We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, pleasant atmosphere, great breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterCityHotel Frankfurt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterCityHotel Frankfurt to your Saves list
InterCityHotel Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Poststrasse 8 | Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Okinawa, Japan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient location, pleasant atmosphere, great breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel while I was in town for the Ironman triathlon. The hotel is in an excellent location, sitting right across the street from the main train station. I will talk more about the location later. The hotel itself is pretty good but not five star. The front desk staff was professional but far from friendly. I felt as if they were going out of their way to serve me. All other staff were just great, housekeeping and the wait staff in the restaurant. Breakfast was included in my package and it was just delicious. I found myself over indulging in the buffet. It's a bit crowded as it packs up quickly and you might have a hard time finding a table. Once I had to sit in the foyer by the elevators. The room was a bit small and the bed was like sleeping on plywood. What I really like about this hotel is the location. Right across the street is the main train station which is packed with cafes, fast food, to include McDonalds & BK, a Starbucks, But I think you would be crazy to go to those American favorites. I loved the small sandwhich shops. Man it's making my mouth water just thinking about them. There are a few ATMs and a post office in which I used to ship home some stuff. Directly in front of the train station is the Tram station. I never actually used the train, but I did use the tram several times. Also within 25 meters of the front door of the hotel is a 24 hr bar. In about 200 meters there is a small super market and within 500 meters there is a nice drug store. Also within 500 meters are numerous restaurants and cafes. Within 1km is the red light district if that is something your looking for. Right across the street is a police station and right behind the hotel is a bike shop which is actually supposed to be the best in town. If you like walking you can basically walk to most locations. If the front desk staff was friendly I would have given this hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a king size bed and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your visit during the Ironman triathlon and your good comments . Nice to hear that you like our breakfast buffet.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences about our front office staff, please be assured that we will teach our front office staff within to be much more friendlier.
Have a nice trip back home and greetings from Frankfurt,
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    187
    110
    40
    24
See reviews for
25
71
65
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel is located at the north exit of the Frankfurt nail Hbf. When you arrived at the train station, head towards platform (gleis) 24, and that is the North exit. Once you exit the Hbf, the hotel is on the left. Rooms are like the other intercity hotels in Germany, and the rooms do not have AC, so you may have to open the window at night. Ask for free wifi and the staff will print a username and password for 24hr access. However, the wifi connection was a bit weak in my room on the 5th floor, I have to sit near the door to get some connection. doors don't seem to close tight so do remember to push hard and lock it.

They give free transport ticket which you can use on the S Bahn and buses. Go to platform 101-102 and hop on any S Bahn, alight at Hauptwache where it is a long street of shopping area. Tourist information centre is located in the Hbf, do check with them for information on travelling ard the city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Victoria,
thank you for staying with us and being guest in our hotel. Nice to hear that you could use the free ticket for the public transport,
please accept our apologies for the inconveniences about the wifi connection.
All our rooms in the InterCity Hotel Frankfurt have Air Condition.
We hope you had a nice trip back home and greetings from Frankfurt,
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at interCity hotel twice during this short trip. This hotel is so close to the Rail way Station which makes it very convenient to move around. Also walking from it to the city is not bad at all. There are many good resturants around the hotel and Taxi cabs are just few minutes walk. The hotel it self is a bit old but it is clean and for a short trip it works. The rooms are small but air conditioned which is important during summer months. Sound proofing is an added bonus so no noises from out side reaches you. The bed was a bit hard for my taste and the pillow so did and small that I had to ask for two more. The towels were a bit over used and theady. In general and for the price paid the hotel wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for staying with us and being guest in our hotel. It was great to hear that everything was well for you during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and wish you nice time.
Kind regards from Frankfurt
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

this is a regular hotel for the reasons in the title. Get off your train at the Hauptbahnhof (main station) cross the street and you are there.

everything a traveller needs is at the station, food, drinks, postoffice, Internet cafe, pharmacy and it is on the right side of the station to avoid undesirables or the red light district which is about 1000m in the other direction.

the rooms are small. The most basic room have all of the essentials bed, chairs, desk, fridge and bathroom etc but space is at a premium. It has to be to keep the prices down and most people use these hotels as somewhere to keep their gear and somewhere to sleep.

wireless internet into your room is good. often it is included in the price of the room. Check the deals online i got a mini bar included (2 beers, a coke, 2 juices, 1 still and 1 sparkling water) each day, plus breakfast, plus internet. Once you include your free transport ticket which is always part of the deal it is outstanding value.

