We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars, less than 100 euro: great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander am Zoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander am Zoo to your Saves list
Alexander am Zoo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 264 Hotels in Frankfurt
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“4 stars, less than 100 euro: great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely neighbourhood. Next to the zoo. Sauna in the basement. Friendly staff, helping us with plotting on the map, the things we were looking for. Breakfast buffet with fresh fruit. Windows of the room can be opened. Very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
37
12
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I had an overnight stay in Frankfurt and thought were might be taking a bit of a chance with the Alexander am Zoo. After making our way from Frankfurt Airport by subway to the main station and then changing subway routes to the suburbs, it was only a short walk to the hotel. While we were a bit concerned at being in what appeard to be average suburb, the hotel turned out to be a real surprise. Excellent service on arrival and an outstanding room with all the usual appointments. Also, a great breakfast option folded into the cost. Overall, a very good (+) hotel. Only issue is that some may be a little challegned getting to it if you can't easily navigate the various subway connections, as it is a little way out from the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great breakfast, great location, walking distance to old town. Staff were wonderful and helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. After a long flight it was exactly what we needed. Our room was ready so we were allowed to checkin allowing for a quick catch up snnoze before sightseeing. This was so much appreciated. Checkin and checkout, quick and efficient. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was travelling solo on a business trip recently and chose this hotel primarily for its location. I'd heard some mixed reviews about hotels in the central area of Frankfurt near the main train station and decided that I would rather be in a less lively area of town. This hotel fitted perfectly - it is a 10-15 minute walk to the Zoo and about 30 minutes to walk into the main centre of town near the Zeil. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet (it's in a residential area, lots of apartment blocks around it) - granted it is not the trendiest place to be, but if that is what you're looking for head back to the area near to the train station. The breakfast was very good and included in the room. The 5 Euro charge for WIFI isn't ideal, however it is for a 24 hour period (and I've had to pay more in other places). The major downside is the cancellation policy as it isn't very flexible (be sure before you book), however this is very common for hotels in Frankfurt, mainly driven by the amount of trade fairs that are continually running throughout the year. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, but there are a few nearby that are nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked this hotel through Booking.com mainly for its central location and access to the Frankfurt Zoo as we had our gorgeous Grandaughter with us for a change, She absolutely loved the place and wants to return again and again.
The staff made a fuss over her at breakfast, with her doll "Miss Dolly Brown" and they kept coming over during breakfast to smile at her proud parenting skills:-) She loved the little balcony window and the comfortable room with her own little divan (Provided Free).
The Zoo was a little disappointing as there was so much building work surrounding the outside, but still worth a visit. Giraffes, a Rhino, Camels & Seals etc, not animals you see every day.
I could not fault a thing we stayed twice once en-route to Bavaria and once returning. Really top drawer staff, nicely decorated rooms, good location you can walk into the city or use the subway. See you next time for sure.

Room Tip: The only thing I would mention is the underground parking has sloping parking spaces, if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel was built in the 90's and has stayed more or less the same, ever since.
The breakfast buffet is excellent and the rooms are spacious.

Paying 5 euros for internet access is not a plus.
Parking for 14 euros is too expensive.

I am surprised that this hotel has a 4 stars rating.
For German standards, I would expect 3 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the local zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We arrived exhausted after a terrible long haul flight at 7am in the morning, and to our great delight they allowed us to check into our rooms with no fuss, or pre arrangement. The rooms were spotless, and the staff very pleasant. It is in a quiet neighbourhood, a few minutes walk from the Tube station or the tram, so very easy to get into the center of town. The breakfast was delicious. I would definitely go back there if I have to spend another night in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander am Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander am Zoo

Address: Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#33 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander am Zoo 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexander am Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Am Zoo Frankfurt
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander am Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.