We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel ripped off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unterschweinstiege 16 | 60549 Frankfurt, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“feel ripped off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

upon check in I was told my room was reserved but not paid for yet, so I dug up the document that said it was paid for. I wasn't given the minibar key, which I figured I must pay for, as this is a nickle and dime hotel, extra charge for internet $5. for 10 minutes. I was told "breakfast is included and served in the restaurant". When I went for breakfast a nasty older lady said it was not included and will cost 27 Euros, she told me to go to the lobby where o.j. and croissants are free, so I went, got them and was charged 9 Euros. I protested to no avail. The desk clerk insisted I must have misunderstood at check in, the girl probably said "breakfast is excluded". hmmmm, easy to misunderstand excluded and included in a foreign land, is that deliberate? Good beds, but that is all. No lotion, no extras, just liquid soap in the shower. However, the shuttle is included in the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Travelinggirly;
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry for the unpleasant visit at our hotel.
Due to lack of information we could not investigate about the conditions and why there have been so many misunderstandings. At least we would like to assure you that we have forwarded your review to our front office manager. He will train his staff again very detailed about our rates and other information which are given to our guests.
We are glad to announce that the internet will be free of charge beginning from January 2014.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again whenever your travel plans should lead you back to Frankfurt.
With best regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    416
    180
    95
    64
See reviews for
142
216
152
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a connection back to the States. Accidentally booked the wrong date on Expedia and the reservationist told me that if I had booked directly with the hotel they could have credited it to the day I was supposed to arrive.

I did get a good rate at the last minute and was impressed at how frequent the buses ran to the airport and back. The problem was FINDING the buses. Not easy at this airport.

The room was tiny but had everything you could need and I especially like the window which opened at the top to let the air in. I hate waterfall showers but this one had a hand held as well with lots of good water pressure. No bath, unfortunately.

The bing bang bonus of this hotel was the breakfast. Yes, it was exhorbitantly expensive but, oh was it amazing. All kinds of fresh cold cuts, salmon, cheeses, wurst, hot foods, healthy foods, and amazing coffee and teas. I will stay here again just for this.

Visited the pool as I wanted a swim but it was too cold. Even the germans commented on it!

Check in desk in lobby was extremely friendly.

Room Tip: None really overlook the runways but the hotel is located in a forest like area and totally soundpro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear newtosouthamerica;
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is our pleasure to see your stay turned out to be a good one.
The shuttle busses are running every 15 minutes from and to both terminals (individual, except at night = every 20 minutes one bus for both). The shuttle stops at Terminal 1, arrival level, area A1 and C7. In Terminal 2 you will be picked up in area E.
Our hotel offers four room categories at the moment. The standard room is equipped functional and is the only category (besides the presidential suite) that offers the bath tub. These rooms are being renovated since they are older ones. Our Executive Tower has bigger rooms - up to 45 square metres - with larger beds and desks plus your own wellness bathroom including rain shower. The building offers the highest noise protection so you will not be bothered by the Airport business.
We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast. It contains rich and high-quality selection of hot and cold dishes, fish dishes, 18 different teas, coffees and much more features, which the Steigenberger Airport Hotel certainly differs from other hotels. You can reserve one day before and receive a "early bird" discount. Besides, you can also have a smaller and lower priced a la carte - breakfast in our lobby-bistro-bar.
Your review has been taken as a reason for reminding the pool manager to keep the guide value regarding the water temperature. We want our guests to feel comfortable.
Whenever your way should lead you back to Frankfurt it would be nice to have you here again.
Looking forward seeing you again,
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is, so far, the most comfortable, best-appointed, and best value-for-money hotel I've stayed at while transiting at Frankfurt Airport. The redesigned and renovated rooms are cheerful, comfortable and functional; the beds and linens are excellent. It is also across the street from a mini-forest that makes for a nice chance to enjoy nature in the middle of long trips where one is stuck in airports. Big charges for WiFi are very last century, but that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear ddandvb;
We are glad to receive your positive feedback and that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the compliments referring to our new Superior rooms. After finishing the renovation, all our standard rooms will be available as Superior. They are appointed with a flatscreen TV and an own Nespresso coffee machine amongst others.
The forest right in front of the hotel is in fact a very nice opportunity to go for a walk. If you wish you can also rent a bicycle from the hotel. Alternatively our 9th floor has a fitness centre with state-to-the-art equipment. Sauna, steam bath and a pool are available too, besides of the view over the airport.
Unfortunately we did not receive the highest score from you. But we are happy to inform you that the Internet will be free of charge, beginning from January 2014.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again and we do hope to fulfil all your requirements then.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Really. It's 2013 and they are charging colossal amounts for wifi. It is quick wifi though.

And there is no separate soap in the bathroom. Everything is in a dispenser. And a single bed. And an analogue TV from the 90's.....

Room service was €14 for 3 sausages and two pieces of bread.

This hotel is here for one reason and one reason only - to make a profit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear jstraw;
Thank you for sharing your opinion about the Steigenberger Airport Hotel in Frankfurt with other travellers.
Let us start the reply with good news: Internet will be free of charge beginning from January 2014 in our hotel. At the same time please allow us to point out that this fee is still usual in a five star business hotel and in the surrounding area.
The room you stayed in must have been a standard room. This category is being renovated from time to time so that it will not be available any longer in the future. Every single item has been renewed; bed, mattress, carpet, desk, chairs – the whole concept is different – other colours and flat screen TV.
If you wish to you can order food from our restaurant which will be brought up to your room. The charge for this service is 5.50 Euro. Please do understand that these are also common prices in a high-class hotel.
We would be glad if you would give us a chance to convince you that we have improved the criticized point. Do not hesitate to ask for a superior (but also for deluxe or executive) room whenever you should travel to us again.
Best regards,
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here just for one night. We were en route to home from our last stop, Bruges.

