We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frankfurt Zoo (Zoologischer Garten Frankfurt/Main)
Bernhard-Grzimek-Allee 1, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)
69 21233735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 117 Attractions in Frankfurt
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1858, this is one of the most important zoos in Europe, containing some 5,000 animals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NICE ZOO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The best was the tiger behind the glass wall. also the place where the giraffes were kept was amazing. just that the food options were not that great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    201
    82
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good City Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

By all standards as city zoos go this is a good one. Ticked all the variety of animal boxes , great layout and at at 10€ abit of a bargain.

The enclosures are a little small - particularly the giraffes which I don't like but as stated, this is a zoo in the city centre.

The aquarium is a great little addition and the night life section was a high light.

We visited early in January and felt a little like the cleaners were still on Christmas break. A bit grubby, but I'm sure it would be far better in season.

Great little zoo, very well priced, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

very good and reasonably-priced trip, with lots of different animals to see, i really enjoyed my trip. the only downside is that the cashier couldn't take my mastercard, even though everywhere they accept them and i had to borrow entrance fare from my friend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was quite a cold day, so about a 4th of the animals couldn't be seen, but we loved so much how the zoo was designed, that it was nice walking through.
I found the animals to be in very nicely designed environments which were closer to their natural habitat.
We thought it was a very 'zen' zoo, just because the grounds are so user-friendly for visitors and the animals seemed content there.
I'll definitely go back in summer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerton, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Small zoo in city center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

By world standards it was a little disappointing, The zoo is small and animals are confined accordingly. The rhino and giraffe exhibits were especially small. Regardless, they do the best they can with what they have and it is a gem in the city center that should be enjoyed and supported by the populous.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankfurt Zoo (Zoologischer Garten Frankfurt/Main) also viewed

 

Been to Frankfurt Zoo (Zoologischer Garten Frankfurt/Main)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankfurt Zoo (Zoologischer Garten Frankfurt/Main), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.