We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander am Zoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander am Zoo to your Saves list
Alexander am Zoo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Centrally located family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the Alexander for a week in December. It's a cozy family hotel that we had chosen several times before. We like the scrumptuous breakfast buffet and the hotel's superb location: Two subway stops from Frankfurt's downtown shopping area (Zeil) and just a five minute walk to Berger Strasse, which is the neighborhood's main street, with many nice restaurants and shops. The hotel is quite affordable and a good value overall. But our twin beds (upon our early monring arrival, the hotel did not give us the queen bed we had requested) were too small, and the rooms felt a bit stuffy when the radiator was brimming (it was cold in Frankfurt!!). But we would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a nice and affordable place to stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    69
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
39
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

In a quiet area near the zoo. Subway and tram are close by. Unusual for 4 stars: no restaurant, not even a bar! The basement piano bar has been closed for a long time. Otherwise everything was ok: Big, modern room, new and clean bathroom, quiet, clean, friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My parents and I stayed here 1 night at the end of our 6 week holiday. It is a great hotel, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel location is about 20 minute drive from the airport and walking distance to the Zoo. The staff are very friendly and helpful and suggested a great little restaurant for dinner - (the Italian restaurant at the end of the street) as there is no restaurant at the hotel. This restaurant was fantastic, the staff were great, the restaurant was full and seemed to be very popular. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Nice atmosphere, clean & good sized rooms (imagine an upscale BW style), located in a quiet residential area, yet easy to get to the city centre, rich breakfast buffet – all in all, a very good venue in [otherwise not so touristic friendly] FRK.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

After our stay I decided it was worth a review. We only had one day in Frankfurt and were catching a plane the next afternoon. We booked a standard room which can with a 'playpen - like' cot free of charge that our 5 yrs daughter was happy to sleep in. Well stocked mini-bar, sparkling clean room & bathroom - like new, great bed and pillows, black out curtains, free DVD player and movies to borrow, terrific breakfast buffet included in room price (variety and friendly service), great front desk ladies to answer questions and help out. The only negative was we couldn't connect our laptop to the 'Cloud' wifi service in the room. The clerk let us use the computer at the front desk at no charge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I've stayed in this hotel both alone on business and with family (2 children) three times now. It's a great way to have a day of fun in Frankfurt before a 11-14 hour flight across the Atlantic. We love the location right next to the zoo (200 yards down Waldschmidtstrasse is the less crowded back entrance to the zoo). Several U-Bahn stations are nearby (the closest is Habsburgerstrasse), so you can quickly get to downtown, and 3 blocks away is the lively Berger Strasse with lots of restaurants, cafes, and shops. The hotel staff is extremely nice. They recognize us every time we show up, and once we even got an unexpected free upgrade to the Alexander Suite, which was wonderful. On my suggestion, Herr Franke made sure that the hotel now carries a small selection of gluten-free bread and Früchte-Muesli (oatmeal with dried fruits) for breakfast to accommodate my family's food allergy. When I came for my third stay, booking online, he sent me a personal email to let me know I didn't have to bring my own bread this time. I enthusiastically recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again the next time I am in Germany.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Positive: very spacious rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast was fine.
Negative: water temperature in the shower was oscillating strongly: from very cold to very hot, making it very uncomfortable. Also, the system of ventilation in the bathroom is not optimal, that is, when someone else has ventilation on, you hear an unpleasant noise in your room.
Location is average: too far to walk to the city center, but maybe 3 stops by metro.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffm341, Verkaufsleiter at Alexander am Zoo, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
we are very sorry to learn about your experiences at the Alexander am Zoo, we informed the engineering department immediately. Anyway whenever you feel unhappy with something at any hotel please do come forward at the time it happens so it gives the hotel a chance to solve problems on the spot. We are looking forward to welcome you again – best regards from Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander am Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander am Zoo

Address: Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#25 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander am Zoo 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star rated Hotel Alexander am Zoo features 66 air conditioned guest rooms and suites - some with kitchenette for extended stays. 2 Meeting rooms o the top floor with a roof terrace, sauna and steam bath in the basment for relaxation as well as an underground car park. The location near the Frankfurt Zoo in a quiet side street - the U-bahn U7 Habsburgerallee is 2 Minutes away. Many Restaurants are in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander am Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Am Zoo Frankfurt
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander am Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.