We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Topas Hotel to your Saves list
Topas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Niddastrasse 88, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I've stayed at Hotel Topas in various occasions while visiting Frankfurt. In my opinion, for a very reasonable price, they offer a great accomodation: a few metres from the main train station (if you use the side exit is really 50 metres), clean rooms, kind staff, very quite in the night, reasonable breakfast. I've been in a single room and it's not huge but more than enough (there's also a desk if you need it), and the bathroom was great, with a very nice and large shower. I would definitely recommend it (also if you are travelling for business).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    57
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
4
39
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

The location of the hotel was very convenient, just minutes from the train station. The room was very clean and quite. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. For the price the room should have included free internet access. Internet access was available but costly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I was in Frankfurt with my girlfriend for five days. We wanted to stay in a hotel that is near city centre, that wasn't expensive, is clean and comfortable and breakfast had to be free. This hotel was absolutely the first on our list.

The staff was helpfull, decent size rooms were cleaned every day and breakfast was really good. Although main railway station and city centre is near, I'd say it was relatively quiet in our room, which may be that way only because our room was in inner courts side. Besides good location of the hotel, there are some good restaurants (for example Punto e pasta on Ottostraße) near it.

Hotel Topas isn't the best hotel in Frankfurt, but you can't get any better with same price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I and my wife booked this hotel just to explore the city center of Frankfurt.
Frankfurt hotels are very much overpriced and we chose this hotel just for the price because we only needed a place to sleep.

The location is nearby the railway station and you can easily get on the train or the subway.
The hotel is situated in a not so nice area and looked like a criminal neighborhood but we didn’t feel unsafe, also not in the evening when it was dark. The police station in just around the corner near the railway station.

The parking of the hotel is on the streets and you have to pay for it. We were lucky because we were with Pentecost and didn’t have the parking problems and also it was free with these days. Otherwise, you have to bring coins to the parking meter. There are a small number of places belong to the hotel but these places are full if there are two or three cars.
Better visit this hotel without car !!!

The staff is friendly and helpful and the entrance looks simple but good. There is a staff member 24 hours for your safety and you can leave your key at the front desk.
They were also very helpful to answer all your questions and had tips what to do and don’t.

The rooms are very small and basic. Just enough space to just sleep and bathing.
We had a room at the front of the hotel and had much noise of the street. It was 30 degrees and more at the days we were there and the room was very warm inside. Opening a window isn’t an option because of the noise of the street, there is also a tram that rides frequently through the street.
The beds are not comfortable and we slept very badly also because of the warmth in the room.
Also you don’t have to set alarm clocks because you will be wakening up by the noise.

The continental breakfast was included in the room rate and was simple but good. There was food for everybody’s needs and also before closing time you didn’t end up with an empty stomach.
The breakfast room was very simple but good.

We had a great time in Frankfurt but we wouldn’t stay in this hotel again, for us the rooms were too noisy and hot and had less comfort, no minibar for a drink, just a fridge that isn’t cold. Also they offer a small safe but we couldn’t get the safe open and was useless.

Can only recommend this hotel for a short stay without car.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I had a layover in frankfurt, so I was looking for a hotel which was reasonably priced and in a convenient location. Topas met both expectations. The room was very small, but for a solo traveller in transit it was fine. I must mention that room was atleast clean and also had cable which is a plus. Breakfast was ample and included in the price. Also, I found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. I couldn't ask for anything better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

The hotel is next door to "The Pure" (see there) in the nicer part of the Niddastrasse. No red light there! It is not the pleasantest of neighborhoods imaginable, but there are no problems either. Less than 5 minutes from train station, especially if you find the short cut. Restaurant and bar opposite. The single room was not especially big, but I have had much smaller in other hotels. Clean, pleasant. The road in front is not very loud. There is no mini bar, but a vending machine downstairs and a little refrigerator in the room. The bathroom is small; the washbasin is a bit too small. There was a hairdryer, and of the nice kind (a regular one, not the "hose" type). Breakfast was unspectacular (no fruit salad, but Yoghurts), but quite alright. The breakfast room maybe a little small, but stylish. Lobby and general hotel well maintained with modern art prints on the wall. For 50 EUR a night, I would say it is one of the best choices (if not THE best choice) in central Frankfurt in its price range.

  • Liked — Clean and relatively new
  • Disliked — Small washbasin and power outlets in bed headboard
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Yes, the hotel is clean, but the room tiny, the area (train station) is very bad, extremely noisy, no hair dryer in some rooms, the internet didn't work, the restaurants around the hotel bad and overpriced. Are you sure there is not somewhere else that is worth your money??
Never again, sorry. I prefer to pay a little more but be in a good hotel!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Topas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topas Hotel

Address: Niddastrasse 88, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Topas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Topas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topas Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.