We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zentrum Hauptwache

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zentrum Hauptwache to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zentrum Hauptwache
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rossmarkt 7, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Absolutely fantastic location, right in the centre and near the old town, river front, bars and theatres.

Hotel does what it says on the tin, nothing more and nothing less.

The entrance is a lift door in a passageway and the lift is the only way to reception and the bedrooms. Breakfast is in the reception room and has plenty of choice. There is a small bar, but we never saw it used.

If you want a bed in the centre, this hotel is great. If you are looking for five star treatment and pampering during your stay, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
15
20
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel itself was easy to find with signs in the shopping centre pointing to a small lift that takes you up to the small lobby. The hotel itself is quite basic, with the breakfast area being in the lobby as well. We were on the 5th floor, the room was basic with three single beds although I had booked a double room, the beds themselves were very comfortable and quite large. Room appeared to have been recently recarpeted and the bathroom refitted as everything seemed quite new. The bathroom was large and well appointed. The hotel is a five minute stroll from the old quarter and is situated on the main shopping street in Frankfurt, so very handy for everything. Breakfast was plentiful and staff were friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a pleasant stay here for three nights. Check in was quick and easy and our room was ready early which was nice. The only downside was that you had to use the elevator to get up and down, the stairs were off limits! This is a major downside to those who may not like using the cramped space of and elevator and may want the open space of the stairs. Good value for money. The room we had was spacious and the bathroom was too. However there was a slight sewerage smell coming from the bathroom but there were two huge windows that could be opened in the room so this solved that issue. The breakfast buffet was lovely, plenty of food laid out which was tasty! You also had to leave the key at the reception desk anytime you left. One other issue was the cleaner starting work at 8.30am on our floor! However, there are plenty of things to do in Frankfurt, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed with two others in a 3 bed room overlooking the Hauptwache Markt area. You can't really get much better location wise - the hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Hauptbahnhof (main train station) or two U-bahn stops, 5 minute walk to the historical centre/Paulskirche/Frankfurt Cathedral, 10 minute walk to the Main River, and just around the corner is the main shopping district with plenty of shops, restaurants, etc.

The entrance to the hotel is a little bit off-putting and may be hard to find, given it is just an elevator door hidden amongst a few shops. The reception and breakfast area is located on the first floor. Reception was friendly, wi-fi is free (ask for a log-in password at the front desk, one ticket per device), and the free breakfast was a basic European spread (cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, fruit, etc.). Luggage can be stored in a sitting room near reception.

The room was very basic and the bathroom could use an upgrade, but the beds were super comfortable with good pillows and clean linens, and the shower was great! Handsoap and shampoo are provided. There was a bit of a problem with the plumbing, but it was promptly taken care of while we were gone for the afternoon. There was quite a bit of noise from the construction site across the street, so I would bring ear plugs. For a short trip, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Y was at the Zentrum Hauptwache hotel for 3 days on a business trip, so the location was the first feature I looked for. The first look is somewhat negative, the entrance is just an elevator door that needs an urgent reform, and the reception es located at the fist floor. After that point, everythin improve: nice and professional reception, clean rooms and quiet environment. The breakfast seems too basic.
I would say that this hotel is normal to good but the quality-cost ratio is high so I would be inclined to the positive vote.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have stayed here twice with my family. My kids love the hotel. Location is perfect, staff is helpful and reliable. Great breakfast too!
No doubt I will be staying here again next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were actually booked into a sister hotel, the Hotel Neue Krame am Römer, not far away but closer to the old town square or Dom Romer. That hotel is on a pedestrian street. The Hotel Zentrum was on a busy and noisy street right on Hauptwache metro station. Very noisy but otherwise ok. Room was nice and clean and a good size. Location, apart from being on a busy road, was good. Close to the metro and train to the airport direct on S8 or S9 line. Close to Rom and river....a good area for chilling our before the long flight back to Australia. Breakfast was good and plenty of restaurants and shopping on the adjacent Zeil Mall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zentrum Hauptwache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zentrum Hauptwache

Address: Rossmarkt 7, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zentrum Hauptwache 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Zentrum Hauptwache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zentrum Hauptwache Hotel
Zentrum Hauptwache Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zentrum Hauptwache, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.