We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for pre-flight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport

Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bessie-Coleman-Str. 11, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 261 Hotels in Frankfurt
Puget Sound, Washington
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Adequate for pre-flight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our German vacation in order to easily catch an early morning flight from Frankfurt. Staff, as others have said, were a little too "cool" for their own good, but the room was fine and the wi-fi worked well. Unfortunately, our final view of lovely Germany was of a huge construction site next door...try to get a room on the other side of the hotel, if possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    178
    53
    23
    14
See reviews for
75
80
75
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A fine "hip" hotel, small-scale rooms though absolutely comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast. Beware of fluctuating room prices, I have done well off season but paid more than double for the same room in high season. Staff could be less "hip" and more elegant/sophisticated, they have a great product.

Room Tip: Book early. Windows are a noise-proof design, with good darkening shutters and drapes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After an unhappy stay at Holiday Inn Express, and the irrepressible feeling of entrapment...with no Wifi, our second night we switched to Meininger Hotel,

We had a nice experience at this nearly new facility, with modern design, and payed little more than the Hostel price for 2 person private room...38.70Euros. Very comfortable beds, compact W/C & Wifi downstairs. Bar was a nice place to land after a long day, with Pizza & Beer . No free breakfast, but they do offer at 7.50E. Make sure you have your 3 E tokens for Returns to terminal shuttle, or it can delay the whole bus. Free Courtesy bus runs from Term 2 D/E, Door 8 and you can see the Hotel/Hostel across the highway. We like the decor, and soundproofing.

Only fault was there was a unfunctioning therostat, and though it would be OK, was cold by morning.

Room Tip: A corner room, away from highway very desirable with 2 window overlooking grassland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived at this hotel having booked a twin room to be told they did not have such a thing as twin,they were all doubles. We were served by an Asian man who most probably was new to Germany and very much full of his own importance. He was patronising and off hand. He was keen to sell the services of shuttle bus, you can walk to the airport in 5 minutes. And the breakfast.We used Venere to book the hotel. I made a complaint about the room not being a twin Venere did not reply to us. I will not use Venere again. As for the hotel the rooms are very small,housekeeping was a little erratic. I think they hotel need to instill into the staff,particularly the Asian male receptionist that lying to customers is not acceptable. The real reason I believe a twin room was not offered was because we booked in advance and the hotel were selling the twin rooms for three times the price when we arrived. This was a case of profiteering. The Asian receptionist may feel he has arrived as a receptionist in A German hotel and that he is above the guests, I certainly got that impression,however,management need to tell him strenuously without guests he would not have a job. I urge this hotel to take action on this urgent lack of training in this particularly employees case. Would I recommend you stay there dear reader. Well book in well advance the walk up rate is a rip off. Be prepared not to get the room that you have booked. If the hotel management deal with the issue of this particular receptionist I guess it is ok but certainly not worth paying a lot of money for.

Room Tip: That is tough as we found we did not get the room that we booked.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights and had a very good experience. It is very close to Terminal 2 and ideal for someone who has an early flight. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Tareq who was efficient and courteous. The hotel offers a free shuttle from the airport that runs every 30 minutes, but there is a €3 charge on the way back, but the distance is very short and you can walk it in 10 minutes. Breakfast costs €8 and included cold meats, cheese, hard-boiled eggs and hot frankfurters, plus the usual teas/coffees, fruit, etc. There is also a guest kitchen available for those on a budget.
The rooms are very clean and modern but minimalistic. As this is close to the airport, during the day you can obviously hear the noise of the airplanes, but with the windows closed, it is not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Friendly and young staff at this hotel, the rooms are basically new and I had a good sleep there. There is a bar downstairs where you can order drinks and snacks, but no full service restaurant and rather really just "microwave" snacks. The WIFI comes for free. We ordered something from the nearby Sushi delivery service via phone and they were happy to bring it to the hotel. The hotel was packed with all sorts of traveller and the bar service people were running at 100 % to keep up with the orders. The hotel provide a free shuttle bus, BUT ONLY FROM TERMINAL 2 and only free of charge on the way to the hotel. The way back you must pre-order and pay. For a group of 2 or 3 people it will be easier and more comfortable to take a taxi. With hand baggage it would be 5 minutes walk to Terminal 2 of the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great choice near Frankfurt international airport. Rooms are clean, surprisingly quiet and reasonably priced, a bit small though. It is possible to stay with your dog for a small fare. Would definitely stay here overnight between flights again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport

Address: Bessie-Coleman-Str. 11, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 261 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... it doesn't matter what you take off with, you'll always land well at the MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport. The modern airport hotel is located at Gateway Gardens, only a short walk from Terminal 2. The entire hotel down to the 168 rooms is playfully themed "The Golden Age of Travel". An overnight stay at the airport has never been cheaper, and you can even hold your meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.