We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with predictable flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamburger Hof Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hamburger Hof Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamburger Hof Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Poststrasse 10-12, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 262 Hotels in Frankfurt
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel with predictable flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here with our two teenage kids and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and well designed, the location excellent and the breakfast good, if not spectacular. We would stay here again but would avoid the joined (or join-able) rooms next to the lifts and outside the main room corridors (which are separated by an additional door from the main stairway) on floors 2-5 as these can be noisy: the main stairway is not noise-insulated and given the one small elevator, a lot of traffic passes through the one stairway. Avoid the rooms ending in 01, 02 and 03. Also, no Wifi is available in the hotel, which I found to be strange and difficult to believe. Other than this, a good choice in Frankfurt!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    160
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
101
68
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Really impresse with this hotel. Room was small but very comfortable and very happy with the style of room and well done bathroom. Friendly hotel staff. Decent breakfast. Just opposite main station. Very comfortable hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Just finishing off 3 nights here and absolutely no complaints! We know Frankfurt and the area and this place is safe and quiet and ideally located for transport and shops. Rooms are good sized and Breakfast is great. Best of all are the showers(!) and the staff - always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

You get what you pay for...but without being disappointed. Its obviously not 5 star luxury, but the bathroom and bedding are up to scratch and you cant beat the location in terms of walking distance to main attractions and the train station.

I stayed for business, but would happily return for a quick weekend vacation as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hamburger Hof Hotel is a very nice hotel in the center of the city. I stay here over the weekend with the friends and was very happy with my choice. My room was big and bright, with a big bathroom. The personnel was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has the routine down very well. We had a good sized room having paid a little more, the breakfasts are excellent, as are the majority of the staff. The rooms are clean, with a well equipped bathroom. While it's not your 5 star, everything aligns because it is in a good position being opposite the main station.

The lobby is a little shabby and smokers stand just outside the automatic doors which is a little annoying if you have an aversion to smoke. Having no free wifi in our room was a bug bear but for one night it's ok as the lobby has free wifi and free use of a computer.

We have stayed here previously, so obviously we enjoy our stays and I would return once again as it ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: Request a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Hamburger Hof and was extremely pleased with my stay. The staff is excellent and met every need, from clean, well-serviced room to a very good breakfast to directions around the city and making a couple of phone calls for me. You simply walk across the street from the main railroad station. Once settled, everything in the central city is within walking distance. I like to walk, so I never used the excellent public transportation--which is free for anyone arriving by train. I don't speak German, but the entire staff spoke very good English and gave one personal service. You are met with a free drink in the always-available bar and there are multiple copies of international newspapers in the lobby and when you go to breakfast. My room was a "premier" single and quite comfortable--there is air conditioning and an elevator (which I rarely used). Other reviews have talked about noise and the area around the train station: areas around train stations are the same everywhere in the world. I have stayed in hotels close to New Yorik's Penn Station that were not as nicely maintained and appealing as the Hamburger Hof. As for noise, you can always close your windows and turn on the air conditioning, which eliminate any street noise. Highest recommendation; for the price I can't imagine a better hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest you ask for a premier room (of whatever kind you need) and pay the additional 10 Euros....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamburger Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburger Hof Hotel

Address: Poststrasse 10-12, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#23 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamburger Hof Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hamburger Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hamburger Hof
Hamburger Hof Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamburger Hof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.