We specifically wanted a hotel close to the airport. We arrived at the Deutsche Bahn terminal at Frankfurt Airport, wanted to leave our luggage overnight, and desired a quick exit from the hotel next day. The Steigenberger Airport fit our requirements.

For 160€ (special on-line prepay rate), we had a quiet, clean, contemporary room that was quite elegant, appointed in dark wood tones with silver accents. Our room, 669, was in the corner and had a view in two directions of forest.

The bathroom was very nice. It had a rain shower with glass doors. Plenty of power outlets in the bath and room, and even an outlet that accepted North American style (Dual Voltage!) plugs in the bath. Hair dryer had its own built-in bay.

In room coffee and mini-fridge. Robes provided.

To catch the Steigenberger Airport Shuttle, exit at the bus/taxi concourse near Marchè's restaurant and turn left. Walk about 200 meters and you will signs on the wall showing a stop for various shuttles including the Steigenberger Airport, not to be confused with the other Steigenberger Hotel.

My wife and I enjoyed the room very much and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear bob94523;
We would like to thank you very much for sharing your experiences and impressions of our hotel with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
Happily you have been satisfied with the room and service.
The Hotel is easy reachable from Terminal 1 and 2. Each Terminal is served by an individual shuttle bus which is running every 15 minutes (night time every 20 minutes only 1 shuttle bus for both) for free.
The room you stayed in is located in our Executive Tower. In there you find only 10 rooms per floor which affords an untroubled stay. The room itself offers a large desk and a bed with a comfortable mattress.
We will be glad to welcome you and your wife again someday and wish you the same enjoyable stay as you have had this time.
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have previously been in the Berlin one, which is great and was expecting something similar. This hotel is by far below the rate they exhibitted. Pure functional, very tired rooms, which looks more a B&B type. The restaurant outside is very expensive and lacking of a good selection of choises. It is very conviniently located nearby the airport with a great shuttle service, but nothing more than that. Breakfast was just ok, while the pool I must say is excellent. If I have os other option on my next tryp to Frankfurt, I won't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear AnaZurich;
Have you heard about the American phrase which says that the trouble with most people is that they would rather be ruined by praise than saved by criticism?! We belong to the other species and therefore we are very thankful that you turn out to be our rescuer. Thanks that you took the time to rate our hotel and to tell us your honest and critical words. In fact we are happy about all kind of feedbacks from our guests, so we can continually striving to improve our service and intercept existing weak points.
We regret that we could not satisfy your expectations during your stay at our hotel. Unfortunately we cannot figure out in which room you have stayed. We assume it was one of our older standard rooms. Please be informed that these rooms are being renovated from time to time. A part of it has been already finished and is available as superior category. The beds offer new mattresses and a flat screen TV amongst others. An own Nespresso coffee machine is in the room, too. You will find the shower integrated directly into the room (only single) which is exceptional.
We would like to point out that the prices for our restaurant “Unterschweinstiege” – which is a German restaurant that offers local standard food – are usual since the hotel is a 5 star category. Furthermore the hotel offers another restaurant named “Faces”. This is serving high class food creations with ingredients from all over the world. For a quick lunch or dinner our guests can visit the lobby bar Con.nex.ion which is open 24 hours.
Our generous breakfast buffet includes 12 different kinds of breakfast sandwiches that are delivered daily fresh baked. In addition, there are a rich and high quality selection of hot and cold dishes, fish dishes, 18 different teas, organic jams, Nutella, Actimel, Kombucha, fresh fruit, exotic, quality dairy products, cereals, and muesli etc. available. Besides coffee, we offer during the breakfast buffet also coffee specialties such as espresso, cappuccino or latte.
The shuttle busses are running 24 hours. In the daytime between 5 a.m. and 10 p.m. there are two individual busses every 15 minutes, one driving to Terminal 1 the other to Terminal 2. In the night time one bus is going to both terminals every 20 minutes to bring or pick up our guests.
We do hope to welcome you again soon to prove our usual service to you.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This Steigenberger provides everything I can expect from an Airport Hotel.

The check-in was fast enough and everything was ready when I've arrived. The airport shuttle works punctual.

My room was in executive floor and the room was very comfortable. The room service was delicious.

I would definetly stay there for my next overnight in Fraport

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Meetjoeblack!

Many thanks for your rating after your stay at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel in Frankfurt.
We are glad to read that you felt comfortable at our hotel you did like your room in our Executive Tower. Unfortunately we were not able to satisfy your full expectations yet. We would be glad to welcome you again to convince you 100%. We offer different kinds of room types. For a change maybe you just try another room type at your next visit. For example there are our Superior rooms which are appointed with a Nespresso coffee machine, laptop safe with power socket and a spa shower and a 40 inch flat screen TV. You surely would like this room design!
Best wishes to Istanbul!

Larissa Uhlmann & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Address: Unterschweinstiege 16 | 60549 Frankfurt, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#20 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#20 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#43 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt! The conference and business hotel with 570 rooms and 40 conference rooms at the Frankfurt Airport is the first choice address when it comes to business events and offers everything to make meetings, conferences, banquets, congresses or events a success. Only four minutes from Frankfurt Airport and reachable every 15 minutes with the free 24 hours Express-Airport-Shuttle, an oasis full of friendliness, professionalism and cosiness with a beautiful view into nature is awaiting you. Here, recreation and relaxation have top priority: before or after the conference, in one of the 40 conference rooms with a total of 2000 square metres on level-access flooring, in our four restaurants, on the summer terraces, in the pool with a panoramic view or at the catering. WiFi with a bandwidth of up to 256 KB/s is free for guests in all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Frankfurt
Hotel Steigenberger Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.