We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining, worth a stop if going to the Staedel art museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Film Museum (Deutsches Filmmuseum)

German Film Museum (Deutsches Filmmuseum)
Schaumainkai 41, 60596 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Sachsenhausen-Nord)
49 69 96 12 20 0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 295 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A museum dedicated to film history and technology. The museum also hosts film screenings.
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
132 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
“Entertaining, worth a stop if going to the Staedel art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

You wouldn't go to this museum all for itself, but if you are already in the area, it merits an hour.

Fist, a word about the area. Along the banks of the Main (pronounced MYN) river are several museums in a cluster, sort of like the Smithsonian but on a much more modest scale. The "big" museums are the History and the Staedel (Art, mostly old masters), but there are several others.

The Film Museum is in two parts. The first focuses on the history of mechanisms for recording and projecting still and motion pictures. The second includes film memorabilia; an amusing "green screen" that lets you put your live cam image into an alien landscape and watch yourself get eaten by a giant mantis, or undersea to pilot a submarine; and a very entertaining montage of famous movies.

Staff are pleasant and clearly enthused by the subject matter.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    58
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
115 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“The best film museum in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I am a film enthusiast and have made movies, and so wasn't expecting to be blown away, but this museum totally seduced me. Encyclopedic material is on display here, and this place teaches one more about the history of American cinema than any place in America can. If you want to learn about rotoscoping, you can learn it here. If you want to learn about the Lumiere Brothers, this is the place. It celebrates directors, genres and filmmaking techniques, I was entranced and spent most of an afternoon here, and felt cognitively saturated when I left. How such a museum evolved in Germany, and in Frankfurt of all places, is curious, but no doubt comprehensive curator work is on display here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“A pleasant mid-size museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I enjoyed my visit to the German Film Museum. However, who the museum might appeal to is important to point out here. While the title of the place is 'German', the emphasis is a bit more on American films. As for me, I expected to see more stuff by the early great German directors (such as Fritz Lang, Ernst Lubitsch, F.W. Murnau and G.W. Pabst) but there was very little--and the same could be said about later German films as well. So, if you are nuts about German films, you may come out a bit disappointed. Likewise, if you are a film nut like me, the museum might not be comprehensive enough to satisfy you. But, if you have modest expectations and accept the place for what it is, it is quite enjoyable--particularly the first floor exhibits on things that led to moving pictures. Worth your time, overall, but not a must-see museum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great film selection and events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've been to the film museum a number of times and even become a member earlier this year to support the work that they do. Mostly, I go for the films they show. The museum was just redone a couple of years ago, so the auditorium is in very good shape, with lovely red velvet seats. You can buy drinks at the bar upstairs to take into the auditorium, but there is no popcorn (they tell me it's because they don't want the seats and floors to get messed up). The selection of films the museum shows is varied and often amazing. I love that the movies are shown in the original language, even if that means I have to read subtitles sometimes. Last year, I saw three films in a Film Noir series, which were on original 16 mm film rolls. The scratches and funky sound just add to the experience. I've also got to see a Romanian comedy as part of an Eastern European film festival, for which the director came and did a Q&A after the movie, as well as a German film with preceding lecture and Q&A by the director. The last exhibition I saw was on Film Noir last year, and considering how little space the museum has to work with it was incredibly well done. Great layout in which the room was separated into little themed corners, great decor to match the subject matter and relevant materials. I will definitely go back and can wholeheartedly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing & average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After seeing the poster & reading reviews, we were really excited to visit this museum, however the exhibitions were very small being only two floors! The interactive sections were interesting though. We were hoping to spend a few hours there but unfortunately, we managed to see everything within about 30 mins! We were also not told about the temporary exhibitions so reached this floor to be told we hadn't paid for it so couldn't go any further... Overall, if you have a free 30 mins- maybe go and visit but don't get your hopes up for anything amazing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Film Museum (Deutsches Filmmuseum) also viewed

 

Been to German Film Museum (Deutsches Filmmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Film Museum (Deutsches Filmmuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.