We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, price, hospitality - Briliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannheimerstrasse 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Chennai, india
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Location, price, hospitality - Briliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

With easy access to the train network, the location is undeniably the best. All the tour buses, airport trains and buses pick and drop from here. Coming to the hotel facilities, for the first time i have come across a hotel with so much of complimentary stuff. Worth quite a bit. At the price the reservation is done, i think its absolute much more then the value paid for. With all this i didn't find any compromise at any place. Lavish spread of breakfast, charming staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pankajdaga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel has a great location. If you're travelling by train, just cross the street and you're there. If you're flying out, very easy to take train to airport. Hotel itself is more than adequate. Clean room, mini bar with free beer, water and juice. Large breakfast buffet. It is within walking distance to pedestrian street and shopping. Staff at reception desk were very helpful and friendly. We were impressed with the service. Prices are very reasonable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClaireDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

In my humble opinion, this is the best 3 star hotel i've ever been to. Everything is included in a very reasonable rate and staff is polite, friendly and helpful. Would totaly recemmend to anyone who is traveling to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Dvorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is good hotel and value for money. The morning breakfast is really good and provides all the option for vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Rooms are good and spacious and service is good. View from the top floor gives you a glimpse of the Railway Station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munishwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My flight arrived at Frankfurt around 8 in the evening so I decided to spend a night in Frankfurt before travelling to my next stop. The hotel is located just besides the Frankfurt Hbf which is an excellent location for me.
The room is spacious and clean. Free wifi and breakfast included. I recommend this hotel for those who just want a nice place to sleep for a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteYeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked this hotel because of its location close to the station, and based on reviews - we were not disappointed. It was very good value.

Our room was clean and comfortable - extra pillows were provided. Wifi was free and worked well. Minibar was free - a nice touch. Also we had some clothes ironed (again free). Tea coffee and cake is available all day in the foyer (free)
Breakfast was a buffet and very extensive (also included).

Whats wrong with the place? Not much. Some complain about the location (red light district) but we found it fine. Lifts? - slow but there were two . Smoking was allowed so a couple of times we got a whiff of rank smoke in our room from someone in the corridor.

We paid for a very late checkout (6pm) and this cost 40 Euro - but we got the room serviced and the mini bar topped up so it was worth it. We caught the S Bahn to the airport so this was very convenient - no taxis needed.

There are lots of restaurants nearby - the streets seemed a bit seedy but we didnt have any problems.
Staff were friendly and spoke English

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

this hotel i found to be very convenient for onward travel either by air or train. the room was
clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast was nice. it is opposite frankfurt main line station, side entrance, and also within easy walking distance of the shops it is ideal and the cost is very reasonable. i will certainly be staying there again when i return to frankfurt. the hotel staff were very helpful and polite and spoke very good english, which is convenient for anyone not speaking german.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Monopol Hotel Frankfurt
Monopol Hotel Frankfurt
#53 of 271 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#71 of 271 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Hotel Continental Frankfurt
#144 of 271 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#10 of 271 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
The Corner Hotel
#52 of 271 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#171 of 271 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimerstrasse 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing