We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Kaiserplatz 1 - 7, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Altstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 263 hotels in Frankfurt
Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very good, at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed there for two night while on a business meeting with a group. My room was quite large, the bed was excellent and thye bathroom was also rather big. The room was spotlessly clean, and I also had a walk-in wardrobe.

The breakfasts and lunches were all taken in the hotels restaurant, and they were all very good. The location is also central , with just a 10 min walk to the pedestrian street.

We also ate one dinner at the Michelin starred restaurant. I'm a bit sceptic when it comes to these, as they tend to provide too much fuzz and too little food. But the meal was surprisingly good, and we left the table very satisfied.

But, the cost is probably prohibitive in general for many prospective guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    165
    69
    22
    19
See reviews for
65
137
64
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's an impressive building from the outside, and the staff are excellent, but I'm not sure it should be rated as a 5 star hotel. We stayed in a 'superior' room, but I've seen better in lower rated and cheaper hotels in Europe. Now that said, the location is excellent and the service from all the hotel staff was very good. The concierge recommended a great Steakhouse for dinner and a quaint cafe for Sunday breakfast and made reservations at both for us. When the hairdryer in the bathroom broke a replacement was delivered right away. But even in November with the window open, we were restless as the duvets were too heavy and we both found we were too hot to sleep comfortably.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArminSchroecker, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed feedback following you recent stay at the Frankfurter Hof. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the duvets and temperature in your room. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.
Kind regards,
Armin Schröcker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I only stayed here for one night but I would definitely recommend it. All the staff were so helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was amazing. The bed was very comfortable and room very clean. A short walk (10 mins ) from Frankfurt main station made it a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Whenever possible, I stay here when visiting Frankfurt. The hotel is not a bargain, but the level of comfort, service, and the great location make it worthwhile. The rooms are fairly large, although the size and shape varies as the hotel consists of several buildings with some curved exterior walls. Some rooms have balconies, others only a boring view of the interior roofed court. Compared to luxury hotels in other parts of the world, there is a slightly restrained, or even austere feeling to the public areas and the rooms here, but I do not find that it destracts from the comfort of my stays. The hotel restaurants are good, but there is plenty of choice of cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk around, so it hardly matters. Service is friendly and efficient. Checking in and out is a breeze every time. I also enjoy the very European sauna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Steigenberger for 4 days in October 2012. What made our stay so wonderful was undoubtedly the courteousness and friendliness of key Team members. The Concierge, Mr. Mueller, was so helpful and knowledgeable. He recommended several activities we found to be so delightful and ones which we would not have found on our own. The Head Bar Tender in the Autorenbar was a consumate service professional and mixed some of the best martinis we have had and he maintained a very well kept bar area with every attention to detail attended to. The location of the hotel was perfect for us as we explored the city on foot our first day and then took trains from the Main Train Station out into the surronding countryside two other days. The only area which I could fault this hotel would be in the area of the HVAC. We had very little control on the climate in our room. Although it was not unbearable, it got quite stuffy in our room over night, despite having the AC turned on the lowest setting and the fan on the highest setting, still, I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler, including those with children as there were youngsters in the dining room most mornings for breakfast and the staff treated them to a warm welcome. I would definately return to the Steigenberger if I came back to the Frankfurt area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for four days in September. The staff was excellent, courteous and so helpful; they went out of their way to ensure that we were well taken care of at all times. The room was lovely, spacious and spotless. We would recommend this hotel to all. The location was very handy for our meetings and also for a leisure stroll in the Old Town area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

stayed overnight on business trip with my wife.
room was very large clean with excellent facilities. Used room service which was excellent, food was gorgeous and plentiful.. Expess checkout made a big difference, would definately recommend it to outher travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Address: Am Kaiserplatz 1 - 7, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#2 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#4 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#4 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition meets modernity, service meets lifestyle, international guests meet locals: at the Frankfurter Hof grand hotel traditions enjoy a refreshingly new approach, which make the Frankfurter Hof one of Frankfurt's most fascinating hotels. With employees who are passionate about service. And with timeless ambience at the heart of the city.18 conference rooms, 303 hotel rooms and suites, and a 1000m² luxury wellness area called "THE SPA". Enjoy a wide variety of culinary treats: Light and Japanese in "IROHA", delicate and French in the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant "Francais", or youthful and casual in our bistro restaurant OSCAR*S - your palate will be spoilt for choice.The usage of the WLAN is free of charge for guests of all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.