We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap place to stay near the train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elbe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elbe to your Saves list
Hotel Elbe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elbestrasse 34, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
Glendale, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great cheap place to stay near the train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

This hotel was recommended by the student exchange group we were meeting up with (to retrieve our kids.) It's very very close to the train station (and also near a redlight area - but just don't walk in that direction.) It was comfortable and pleasant and the staff in the evening was very helpful. The bedroom was roomier than most of our stay in Europe (London, Munich, Frankfurt, Rome) and the bathroom was small but fully functional. There were several restaurants right around the corner - even an Australian one where the kids had kangaroo and emu for dinner. The hotel was easy to find and the staff helped us with parking right away. There was also free wireless, which we actually found harder to come by in Europe than we expected. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    15
    5
    26
See reviews for
3
7
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

The overall rating given for terrible isn't really for the hotel which was adequate and had a very helpful man from Tunisia on the desk. The area is just terrrible! The hotel is surrounded by sex shops, bars and street prostitutes ply their trade "morning noon and night!" We had a room at the front which overlooked the street. It was impossible to sleep because the music and shouting from the bars was so loud. The worst thing about the area were the junkies that literally "shoot up" on the street. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jönköping
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We arrived at 10pm to frankfurt railwaystation. Had booked Elbe just because it seemed fine in the brochure and all. But i felt scared when we walked the streets to the hotel. It was right in the middle of redlight district with prostitueds right outside the hotel along with people doing drugs on every hour of the day/night. First we got a small room on the topfloor and it was a smooking aloud room even though we were asked if we wanted a smokefree room. Next morning i asked for a new room and we got one on the 3d floor with a window toward the street. Did not sleep good at all with the window closed beacause of the sound of the street and all the fighting right outside. But the hotel was really fine.
we never felt safe walking to or from the hotel at nighttime. But if you look for fun at some of the sexshops or places right across the street this is a perfect place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Opon arriving to the hotel we were welcomed by a rude old man at reception, I let it go. Opon entering the room found we had two single beds not the double we had booked, I let it go. The next day I was itchy all over and on inspection I found myself covered in bites. Dont stay here. for the price it would be better to go to a backpackers

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

We booked this hotel as it was near to all the places of interest.I went with 4 other female friends to vist the Xmas Markets.

After reading the review i was slightly worried about the area but had an open mind.
we were expecting to be in the middle of the red light area so when we arrived it wasn't such a shock.Yes the hotel is opposite some unsavoury places however throughout our stay we were not bothered at all by passers by or effected by the noise,in fact we found it quite amusing looking out the window!!

We found the receptionist freindly and helpful.The room was modern,a good size and clean.The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good.
The price we found to be very reasonable and if we were to go back then we would certainly return here.
If you are looking for a base to be in the heart of the city then this is the place to stay.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

The worst hotel receptionists I ever dealt with. Hotel tried to jack up the price as I checked in and I duly refused. Booked with hostelbookers at a fixed rate and paid 10% booking fee to them. And was asked to pay back the hotel the booking fee when checking in! Hostelbookers didn't take the issue with the hotel as I informed them afterwards. Was rudely refused by the then receptionist to speak with the owner or manager on the spot and was later charged for no show by the hotel!!! Dodgy clientele. I saw the room and it is very small. In an area (red-light district) not very well lit. Book and stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

After a nine hour plane flight and a walk with ridiculously clumsy baggage across a steaming hot city, all we wanted was a place to drop our bags and fall onto a bed, preferably never to get up again. And even with expectations that low (at the time) we were very dissappointed with the hotel. Coming to the hotel we found ourselves in a street with nightclubs and prostitutes, and upon entering, the hotel was very small and very modernicity-lacking. At the reception, we were greeted and given a key, after which we made our way up to our room. Imagine our surprise when walking into our room there was coca cola cans on the bedtable, somebody's loofa in the bathroom, obviously no clean towels and the sheets were not changed. Suspecting that somebody might still be living in the room, and knowing that it obviously hasn't been cleaned, we came back to the reception to inform the too-casually dressed receptionist of our not-cleaned room, to which he had the nerve to ask "What makes you think it hasn't been cleaned?". Finally having gotten a key to a clean room, we were somewhat at peace. However, the hotel is placed in a nightclub district, so there are prostitues and very questionable individuals outside at night. The room was not air conditioned. Perhaps I have expectations much too high, but where I come from, a place like Elbe would be shut down in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elbe

Address: Elbestrasse 34, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elbe 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elbe Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elbe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.