We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - we couldn't have wished for better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander am Zoo

Save Saved
You added Alexander am Zoo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alexander am Zoo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 263 hotels in Frankfurt
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - we couldn't have wished for better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel is excellent and great value for money. It is in a quiet neighbourhood but within a few minutes walk from the Bergerstrasse and underground stations. The staff couldn't have treated us better if we had been at the most expensive hotel in town and were genuinely friendly. We arrived very tired at 6.30am straight off a flight from New Zealand but the receptionist found us a room immediately. The room was quiet, comfortable and absolutely spotless, with a view over a tree filled courtyard surrounded by private apartments. The breakfast buffet was lovely and of very high quality, with a wide range of foods to suit all tastes. There is no evening restaurant, but this is more than compensated for by an outstanding Italian restaurant (the Leon D'oro) within five minutes walk. There is also a range of restaurants in the Bergerstrasse area, together with interesting shops. Definitely our first choice for our next trip to Frankfurt.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet - very little noise except birdsong from the trees in the coutyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    57
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
34
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the Alexander for a week in December. It's a cozy family hotel that we had chosen several times before. We like the scrumptuous breakfast buffet and the hotel's superb location: Two subway stops from Frankfurt's downtown shopping area (Zeil) and just a five minute walk to Berger Strasse, which is the neighborhood's main street, with many nice restaurants and shops. The hotel is quite affordable and a good value overall. But our twin beds (upon our early monring arrival, the hotel did not give us the queen bed we had requested) were too small, and the rooms felt a bit stuffy when the radiator was brimming (it was cold in Frankfurt!!). But we would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a nice and affordable place to stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

In a quiet area near the zoo. Subway and tram are close by. Unusual for 4 stars: no restaurant, not even a bar! The basement piano bar has been closed for a long time. Otherwise everything was ok: Big, modern room, new and clean bathroom, quiet, clean, friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My parents and I stayed here 1 night at the end of our 6 week holiday. It is a great hotel, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel location is about 20 minute drive from the airport and walking distance to the Zoo. The staff are very friendly and helpful and suggested a great little restaurant for dinner - (the Italian restaurant at the end of the street) as there is no restaurant at the hotel. This restaurant was fantastic, the staff were great, the restaurant was full and seemed to be very popular. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Nice atmosphere, clean & good sized rooms (imagine an upscale BW style), located in a quiet residential area, yet easy to get to the city centre, rich breakfast buffet – all in all, a very good venue in [otherwise not so touristic friendly] FRK.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

After our stay I decided it was worth a review. We only had one day in Frankfurt and were catching a plane the next afternoon. We booked a standard room which can with a 'playpen - like' cot free of charge that our 5 yrs daughter was happy to sleep in. Well stocked mini-bar, sparkling clean room & bathroom - like new, great bed and pillows, black out curtains, free DVD player and movies to borrow, terrific breakfast buffet included in room price (variety and friendly service), great front desk ladies to answer questions and help out. The only negative was we couldn't connect our laptop to the 'Cloud' wifi service in the room. The clerk let us use the computer at the front desk at no charge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I've stayed in this hotel both alone on business and with family (2 children) three times now. It's a great way to have a day of fun in Frankfurt before a 11-14 hour flight across the Atlantic. We love the location right next to the zoo (200 yards down Waldschmidtstrasse is the less crowded back entrance to the zoo). Several U-Bahn stations are nearby (the closest is Habsburgerstrasse), so you can quickly get to downtown, and 3 blocks away is the lively Berger Strasse with lots of restaurants, cafes, and shops. The hotel staff is extremely nice. They recognize us every time we show up, and once we even got an unexpected free upgrade to the Alexander Suite, which was wonderful. On my suggestion, Herr Franke made sure that the hotel now carries a small selection of gluten-free bread and Früchte-Muesli (oatmeal with dried fruits) for breakfast to accommodate my family's food allergy. When I came for my third stay, booking online, he sent me a personal email to let me know I didn't have to bring my own bread this time. I enthusiastically recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again the next time I am in Germany.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander am Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander am Zoo

Also Known As:
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel
Alexander Am Zoo Frankfurt
Alexander Am Zoo Hotel Frankfurt
Address: Waldschmidtstrasse 59-61, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#20 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#22 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#22 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander am Zoo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alexander am Zoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander am Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.