We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain and Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannheimerstrasse 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 265 Hotels in Frankfurt
Adelaide Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bargain and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very convenient location across from the Hauftbahnoff but very quiet. Bargain price,breakfast, free internet and free minibar. They allowed us to check in at 8 am after a long flight from Australia. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable. They told of us of a terrific German restaurant about 5 mins walk from the hotel which served traditional German food and it was delicious.
Would definitely stay here again. It is not a flash hotel but excellent for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    499
    195
    52
    23
See reviews for
179
255
181
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Literally across the street from the Hauptbannhof, this hotel is still quiet and very nice inside. The staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet had a whole room full of choices. It has a lift, A/C and free WiFi. I'm glad we stayed there. it also has a FREE minibar filled with water, juices and beer. There is cake, coffee and tea in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Convenient location across the street from railway central station. Good attention from reception staff. Good sized room,apart from double bed a couchette type bed was also available in our room, what made it quite uncomfortable. Bathroom quite small but completely fitted, enough for a couple of days. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Remarkable: complimentary free consumption from minibar and free phone calls to any place in Germany. As a summary, very good price/quality ratio

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stay always stay here, whenever passing through frankfurt. The price is unbeatable for the room quality, and service. Plus all the stuff in the mini-fridge is free, and they have a good breakfast.

The best part is that is right in front on the Hauptbahnhof (main train station).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

For the price that we paid for our rooms I will have to say.
Nice and friendly, good location and the free minibar was a good gesture.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Hotel exactly opposite the Main Train Station. A good 3 star hotel - with clean rooms , free mini bar , free local calls, free ironing of one shirt/trouser each day and free internet. Could not ask for more . We had taken a family room 2 adults + 1 Youth -- room was just bit tight but with everything put together - a very good deal. With the train station 50 yards away - going to the city center or travelling outside of Frankfurt was no problem. View from the 7th Floor was excellent. Warning -- there is no air conditioning. Fans are available on request. Breakfast is sumptuous , with eggs, cereals, breads, cold cuts , yogurt - a very good lay.

Room Tip: Avoid going in peak summers - as there is no air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Excelsior is not posh. Its lighting in common areas is dated. The carpets are a little worn and drab. The locks on the room doors are electronic and hard to open. The colors are somewhere between dull and very dull. There is nothing cool or trendy about the hotel. There is no bar (or at least not one that I have spotted).

Still, it remains my favorite hotel in Frankfurt, and I have stayed at dozens of them. Why?

Value, value, value.

The amenity package is terrific. It is like finding a five star hotel in a three star hotel package. Free mini-bar? Done. Business center? Yes. Free Internet? Of course. Free breakfast? Yes. And, oh, by the way, the breakfast buffet is the best I have experienced in Frankfurt, having stayed at well over a dozen hotels, including the Hilton, Hessischer Hof, Steigenberger, etc. What makes it good? Selection! Do you want a German breakfast? How about a Japanese touch? Chinese? It's all there. Now, the food is not going to win a Michelin star, but it is not bad by middle class German standards. Morning newspapers? A range of major English language newspapers can be found in the breakfast room.

And the price? Ohhhh, baby! Very, very reasonable. True, the single rooms are kind of small, and they have a slightly time-worn look. However, in my experience, they have always been clean, and the mattresses are comfortable. The rooms are not noisy. The bathrooms are A-OK.

I suspect that what is going here is that management has decided to invest in providing guest amenities, rather than new wallpaper and carpets. Fair enough--I can respect that.

In terms of convenience, you could not do better. It is very near one of the side entrances to the central rail station, just across the street. The rail station neighborhood is sketchy in spots, so it is nice not to have to walk around in it much late at night.

I don't believe there is air conditioning in the rooms, so I can imagine they could get hot if the temperatures ever rose in Frankfurt. You might want to ask about that if the forecast is for high temperatures.

Much to my dismay, I found on my most recent stay that the Japanese discount tourist industry seems to have discovered the hotel, which means my days of booking in easily may be numbered. Perhaps I should change the rating to very poor?

If you want a romatic PRETTY hotel, you should go elsewhere. This is a value/location proposition in my book.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimerstrasse 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#36 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.