We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercator Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercator Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercator Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mercatorstrasse 38 | Bornheim, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 263 hotels in Frankfurt
Harris22
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“reasonable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel was clean and the room was a decent size with two comfortable single beds pushed together and adequately furnished. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a shower over the bath, but the shower was poor due to low water pressure. The hotel was very noisy when people were coming and going from the hotel due to thin walls ... doors slammed loudly when closed and voices carried. There was also a considerable amount of noise from traffic on a nearby main road although the hotel itself is on a quiet street. The location is good near to a wide choice of restaurants and bars and close to both underground and trams tops. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice of cold meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and a small amount of hot food (scrambled egg and sausages).
The hotels website states that they have a bar but this was not the case.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    25
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
20
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Normally in my reviews I say you get what you pay for, but in this instance I won't! We stayed for three nights on a bed and breakfast basis and paid £98. We arrived late at night and reception was closed - no reception, a simple phone call, code entry, and the key magically dropped down into a machine!

Breakfast was great - the usual stuff.

Noise - we were disturbed on Monday morning by the weekly bin collection but we simply shut the window it was fine. It was pretty warm in the room though.

I had some concerns about our room being so close to the top of the communal stairs - I needn't have worried as there was a small porch type arrangement so it was quiet.

A great location and a great base from which to explore.

Reception were fine - I am not one for having 'love in' with staff and their approach suited me fine.

I would happily recommend this place for a seriously good value place to rest your head.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mercator Hotel for one night after a long flight to Frankfurt.

The room was clean and tidy, not huge but that's no drama. It was a convenient location, about a 10-minute walk into downtown Frankfurt. The shower was a bit small but also not a big concern. We had no problems with noise, it was very quiet where we were.

I would've given this hotel 3-stars but the extra star came from the great customer service we experienced there (and good customer service seems limited in Frankfurt).

We landed at 6:30am in Frankfurt and went straight to the hotel to see if we old leave our bags there until check-in. They went one better and let us check straight in. The lovely gentleman who checked us in also (without asking) got out a map, showed us where we were, where is good to go and when is a good time to go there. He also straight up told us about the free wifi and gave us the password. We dropped in several more times to ask questions which he answered for us with no worries.

All up it was a clean, comfortable, friendly place and I would return if I was to go back to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great location, just a couple of blocks from busy commercial Berger street with shops and lots of good restaurants. Less than a 10 minute walk to downtown Frankfurt. Fairly quiet, clean, good breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. Booked online but cheaper if you call them directly.

Room Tip: They have single rooms in the attic,cute and inexpensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel is located 10mins walking distance from the main zeil street. Next to the hotel is a very nice Italian restaurant and on the main road (close to the tram station) is an inexpensive bakery. Rooms are pretty large. 3 of us stayed in the room and and everything is very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is in a great location with tram around the corner, and walkable to lots of restaurants, shops, and the river. The room was kept clean daily. There is a lot of street noise in the morning and hallway noise from anyone closing their door. Our room did not have a fan in it, and its was pretty hot (no AC) but ask for a fan - that will keep you cool and also help drown out some of the noise. We booked through hotels.com and its description for this hotel/room said there was an in-room safe and minibar, but neither are present. Also, bring your own shampoo - a combo bodywash/shampoo is all that's provided. If you're looking for value, this could be a good option for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Having arrived from trip in NY, the Euro 40 a night is a steal ! My room was clean and the floors were timber (thank God, otherwise for those with allegies carpets are a curse). I was here in spring and on a wam day say 28 degrees Celsuis you got only a standfan to cool down (not sure if this applies to all rooms).

The good part of the hotel is price but be prepared to pay Eur 70 during busier period and E130 or more during the 3 major fairs held in Frankfut (i am told one for cars, the other for books and 3rd eludes my memory).

Breakfast needs to be booked in advance at Eur 8 per pax. As there are many restaurants 5 minutes away towards the busy Konstabler Metro, you need not have to eat downstairs if you can walk about for breakfast en route to the Metro. Yes there is a italian restaurant across the street and further up near the polizei (police station there is a restaurant as well as a supermarket, As this hotel is semi suburban there is homey feeling around the hotel.

I would come back again but need to watch the dates to aviod peak season rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercator Hotel

Address: Mercatorstrasse 38 | Bornheim, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 263 hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercator Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mercator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercator Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.