We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal nestled in a Frankfurt neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weinsinn

Weinsinn
Furstenbergerstr. 179 | 60322 Frankfurt, 60322 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
+49 69 56998080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,857 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing meal nestled in a Frankfurt neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Last minute call for two was accommodated by two seats at the bar. Little did we realize how fantastic the experience would be that followed. Great service, fun conversation, near perfect wine pairings (not sure how they could have been better) and a "wow" food experience. Will definitely return whenever in Frankfurt. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    20
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Most Excellent- recently awarded a Michelin star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We showed up one evening without a reservation and were lucky to get a nice outside table. We had their four course tasting menu with excellent wine pairings from local wineries. Everything was exceptional: food presentation, flavours, service. It is very much worth a visit. I found out after our visit that it is now a one star Michelin restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best main courses ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Weinsinn is a great restaurant with an even greater potential. The food is fantastic: beautifully presented, magnifically executed, incredible ingredients. The wines are extraordinary too: we had the best white wine we've drunk so far, and it is produced not far from Frankfurt, in the Rheingau. Our main course was delicious: lamb cooked in two different ways, one better than the other (stewed and roasted). Let's just say it was one of the best main courses we've ever had. Why not five stars then? Because there are a couple of things that need sorting out before Weinsinn deserves the top mark: First, the indoor seating is way too crowded and tables are too close to one another. It's a one Michelin-star restaurant: it ought to prefer fewer guests to cramming as many as possible in a relatively small dining room. Second, prices are just about fine for the food, but way too expensive for the wines. I know some of the wines they serve and the recharge is just way too high. The price of the water, then, borders the ridiculous... it should be not more than half what it is now. However, overall Weinsinn is a amazing restaurant and if it sorts out this handful of shortcomings it can aspire to great things.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great food, wonderful service, professional without the pomp and ceremony, amazing wine, a brilliant evening out, I cannot recommend enough

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A remarkably well executed evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a truly remarkable evening. The meal was so incredibly well planned out from start to finish. We loved the 4 course tasting menu, though it seemed like we got so many more dishes than I was expecting! Since the menu was in German, we trusted our waiter to choose everything for us and he did an amazing job! The wine pairings were perfection - each adding a different note to the dish. Service was attentive and timing was really well planned. During a few lulls in service, we were treated to an extra glass of what we had on the table while waiting.

The price was steep but the atmosphere and style far and away made up for it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weinsinn also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Weinsinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weinsinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.