We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better budget hotels in central Frankfurt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munchener Hof Hotel

Save Saved
You added Munchener Hof Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Munchener Hof Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Munchener Strasse 46, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
Midlothian, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of the better budget hotels in central Frankfurt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were coming off a river cruise in Frankfurt and needed a centrally located hotel near the train station for just one night. We chose this hotel from a combination of price and location. The area around the hotel is quite busy, with lots of shops, other hotels, restaurants, cafes, bars, etc.

Checkin was quick, easy and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable, but the mattresses were a bit lumpy and probably should be replaced. The linens and towels were clean and white. The rooms have plenty of storage for your luggage. Your neighbors are easily heard, so the walls must be very thin, bring earplugs. I noticed the room had no AC, nor any vents nor controls to indicate the presence of AC. Generally, this isn't a problem in Frankfurt, but you might want to check the weather forecast before booking a Summer's stay. A small continental breakfast is served every morning.

The hotel offers Wi-Fi free for the first hour, then you must pay. Hint: An easy way around this is from any local Starbucks. Several are located in central Frankfurt, including one in the nearby train station. Simply order a cup of coffee and easily connect to their free Wi-Fi service. There are also a number of bars, restaurants and cafes in the area offering free Wi-Fi to customers, you just have to ask for the password.

I wouldn't mind staying here again, as the price and location were superb. However, there are scores of other budget hotels in Frankfurt, so you might want to compare.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
7
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

enjoyed my stay at this hotel ,low budgets but very clean, bright ,accommodating rooms ,and a pleasant breakfast, staff always on hand if needed, quiet all night even though its in the heart of the city /train areas .would gladly stay again. (3nights=£90, single room queen size with w/c.shower)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This place is amazing. You are right in the centre of Frankfurt, 5 minutes from the main station, and the room, booked through hotel.de, cost just 40 euros including breakfast. True, the lobby is a bit small, the restaurant room (simple but pleasant) is linked to the Korean restaurant next door, and the name ‘Münchner Hof’ is hardly appropriate. There is no ‘Hof’ (courtyard) and no connection with Munich; the owners seem to be Russian. The room I got for 40 euros was large, clean quiet, well equipped with flat-screen tv, fan and refrigerator, decent pillows. Wi-fi is free for one hour. There is a computer in the dining room (free use round the clock). You even get a newspaper (Frankfurter Rundschau). Breakfast was adequate (fresh rolls, plenty of Mozzarella, ham, eggs, cheese, cereals, choice of teas and coffees). The only thing I could have done with was a hair-dryer in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Room 32 at the back was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Muenchner Hof for one night - no fancy bells and whistles here but great if you've just crossed the Atlantic and need a place to rest before heading elsewhere. Easy to get to from the airport and a convenient location (2 minutes by foot from the train station) makes it ideal for short stays.

Service could be improved but for a one night stay, who cares.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

For the price this hotel is fine. As a self-employed person who has to cover his own hotel costs I want somewhere that's around the 50-60 euro mark, is clean, hygienic and central. This does all of those things so I stay here 5-6 times per year. It's not luxury but it's good value for the price. A tip - make sure you don't get a room on the first floor. The breakfast lady makes a lot of noise so unless you want to be awoken at 6-6.30am ask to be moved.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This is a great hotel for the price. The rooms are very nice with new furnishings. TV works well with many English channels. Internet speed is pretty good. Rooms are clean, bathroom is nice. Location is awesome, steps for the Central Train Station. Breakfast is good enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We chose Munchener Hof Hotel in Frankfurt because 1) it was one of the only places we could find with a triple room available; 2) it seemed to get some of the best reviews on TripAdvisor of all the area hotels; 3) and it was one of the most affordable.

I have to say overall, it was a pleasant experience. The bed was clean and comfortable, the room was big enough for our needs with shelves, desktops, and space to put away luggage and hang clothes. Noise from the street below was minimal and didn't bother us. Everything in the bathroom was clean and worked properly but one minor complaint: The pressure from the shower was sharp so it kind've hurt when the water hit me and there was no way to readjust it. But there was certainly plenty of hot water which is more important to me anyways. Breakfast was included and it included bread, rolls, cheese, meats, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, juice -- minimal, but really all you need to get your day going. The white walls throughout the hotel are brightened up a bit with some interesting, colorful art. I really have no complaints about the service. At worst, one of the front desk guys wasn't the friendliest, but oh well, I'm not there to make friends with him! On the other hand, another front desk clerk was more then helpful in assisting me to book my room for one extra night at the last minute.

The hotel is a five-minute walk at most to the Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof and there is public transportation everywhere to take you quickly and efficiently to anywhere you want to go in the city. The Red Light District is a couple of streets over, but you don't have to go through it to get to public transportation or to the Hauptbahnhof. Anyways, I walked directly through it during both the day and night and it didn't feel unsafe either time.

Room Tip: I read a couple of reviews where people were bothered by the street noise, so maybe the higher up yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Munchener Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munchener Hof Hotel

Address: Munchener Strasse 46, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 262 hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Munchener Hof Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Munchener Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munchener Hof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.