We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good enough!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Frankfurt City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Frankfurt City to your Saves list
Novotel Frankfurt City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lise-Meitner-Strasse 2, 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Bockenheim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It's good enough!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is good, the staff is good and attentious. It's a bit far from the train station (15 minutes), it wasn't a big deal, the neighbourhood seems to be safe, even at night. The rooms are good and comfortable, the breakfast is great. There is free internet, but no in the room (it is not cheap in the room). In a few words it is good but not great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    244
    126
    44
    21
See reviews for
171
85
54
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

hotel itself was perfectly fine but room was right by a train track so possibily worst nights sleep ever, trains every 10 mins or so and they sound like they are in the room! When finally managed to get to sleep was woken by laundary van outside window clattering for half a hour

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My stay at the hotel was just ok. Bed isn't the most confortable I have slept in, expecially they could put some more confortable pillows.
My room was next to the lift which makes quite a lot of noise.
Location of the hotel isn't ideal as it's placed right next to the railways, You can hear fast train passing by all over night.
I had forgotten my plug adaptor, reception was quite helpful and lended one to me. When I checked out at the end, I had forgotten the plug at the office and I was charged half of the cost of the adaptor, €20, which means they would normally charge €40 for an adaptor, which is ridicolous.
I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is stated as a 4 star but is a low 3 star. As soon as we arrived we asked to leave but they would not allow us to without loosing our money. The hotel is poorly furnished, with soul less bedrooms, overprice internet and bar and a very unsatisfactory experience. The only highlight was breakfast and the fact we were only staying one night. There are many alternatives in Frankfurt at the same price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Novotel from 9th January-13th January in order to attend the Heimtextil Fair which is 2 minute walk from there so as for location for our purpose of visit was great!
the unexeptable issue though was that a) the wifi was charged 4euros per hour and b) IT WASNT working none of the days we stayed. Novetel is considered as a bussiness hotel so we didint expect luxury but at least some business services. The staff at the reception didnt speak good english and it was not easy to communicate. They told us to call the company for the wifi connection if we had a problem is that my job? The breakfast was the only thing that was worth it in that hotel that of course was not included in the 250 euros charge per night,
as for the room it was ok exluding the terrible pillows that were really small and not suitable for bed, they were sofa pillows. All three rooms we were together had the same complain.
i need to say that Marcus a boy at the reception wasthe only one who was ate least smiling was really nice, friendly and helpufull and was speaking good English.
i dont think i will choose this hotel again, with the same amount we can stay at a hotel close to the fair with many more services.

Room Tip: bring your pillows!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Novotel Frankfurt City clearly caters in the first line to business travellers, especially those visiting a trade show at the Frankfurt Messe which is a five minute walk away. This means that the hotel is somewhat out of the center. Staying here between Christmas and New Year's, we expected that the neighborhood would be empty (no fairs at that time, obviously) and it was! So if you need to be in the center of (non-trade-fair) activity this is probably not the hotel for you. However, it worked very well for us: there are a tram stop and an S-Bahn station within a few blocks of the hotel with excellent connections to downtown and the main train station and we made good use of these.
The hotel itself is modern in design, with generally welcoming common spaces and nicely furnished rooms. Ours managed to accommodate two adults and two children (on a sleep sofa) even though it was a standard double. For two people it would have been quite spacious. Everything was clean and functional. One caution: some of the rooms face the aforementioned suburban train line and you can hear the trains going by. We are "city people" and used to this sort of background sounds but if you are sensitive to noise you may want to request a room on the other side.
The breakfast buffet was simply outstanding in terms of selection, freshness, and taste. I was especially pleased with the choice of bread and other baked goods. The public Internet terminals worked very well and are a great amenity. The fitness room is relatively small but includes an elliptical machine, a stationary bike, and a universal-style weight machine; all seemed to work fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout.
Combined with the discount for booking ahead all of this made for a great value and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Hotel is supposed to be a 4 star but is closer to 2. The Hotel was old and tired, filled with cheap furniture and a general feeling that it had not had money invested in it for many years. As soon as we checked in we asked to leave but they refused a refund - so we were trapped. Luckily it was only for one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Frankfurt City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Frankfurt City

Address: Lise-Meitner-Strasse 2, 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bockenheim , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#45 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Frankfurt City 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Frankfurt City welcomes guests with a design concept for the future. Bright colours, natural materials and ergonomic design characterise our 235 spacious, airconditioned rooms and 11 meeting rooms. Right in the city centre, only 500 m from the exhibition centre, 2 km from the main train station and close to two golf courses, this 4 star hotel is ideal for a business trip or holiday. Relax and revitalise with our restaurant with Mediterranean cuisine, gym, sauna, solarium and jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Frankfurt City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Frankfurt City Hotel Frankfurt
Accor Frankfurt City
Frankfurt Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Frankfurt City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.