It appears they have a new chef or at least have improved breakfast. The range and quality has improved as has the move to have a self serve espresso machine as well as the usual filter coffee makes for a great start of the day. Fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread, pastries, big selection of cold meats and cheeses, big range of hot foods, juices etc.

I left the hotel for two nights elsewhere and they were happy to store my main bag so that i didnt need to take it with me. When i returned they new me by name and got me into a new room promptly.

I use this hotel frequently as it ticks all of the boxes you need when travelling. If you need a bigger room to work in, they have them.

Room Tip: if you need space dont get the cheapest room. if you are a smoke/non-smoker let them know in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your visit and your nice comments about your stay. It was great to hear that everything was well for you during your stay and that you could use our ticket for public transport.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you had a nice trip back home.
Many greetings from Frankfurt
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I understand the convenience of having a low cost hotel next to the station, but for a business person needing to work and relax, this is not the hotel to choose. The rooms are tiny and cramped, the bedding is not good, and having to pay an additional deposit to have an ironing board in your room is just insulting. I found the reception experience pretty similar to a railway ticking office as well. Not a pleasant experience at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay and your assessment about our hotel. We are very sorry that you could not have a nice stay.
We thank you also for your comments regarding our service, of course we will discuss these points with our appropriate staff.
Kind regards from Frankfurt
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is our #1 choice when flying into or out of Frankfurt. We have stayed there many times. Located across the street from Frankfurt's Hauptbahnhof / central train station, this hotel makes a quick turnaround in Frankfurt easy. The hotel supplies city train tickets, so you can get to Frankfurt's airport quickly without mastering the train station's ticket machines. Minibar contents are free, so there's no hassle checking out. Fleming's Restaurant, just two blocks away, has its menu in the hotel lobby, and the area is full of other interesting places to eat, too. The cable TV always amazes with its comprehensive display of international channels. Rooms are spare, but always well-equipped and spotless. Your wake-up call rings on time. The hotel's WiFi is reliable. This is a busy hotel, but always quiet. A great place to stay for a night or several, in our experience.

Room Tip: Regardless of where we travel, we always request a room away from the elevators, and away from any i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your repeated stays in our hotel and your good comments about your stay. Nice to hear that you had a good time and could use our complimentary ticket for Frankfurt`s public transport.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again and hope you had a nice trip back home.
Kind regards
Julia Lemoniatis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Intercity Hotel Frankfurt is part of a large chain of hotels throughout Germany which are all positioned directly at the central railway stations of major cities. It is very convenient for travellers with lots of luggage to be able to step off the train and be in the hotel lobby in only five minutes. I had previously stayed at the same hotel chain in Dresden and while, the Dresden hotel was much newer and classier in terms of decor, both hotels provided a similar standard of service and a good solution for a brief overnight stop. The room at the Frankfurt Intercity Hotel was clean but tired and in need of some refurbishment. Toiletries beyond some shower gel and handwash are not provided. There is, however, a minibar, tv, safe and hairdryer in the room. Breakfast is included in the price and was the usual international buffet but very nicely done. Morning papers in English and German were also provided. Another advantage of staying in the Intercity Hotels is that wifi is provided and you are given a voucher for free local public transport within the city for the duration on your stay. There was also a restaurant and bar on site but I did not try these during my stay. This hotel is a economical and convenient place to stay for those who wish to be close to the station and centre of Frankfurt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and being guest in our hotel. It was great to hear that everything was well for you during your stay .
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you had a nice trip back home.
Kind regards from Frankfurt
Julia Lemoniatis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterCityHotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Frankfurt

Address: Poststrasse 8 | Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — InterCityHotel Frankfurt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only business but also cultural and entertainment events attract many visitors to the Metropolis on the Main, Frankfurt. In any reason for visiting our attractive city, the InterCityHotel will be your ideal base. Located directly at Frankfurt Main Station and being connected to the subway and tram networks, take advantage of your free local public transport in connection with your room ID card and quickly reach Frankfurt's shopping mile, the Zeil, as well as our historic city and the Romer, interesting museums, the financial district or the fair grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterCityHotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Intercityhotel Hotel
Intercity Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterCityHotel Frankfurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.