It is not bad but also not that overwhelming. Still at a price of around 8-9 Euros per person the plate is very full. So in general the food is ok but could be better. Still I have seen much worse.

Drinks were around 5 Euros like a glass of wine or beer. A shot of Tequilla was 4,50.One anoying fact was that around 10pm they started to put away all things in the restaurant they did not need anymore. They close at 11:30pm. So for me it was a little bit uncomfortable to sit around while they guys start to put all things away. The waiters were all polite by the way.

So if you just want some drinks, this is the place to go I guess. At least if you want to stay on main street. For food maybe select something else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“Expensive by US standards but OK for Europe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spice Kitchen is one of the many restaurants and cafeterias in the area between the Hauptwache and the Konstablerwache. This is rather a cafeteria, standing right in the middle of the main pedestrian street, less than two blocks from the Konstablerwache train and underground hub and also a couple of blocks from Best Western Scala in Frankfurt, for which I posted a review right here, in Trip Advisor.

They have a take out service and those who have only one dish for six or seven Euros standing at the window on the pedestrian street will find it very cheap… But NOT if you eat inside!

I had lunch there on Sunday June 24, 2012 between 4:30 and 5:30 pm because they serve non stop from 10 am till midnight. I tried to eat inside, in an AC room, but there were some Troglodytes screaming like Tarzan calling Chita in the middle of the jungle, so I went outside, where they have several smoking tables on this very large pedestrian street.

Unlike many restaurants in Europe, they didn’t have any set menu for lunch and I had to eat “à la carte”. Maybe they do offer it from Monday to Friday, as they often do in most places, but this was Sunday and virtually no restaurant offers a set menu during the weekend, with a couple of exceptions like the Indian restaurant in Vienna, Austria, where I had an honorable set menu buffet lunch on Sunday May 20, 2012 for only 8 Euros plus drink, and for which I also posted a review in Trip Advisor.

My lunch was rather simple. I only had a good Chicken Fried rice at 7.80 € and a very good dessert called Nuts Marlenka at 3.40 €. Since their wines were too expensive, I had a Draft beer (0.30 cl.) for 3.30 € and a good espresso for 2.30 €

The total came to 16.80 € that I rounded up to 18 €, which converted roughly to $22.65 US. For half that price, you may have an unlimited buffet in a Chinese restaurant anywhere in Florida, but that’s what you should expect to pay in the old continent for a light two course lunch…; if you are lucky!

Food was OK and service was fast.

This Spice Kitchen is pricey by US standards, but rather average for Europe, especially England, Holland and Germany! Only Madrid is cheaper, as you will see by reading my reviews in Trip Advisor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice food and good outdoor location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

food was nice and for me they offer lot of vegetarian option. iwe ate twice there and it was good,
location is very good and they have outdoor sitting which is good for tourist.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fair prices for excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice restaurant with excellent quality asian food. Nice dishes, big portions and great taste¡¡

The service is the lowest point of this place...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Kitchen also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Spice Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.