My stay at this Sheraton managed to do everything to really annoy me. I chose the hotel because I was attending a conference there and it seemed like a handy option. But it really is very poorly provisioned for a 21st century business traveller.
1. Directions The hotel, at T1, is very poorly signposted when coming from T2 on the Sky Train. The hotel website recommends using the Sky Train as it only takes 2 minutes. But it takes a good 5/10 minutes walk from the Sky Train to the hotel and only because I have a very good sense of direction and spotted the hotel (ugly grey brown building) from the sky train, was I able to head in the correct general direction. It was only when I went outside T1 into the fresh air that I was able to spot the covered walkway to the hotel.
Even when I entered the hotel, signage was not good. There are 3 'desks' and it's not obvious what function each serves. The one closest to the airport seems to be for air crew, but were not interested in checking me in even though there was no one else at the desk.
Surely the hotel could provide useful walking directions direct to the reception desk, on its website?
And it's not as if this is news to to the hotel because when I remarked about this to the receptionist at check-in, her response was "yes it is difficult to find".
2. Light and Dark
I found the room lighting very poor. There are no ceiling lights. Instead there are 2 bedside lights, a desk light and table light. Even with all 4 lights on the room is still very dimly light. Maybe they are aiming for a romantic feel, but all it does is make it difficult to utilise.
And the blackout curtains do not quite fit the window. There is always a chinque of light at one end or the other, or else in the middle. Not acceptable in a hotel of this purported standard.
3. Room refreshments
A coffee maker is provided but the quality of the coffee produced is poor. Why not just provide a kettle and a jar of Nescafé? It's not obvious how to make tea or decaff (I presume the 'mild' coffee is decaff) with this silly contraption. And then they cannot even manage to supply proper milk. Instead you get powdered creamer. Appalling provision.
At least it's only a 5 minute walk to Starbucks in the Airport Terminal.
The minibar is a real joke, apart from the prices (€6.50 for a bottle of water). The notice which says "For your convenience any item removed from the minibar for 30 seconds will be automatically charged to your account" really says it all. For my convenience?
Suggestion: head over to the shops in the terminal and buy your water/beer/chocolate there.
4. Internet connection
This is charged at €19 per day per device!!! What a rip off! And then they cannot manage to provide a service that will work with the iPhone! The service they offer is only designed to work with laptops. How about that for a 21st century offering? My guess that is the compromise between revenue protection and service provision. 20th century thinking.
€30 per day for breakfast means that there is a steady flow of customers across the bridge to the terminal cafes and restaurants every morning.
6. Conference lunch
After lunch at the conference on one day, I had a very bad tummy and spent some time on the toilet. My guts were making lots of noise all afternoon and I wasn't the only one. You could hear other people's tummys rumbling at quiet moments in the conference all afternoon. And it was not 1 or 2 people. It was quite widespread.
There are no stairwells signposted and when the lifts/elevators failed at 8am, it was not obvious how we were supposed to get back to our rooms, never mind how do guests checkout in a timely fashion.
Although drinks were provided in the conference exhibition area, coffee was not available early in the morning, i.e. before 9am start. Conference organisers 'blamed' the hotel. And no water provided on the desks.
Don't get me wrong, there were lots of positives about the stay.
* The bed was comfy
* The bathroom was well provisioned
* The staff were helpful and service was very good
But really these are default positions that any decent hotel should be offering. You don't get any extra marks for them.
So if I get the chance to stay again, I will probably try to find an alternative venue. But if I had to stay I guess I would just put up with
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you very much for your feedback. I wish you had asked to speak to me during your stay so that we could have discussed your issues together.
I am sorry to see that you had difficulties finding our hotel. There is a sky train that plies between both terminals every 5 minutes. The walking distances are not really that far – just a couple of minutes actually. There are also lots of signposts in the terminals that show the way to our hotel. And there is a free shuttle bus that stops directly in front of our hotel.
We offer different breakfast options for your guests; you can even enjoy one of our Grab and Go Breakfast for only 8.50 Euro at our Glasshouse café.
By the way, all stairwells are signposted with the exit sign. That is one of our security standards and I suppose you just overlooked it.
We would be happy to show you at your next stay that your first impression was a totally wrong one and hope you will give us another chance someday.
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.