We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannheimerstrasse 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Udaipur, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After a very tiring journey from INDIA to MOSCOW to FRANKFURT. we had a smooth check in hotel.
Room decor was quite old but adjustable. bed was comfortable.
mini bar was excellent.staff was courteous specially one of the F$B staff from pakistan was very helpful and polite. we were surprised and very happy to see parantha and samosa in the breakfast which is a traditional indian dish,which we missed in the rest of our tour, the other european dishes were also great.
location was excellent close to the station and market.
the lift wasn't up to the mark.
we will surely like to visit again.
best wishes
AVINESH.

Room Tip: take rooms on 1st floor due to lift issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    451
    184
    49
    19
See reviews for
163
236
163
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice hotel very close to the station. Decor a little old but clean and tidy. Good sized room and great mattresses and pillows. Wonderful full breakfast included. Free minibar which is nice ( beer, juice, soft drinks, water). Our bar fridge wasn't working but staff attended to the problem straight away. Not recommended for people with knee problems as the bath is very high to step in and out of for a shower. Also if you are a large person fitting in the bathroom may be an issue.

Only criticism was that they wanted 40€ for early check in. Crazy considering the room itself wasn't a lot more than that. We were told checking was 11am. Next day someone was told it was 12.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back. Front rooms a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a great night at the Excelsior. Staff was great. We asked for our room to be changed to a twin and with a window view. We were accommodaed immediately. Breakfast was incredible for a european continental breakfast. They had meat, cheese, cereal, stuffed bakes, several juices and coffees, various fruits, etc. Enough to fill anyone up. Hotel is right across the train station which is perfect. Taxis are right outside the door. The room was comfortable but we had problems with the outside door coming off. The bathtub is a little high and got a little slippery. Fridge had water, juice and beer available at no cost. Elevator was small and slow, but wider then most in Italy. The light snow was a plus being from South Texas. Would stay again for comfort, train station and breakfast. * Good value

Room Tip: Rooms by the train station have a good view. It was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stay here overnight and it is in a great location for the train station. We arrived very early after a 28 hour flight our room wasn't ready as we expected . They told us it would be ready in 2 hours. So we wondered around and went back the man at the desk told us it would still be another few hours. Then luckily for us a female staff member came in and she up graded us to a suite. We were very grateful for this as we were in need of a shower. The room was nice the breakfast good. Great for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel and find the rooms to be comfortable and warm. The bathrooms have had a tidy up and are on the small side,but still pratical.
The beds are very good and the rooms come with free mini bar and free wifi,a must for me.I would ask for a rear room on booking as the road noise in the front rooms can be a bit loud.The breakfast is included in our price and is very good and plenty to choose from,also tea and coffee available all day.
The walk from the main station is mear 60metres. All in all a very tidy hotel to stay in

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I say 2 stars and rounded up for WIFI and food. First of all: LOCATION. If yo are tired and coming off a train or needed a rest stop before flying out of Frankfurt this is your place! Cheap internet rates if you book in advance.

BE WARNED: the rooms are old and dingy. There were several large stains on the carpet. My floor also reeked of cigarette smoke although it was a non smoking hotel. I asked the front desk to spray something in the hallway but they didn't care. I assume they get the smoke complaints a lot. I almost feel like it is an unsaid OK to smoke in the rooms since my floor (7th) absolutely reeked of smoke.

PLUSES: free tea, coffee, water, loaf cakes in lobby all day. FREE WIFI that works. Large buffet breakfast. Location! Free mini bar with beer!

CONS: Slow, old elevator. It is also very narrow in case you have large luggage. Overpowering smoke smell. Flat pillows. Indifferent staff. Ask you for passport info upon check in.

The pluses may outweight the cons depending on what you need!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

- Hotel directly behind the train station
- our room was renovated and clean
- bathroom was a bit outaged but met our demands
- free wifi, but kinda censored through a bluecoat device. facebook, news sites and mail was ok. flickr, picture-related sites, gaming-sites weren't
- breakfast buffet is huge :)

it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimerstrasse 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.