We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel In Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander am Zoo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander am Zoo to your Saves list
Alexander am Zoo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Leicestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel In Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was travelling solo on a business trip recently and chose this hotel primarily for its location. I'd heard some mixed reviews about hotels in the central area of Frankfurt near the main train station and decided that I would rather be in a less lively area of town. This hotel fitted perfectly - it is a 10-15 minute walk to the Zoo and about 30 minutes to walk into the main centre of town near the Zeil. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet (it's in a residential area, lots of apartment blocks around it) - granted it is not the trendiest place to be, but if that is what you're looking for head back to the area near to the train station. The breakfast was very good and included in the room. The 5 Euro charge for WIFI isn't ideal, however it is for a 24 hour period (and I've had to pay more in other places). The major downside is the cancellation policy as it isn't very flexible (be sure before you book), however this is very common for hotels in Frankfurt, mainly driven by the amount of trade fairs that are continually running throughout the year. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, but there are a few nearby that are nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    69
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
39
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked this hotel through Booking.com mainly for its central location and access to the Frankfurt Zoo as we had our gorgeous Grandaughter with us for a change, She absolutely loved the place and wants to return again and again.
The staff made a fuss over her at breakfast, with her doll "Miss Dolly Brown" and they kept coming over during breakfast to smile at her proud parenting skills:-) She loved the little balcony window and the comfortable room with her own little divan (Provided Free).
The Zoo was a little disappointing as there was so much building work surrounding the outside, but still worth a visit. Giraffes, a Rhino, Camels & Seals etc, not animals you see every day.
I could not fault a thing we stayed twice once en-route to Bavaria and once returning. Really top drawer staff, nicely decorated rooms, good location you can walk into the city or use the subway. See you next time for sure.

Room Tip: The only thing I would mention is the underground parking has sloping parking spaces, if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel was built in the 90's and has stayed more or less the same, ever since.
The breakfast buffet is excellent and the rooms are spacious.

Paying 5 euros for internet access is not a plus.
Parking for 14 euros is too expensive.

I am surprised that this hotel has a 4 stars rating.
For German standards, I would expect 3 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the local zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We arrived exhausted after a terrible long haul flight at 7am in the morning, and to our great delight they allowed us to check into our rooms with no fuss, or pre arrangement. The rooms were spotless, and the staff very pleasant. It is in a quiet neighbourhood, a few minutes walk from the Tube station or the tram, so very easy to get into the center of town. The breakfast was delicious. I would definitely go back there if I have to spend another night in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had the deluxe suite with a queen sized bed in the bedroom and 2 rollaway beds for the kids in the living room. It is like a small one bedroom apt with 2 balconies, a mini kitchen with a dining table for 2 and separate bath and toilet. The furnishings in the suite was a little outdated. Bathroom was spotless and had all the toiletries available. Beds were comfortable with soft pillows. We're able to leave the windows open at night and slept well. It is located in a residential area but the time we were there, the streets were pretty quiet. Breakfast was included in the room rate and they have a wonderful spread of cold cuts, breads, pastries, juices, cereals, coffee, milk, yogurt and etc.
Check in and check out service were efficient. The receptionist was manning the front desk and housekeeping by himself. He wasted no time in bringing the two rollaway beds to our room as soon as we're checked in. Very impressed by the efficiency. Parking was 14 euros a day. We parked our car at the hotel and walked to the riverbank which was about 25 minutes of leisurely walk each way. Overall, this hotel worked out for our one night stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I always check what people say about hotel I plan to stay.This time was the same and I was very happy of choice I made.The hotel has high standard,very nice and cosy rooms,good breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after we read the good reviews about it. We were not disappointed.
The Alexander Suite is superb. Large, light and spacious. Two little niggles were that you could not close the curtains on the large windows in the room where the kids beds were, and that the bathroom had a shower head but no where on the wall to place it. The rest of the suite makes up for this though. Large, spotless and very well appointed.
Location is right next to the zoo. It is a ten minute taxi ride to the centre but you can also get the bus from the end of the street. The neighbourhood is clean and quiet given you are in a city, and the staff were never less than very pleasant and helpful. Note that there is not a bar or restaraunt in teh hotel (other than for a very nice breakfast) but there are some nice ones a short walk away.
All in all the Alexander offers tremendous value for money, particularly if you are travelling with children.

Room Tip: The ALexander Suite is well worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander am Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander am Zoo

Address: Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#25 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander am Zoo 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star rated Hotel Alexander am Zoo features 66 air conditioned guest rooms and suites - some with kitchenette for extended stays. 2 Meeting rooms o the top floor with a roof terrace, sauna and steam bath in the basment for relaxation as well as an underground car park. The location near the Frankfurt Zoo in a quiet side street - the U-bahn U7 Habsburgerallee is 2 Minutes away. Many Restaurants are in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander am Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Am Zoo Frankfurt
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander am Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.