We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Rad

Zum Rad
Leonhardsgasse 2 | Seckbach, 60389 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Altstadt)
+49(0)69 479128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 1,739 Restaurants in Frankfurt
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We brought a large group (9) for dinner here. It was raining so we couldn't enjoy the beer garden, but it really didn't matter. With the wooden tables and benches inside, the candles and loud crowds, the atmosphere was excellent. Spargel was in season, and this place does a terrific job with it. The meats we were served were perfect, and the apfelwine they make is truly the best I have had. And you can't eat here without trying the green herb sauce. The servers and host were great, too. Next time I come to Frankfurt this place is at the top of my list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    17
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a must if you are in Frankfurt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

the restaurant is quite away from the down town but the 12-15 euro for the taxi will be really well paid. the food is the most classical you can find in Frankfurt.

more, the building is old and like it was, a jump in the past.
a kind of cellar mixed with a pub.
mainly local people only, everyday dressed, very very easy .... seems to be in large family.
seem to be in holiday .. for a few hours.

knuckle of pork is the king of the plates.
Gebraten Haxe = baked knuckle
Gekochte Haspel = boiled knuckle
..... eisbein... or schweinshaxe don't work even if the meaning is the same.

even if they don't speak nothing but german you will not find any problem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never been there? Go there!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Since many years, Zum Rad in Seckbach/ Frankfurt is the most favourite restaurant for us. In summer you can sit in a beautiful large garden restaurant, in winter time you sit in a very cosy, athmospheric restaurant, nicely decorated with wood paneling, benches/ tables and a tiled stove. The food is excellent, varied and rich, whatever you choose it is delicious - of course it is traditional German food, mostly comes with meat, but also nice salad plates are available. And then .... the Appelwoi (english: apple wine or cider). This is a very traditional drink and you can't make a mistake, tasting it. The service is very attentive and friendly, although they have to be so busy in rush hours. Price are absolutely appropriate. Parking is a problem as streets are very narrow and parking is not allowed. Zum Rad is the right choice and highly recommended for a nice evening after a hard day in casual environment, surrounded by happy, nice people. We will always come back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
“Great food and Atmosphere.. good friendly service....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have traveled to Frankfurt 7 times in the past 10 years....... I have visited this restaurant at least once if not more on each occasion . I will be there the next time I am in Frankfurt which is September 2. 2012. You cannot go wrong with the food...applewine or atmosphere at this locale........Highly recommended ........

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Rad also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Zum Rad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Rad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.