We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tastes good, but..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuri

Matsuri
Ulmenstrasse 1 (Westend), 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Westend-Süd)
+49 69 71678710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,770 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westend-Süd
Description: Saturday, nationalholiday Closed.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“tastes good, but..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I don't think I will go there again, as the master of this restaurant is so arrogant! he is too proud of his skills, and complains heavily about customers saying that they do not understand AT ALL about SUSHI. he can say whatever he wants, but I'd rather go to the restaurant where the atmosphere is good and I could enjoy my food. I think I could find other restaurants which offer similar or better quality of food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    11
    4
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Real Japanese feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This restaurant was a happy surprise. I ate a very nice sushi meny, it was tasty all the way from the starter to the very very good Japanese green tea ice cream (I usually don't like tea in ice cream). The effort and time that was put into the very nicely plated sushi was really worth waiting for I thougt.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best original japanese place in Frankfurt!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have been to Japan recently and I couldn't believe when I found this place in Frankfurt - it looked and tasted like Japan. The place is simple but the food prepared by the japanese couple is amazing! It is really worth the visit! And save some space for the green tea ice cream...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very good Sushi, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Went and had Sushi outside on the terrace. The Miso soup was ok, the Hamachi was not the Hamachi you find in the US (but then again, you never find that good Hamachi anywhere in Europe). The Unagi, however, was made very well, grilled and with Unagi sauce on top. They also offer an Unagi + rice bowl, for Unagi lovers (Unagi Don). The Salmon was very good, and they also had Toro, which is hard to find in Europe. The service was extremely friendly and I will definitely return whenever I come to the area. The prices are high for average European tastes, but really, Sushi is not french fries and hamburgers. I think you really get your money's worth, but only if you can appreciate good sushi. If you think Sushi is just raw fish sliced on rice, go elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Matsuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.