We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Eco hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mainzer Landstrasse 261-263, 60326 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Best Western Grand City Hotel Frankfurt) (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Eco hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is an eco hotel that means for every room only 80 liters of hot water can be used at one time. If one travel with 2 persosns and wanted to take a shower then it means no hot water for the next person, too bad. Have to wait for another 20 minutes before one get hot water again.The room is small but clean. Not for big persosns while shower cabin is so small. I have difficulty taking shower. Near the central station and nite time expect the noise from trains.
The breakfast room is located at the cellar. First breakfast must eat in the dark, problem hotel had short circuit breakdown. Hotel is not Grand as what is supposed to be.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    84
    68
    31
    20
See reviews for
20
56
31
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for about 4 weeks in may 2011. Liked the location, pretty close to the city center and good S-Bahn connections. The room was clean and had sort of a young vibe furniture. Service was great, staff nice and friendly. If I will visit Frankfurt in the future, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. Both the check-in/check-out were very slow as there was only 1 employee servicing the desk, who also shared a duty of a barman (the check-in area extends into a bar). The room and the beds were very comfortable but the trains traveling at night under our window were quite noticeable even with the windows closed. Also, we could not connect to the hotel's free internet service (which was one of main reasons why we chose this hotel).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Booking through Expedia, I've spent 8 nights at this hotel while working on a research project. True the hotel is on the doorstep of Galluswarte Rail Station and if you have a room at the rear of the hotel, you will occasionally hear the loud noise of freight trains passing by...they are perhaps 20yards from your window, and unless you have our window closed, you might be disturbed in the night. However, I wasn't so troubled by this, but I imagine this being uncomfortable for older/fussier travellers.

The hotel itself is EXCELLENT value for money. I had a Business Class double bedroom and was met by immaculate presentation, contemporary furniture, a decent sized desk and a very comfortable bed. The shower room had contemporary fittings and was fully functional. This is an eco friendly hotel, hot water is on a timer, and if you want it at a specific time you have to ask the reception, but again, this was not a problem and I was impressed by their attitudes towards energy saving. The rooms also include a new 32 inch plasma screen and full length mirror.plenty of power sockets too!

Housekeeping were pleasant and attentive. Reception were very genuine, friendly and understanding, speaking very good English. They immediately resolved a problem when Expedia made an error with my booking dates.

The foyer is modern and has a lounge with coffee and alcoholic beverages served. Breakfast IS included despite what Expedia were describing, and this was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was very substantial, varied and accommodated a vegetarian diet too. Coffee making facilites are available on request, but again this was not a problem - a kettle and selection of coffee was provided immediately on request. There is also a good sized drinks fridge in the room and a complimentary bottle of water. If you're lucky housekeeping will also leave you a packet of Haribo on your pillow! lol!

There is a gym with a new treadmill, mutilgym, crosstrainer and TV. The sauna is also excellent, but again eco-friendly so activated only when in use. It takes about 20 mins to heat up.

Frankfurt au Main station is one stop away, so the hotel could not be better positioned in this regard. There are also plenty of take aways, restaurants, supermarkets and coffee shops, but most takeaways close at the weekend as this is a more of a business location. Frankfurt central is basically a short ride away so this was not an issue.

I would have no hesitation returning to this hotel - superb value for money, oh and did I mention the free wi-fi? Excellent reception with this too!! This is a new hotel, I hope they are able to keep up the standards! I'll be back - thankyou, a satisfied customer!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building, the rail track is located behind and for many would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Nice hotel, very clean and with free wifi inside the room. Front desk staff are courteous. The price is very reasonable for a 4-star hotel. Will definitely recommend this to my friends going to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

i recommend to saty away from this hotel if your sleeping is light.the hotel location is literally next to the train station and it is very noisy.we were there in the month of August 2011. in a specific week the heat wave was unbearable.34 degrees and no AC in the rooms. a nightmare.
breakfast is ok and there is a free WIFI access in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The new Best Western in Frankfurt is easy to reach, all rooms are freshly refurbished and the staff is nice. The Fitness Center is a bad joke: 2 broken cardio machines in the basement with no fresh air, the location is bad: You hear trains the whole night and won't sleep unless you have ear plugs... Unfortunately a Bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt

Address: Mainzer Landstrasse 261-263, 60326 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Best Western Grand City Hotel Frankfurt)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre of Frankfurt, the TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt is ideal for your next business trip to the city. Situated close to the Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof main railway station and Messe Frankfurt, our Frankfurt on Main hotel allows you to explore the city with ease no matter the purpose of your trip. Relax in your comfortable guest room, with amenities that include free Wi-fi, a flat screen television, a coffee maker and a mini refrigerator. Our pet-friendly hotel also features a free gym and sauna, allowing you the chance to relax after spending the day traveling through the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.