We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander am Zoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander am Zoo to your Saves list
Alexander am Zoo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Enjoyed my time in this small, quiet hotel in a residential neighborhood. The room was small, but just about perfect. The staff was kind and helpful in every way. The nearby restaurants (within walking distance) were terrific, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    76
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
42
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

not far from the center, in a residential street near the zoo.
we got a suite so it was 2 rooms suite. the there is one toilet near the door entrance outside of the bedroom.
the room was clean and well furnished with everything we need.
breakfast was very good.
and the staff were great!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The BIG plus for the room which was ready at 10 a.m. even though we informed the hotel about our early arrival 11 hours before we arrived.

The hotel is located in a quiet area with 2 minutes walk to the tram stop and 4 minutes walk to the nearest underground station.

Lady at the reception desk on the arrival and departure days was very nice and friendly, though we experienced very strange attitude of one of the receptionist who was surprised and very critical that we want to order a taxi and go out on Saturday night at 1 a.m.

The hotel has sauna and steam room ready to use in the evenings, it's small but clean and accurate for 2 people.

Unfortunately breakfast was the weakest point of our stay, mostly because of a very odd look of scrambled eggs and bacon which were the only warm food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and next time I am in Frankfurt, I will stay again.
Excellent hotel on the eastern edge of the city centre, right next to the city zoo.
10 minutes walk to the main shopping street 'Ziel'.
Great value for money compared to the hotels right in the city centre.
Don't worry about staying here. You will have very little to complain about. Although, in this day and age, charging extra for internet use in the rooms, is not on in my book.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very satisfied by our stay. Room was spacious, bed was very comfortable. Room was very clean. Breakfast was best of all, amazing!! Location was very central, close to main sites by subway, in a nice quiet residential area. You can also borrow DVDs from the lobby and they give you a DVD player, for those rainy days if you wanna stay in. Excellent choice overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely neighbourhood. Next to the zoo. Sauna in the basement. Friendly staff, helping us with plotting on the map, the things we were looking for. Breakfast buffet with fresh fruit. Windows of the room can be opened. Very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I had an overnight stay in Frankfurt and thought were might be taking a bit of a chance with the Alexander am Zoo. After making our way from Frankfurt Airport by subway to the main station and then changing subway routes to the suburbs, it was only a short walk to the hotel. While we were a bit concerned at being in what appeard to be average suburb, the hotel turned out to be a real surprise. Excellent service on arrival and an outstanding room with all the usual appointments. Also, a great breakfast option folded into the cost. Overall, a very good (+) hotel. Only issue is that some may be a little challegned getting to it if you can't easily navigate the various subway connections, as it is a little way out from the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander am Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander am Zoo

Address: Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#36 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#41 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander am Zoo 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star rated Hotel Alexander am Zoo features 66 air conditioned guest rooms and suites - some with kitchenette for extended stays. 2 Meeting rooms o the top floor with a roof terrace, sauna and steam bath in the basment for relaxation as well as an underground car park. The location near the Frankfurt Zoo in a quiet side street - the U-bahn U7 Habsburgerallee is 2 Minutes away. Many Restaurants are in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander am Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Am Zoo Frankfurt
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander am Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.