We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - we couldn't have wished for better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander am Zoo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander am Zoo to your Saves list
Alexander am Zoo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - we couldn't have wished for better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel is excellent and great value for money. It is in a quiet neighbourhood but within a few minutes walk from the Bergerstrasse and underground stations. The staff couldn't have treated us better if we had been at the most expensive hotel in town and were genuinely friendly. We arrived very tired at 6.30am straight off a flight from New Zealand but the receptionist found us a room immediately. The room was quiet, comfortable and absolutely spotless, with a view over a tree filled courtyard surrounded by private apartments. The breakfast buffet was lovely and of very high quality, with a wide range of foods to suit all tastes. There is no evening restaurant, but this is more than compensated for by an outstanding Italian restaurant (the Leon D'oro) within five minutes walk. There is also a range of restaurants in the Bergerstrasse area, together with interesting shops. Definitely our first choice for our next trip to Frankfurt.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet - very little noise except birdsong from the trees in the coutyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    82
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
47
48
14
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the Alexander for a week in December. It's a cozy family hotel that we had chosen several times before. We like the scrumptuous breakfast buffet and the hotel's superb location: Two subway stops from Frankfurt's downtown shopping area (Zeil) and just a five minute walk to Berger Strasse, which is the neighborhood's main street, with many nice restaurants and shops. The hotel is quite affordable and a good value overall. But our twin beds (upon our early monring arrival, the hotel did not give us the queen bed we had requested) were too small, and the rooms felt a bit stuffy when the radiator was brimming (it was cold in Frankfurt!!). But we would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a nice and affordable place to stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

In a quiet area near the zoo. Subway and tram are close by. Unusual for 4 stars: no restaurant, not even a bar! The basement piano bar has been closed for a long time. Otherwise everything was ok: Big, modern room, new and clean bathroom, quiet, clean, friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My parents and I stayed here 1 night at the end of our 6 week holiday. It is a great hotel, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel location is about 20 minute drive from the airport and walking distance to the Zoo. The staff are very friendly and helpful and suggested a great little restaurant for dinner - (the Italian restaurant at the end of the street) as there is no restaurant at the hotel. This restaurant was fantastic, the staff were great, the restaurant was full and seemed to be very popular. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Nice atmosphere, clean & good sized rooms (imagine an upscale BW style), located in a quiet residential area, yet easy to get to the city centre, rich breakfast buffet – all in all, a very good venue in [otherwise not so touristic friendly] FRK.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

After our stay I decided it was worth a review. We only had one day in Frankfurt and were catching a plane the next afternoon. We booked a standard room which can with a 'playpen - like' cot free of charge that our 5 yrs daughter was happy to sleep in. Well stocked mini-bar, sparkling clean room & bathroom - like new, great bed and pillows, black out curtains, free DVD player and movies to borrow, terrific breakfast buffet included in room price (variety and friendly service), great front desk ladies to answer questions and help out. The only negative was we couldn't connect our laptop to the 'Cloud' wifi service in the room. The clerk let us use the computer at the front desk at no charge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I've stayed in this hotel both alone on business and with family (2 children) three times now. It's a great way to have a day of fun in Frankfurt before a 11-14 hour flight across the Atlantic. We love the location right next to the zoo (200 yards down Waldschmidtstrasse is the less crowded back entrance to the zoo). Several U-Bahn stations are nearby (the closest is Habsburgerstrasse), so you can quickly get to downtown, and 3 blocks away is the lively Berger Strasse with lots of restaurants, cafes, and shops. The hotel staff is extremely nice. They recognize us every time we show up, and once we even got an unexpected free upgrade to the Alexander Suite, which was wonderful. On my suggestion, Herr Franke made sure that the hotel now carries a small selection of gluten-free bread and Früchte-Muesli (oatmeal with dried fruits) for breakfast to accommodate my family's food allergy. When I came for my third stay, booking online, he sent me a personal email to let me know I didn't have to bring my own bread this time. I enthusiastically recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again the next time I am in Germany.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Am Zoo Hotel
Am Zoo Hotel
#159 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
25hours Hotel The Goldman
#18 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Hotel Europa Style
#8 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#16 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Hamburger Hof Hotel
#10 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#12 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander am Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander am Zoo

Address: Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#40 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander am Zoo 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star rated Hotel Alexander am Zoo features 66 air conditioned guest rooms and suites - some with kitchenette for extended stays. 2 Meeting rooms o the top floor with a roof terrace, sauna and steam bath in the basment for relaxation as well as an underground car park. The location near the Frankfurt Zoo in a quiet side street - the U-bahn U7 Habsburgerallee is 2 Minutes away. Many Restaurants are in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Alexander am Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Am Zoo Frankfurt
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander am Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.