We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good value for money, very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Topas Hotel to your Saves list
Topas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Niddastrasse 88, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Innenstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, good value for money, very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We arrived at 9am and the hotel was happy to check us in - greatly appreciated because check-in doesn't start until 2pm and we'd just arrived in Frankfurt after a 24 hour flight.

We stayed in room #31. It was clean and quiet (in our reservation I had asked for a quiet room and the hotel obliged). The view from the window was residential but that was no issue for us.

The area felt a little dubious but we kept our wits about us and were fine.

All in all, I think this hotel is good value (at around €75 per night). It's clean, breakfast was included, as was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    57
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
4
39
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were looking for a clean hotel near the main train station and this did the trick. The neighborhood is not the nicest and it didn't have a warm, fuzzy feeling, but the desk clerk was helpful and the room was clean. Breakfast was OK.

No air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

The staff was very helpful and friendly did everything to make us comfortable and the rooms are comfortable with high standard but the best part was the good atmosphere made by the friendly and helpful staff.The location of the hotel was beautiful and we loved the quiet and relaxing.Overall value for money.All of the meals we had were excellent, truly some of the best food we've had anywhere. Stay here we feel pleasant and we will come back next year. Bravo! Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

The hotel is very close to Frankfurt Main Station, and lots of shopping.

The area is very clean and feels very safe.

The staff on duty was fantastic, and went out of his way to explain everything I could want to know and more. Very friendly.

The bed was small, but the room was adequate. They even had a small bag of Golden Bears in there, lovely touch!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Topas Hotel is located only a block from the Frankfurt Hauptbanhof, making it very convenient in terms of arrival and departure by train or plane.
Our very large double room was on the ground floor facing the street, meaning we didn't have to drag our heavy bags far - a bonus after a month of travel! We could hear some voices on the street outside, but not traffic noise. I've come to accept that completely silent hotel rooms in Europe are not the norm!
It was snowing heavily during our visit, and the temp was -8 degrees. Although there were heaters under the window and in the bathroom, I noticed that the window didn't seal tight and thus there was cold air creeping in around the window. It wouldn't have been an issue in less freezing weather.
Breakfast was quite good, with a reasonable selection.
We made use of the free Wifi to check our departing flight status.
Beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was larger than most in Europe and had shower over the bath.
The neighbourhood was not seedy at all despite its proximity to the rail station and we felt comfortable making the 20 minute walk into the Altstadt after dark. All in all we have no complaints, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for just one night when we were flying out of Frankfurt after spending a few weeks in Germany. The location - near the main train station - is super convenient and the hotel is easy to find.

The staff was professional and friendly, the breakfast (included) was great and they even had free wifi which was a plus. The room was quite large and while as noted by others there is no AC they did have a fan in the room and the windows open. The bathroom was also quite big with a tub/shower that is big enough for a soak (not for big guys of course), had hair dryer and plenty of towels.

There is lots in the neighborhood and it's central enough to walk to Romerburg Square or just hop the train and you are there in 2 stops.

The price was great (I think we paid $58 Euro) and it was better than others we stayed at for twice the price. Yes - it's a little loud on the street at night but hey, you are in a city and that's to be expected.

I'd definitely stay there again if I was in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We spent a weekend in this hotel with friends and we were really satisfied. The location is very central and safe, the city center is within walking distance.
We had rooms on the streetside and they were a bit loud despite the double-glased windows. But it was okay. As people already mentioned before, the rooms don't have air-conditioning, which can be disturbing during a hot summer day but in the autumn it doesn't matter.
The breakfast was fine but not extraordinary. It was good enough to start the day well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Topas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topas Hotel

Address: Niddastrasse 88, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Topas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Topas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topas Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.